Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
No, sorry people, I love Nocturama. Eventhough it is not as cohesive as previous releases and the songs don`t really fit together, i do feel the songs individually are really superb. Some rockers, lovely ballads and clever lyrics. I prefere Nocturama over more recent albums such as Dig ! Lazarus dig ! or both Grinderman albums. In fact, Grinderman sucks. I have not heard...
Published 20 months ago by Oostrijck

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plain in comparison with his better work
Nick Cave albums generally fall into two categories - mean, hungry stompers (Murder Ballads, Henry's Dream) and melancholy, subdued classics (No More Shall We Part, Boatman's Call). This album fits into neither - and depending on your perspective this is either a Bold New Move, or a Neither One Thing Nor The Other.
For me it's the latter. It's pleasant enough, and...
Published on 10 Mar 2003 by Mr. Paul J. Bradshaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leftovers, 18 April 2003
By 
M. Silvert (London, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is ok, with a couple of good songs, I think after the brilliance of his last album, No More Shall We Part, it was always going to be hard to come out with something better. And something distinctly below par, has come out, for Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, can produce the most amazing tracks. This album sounds like a few leftover songs that did not make the last album.
If you are a mad Nick fan like me, you will still enjoy it, but it is wont hold your attention for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Dirty, 21 Jan 2010
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
This is not an unlikable album. However, given the time lavished on his previous two masterpieces this one is quick and dirty by comparison. Now quick and dirty is something that sometimes suits rock'n'roll, but it's something that you can't really get away with on tender love ballads which almost all of these are. In Wonderful life he actually fluffs a line or two. He Wants You is pretty but a little more work on the melody and the demo-standard piano would have made it truly great. Right out of your Hand is a rather muddy sounding affair but Bring it On is an obvious uptempo single. There is a slight suspicion that all is not well with the band here. Blixa Bargeld would never play with them again and here he is given a joint lead vocal perhaps as a last olive branch.

Dead Man in My Bed is an effective rocker but the next four mid-tempo tracks don't quite reach the usual heights of Cave compositions. There are plenty of good ideas between them but none of them are polished to clarity. Lyrically, Rock of Gibralter offers some quite jarring lyrical ryhming as if it's an intellectual exercise to see how many rhymes for Gibralter he can find (Malta? Altar? Falter? etc.) There is nice violin on She Passed by my Window. The 15 minutes of Babe, I'm on Fire are genuinely wonderful though. Very few artists have attempted to write a pop song of that length - Lou Reed's Like a Possum springs to mind - but here Cave gives us a bass riff that is just so infectious that you could listen to it all day (which you almost do). I actually never tire of this track despite its duration

So plenty of interesting ideas here but an incredible lack of professional production which could have turned this into more than a demo tape. I've listened to it maybe 50 times and I still can't quite follow most of the melodies, particularly on the ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nocturama - the epic last track., 4 Feb 2003
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
The first thing anybody hears about on this album is the 15 minute epic song at the end of the track, so I will base the majority of the review on this particular song. Naturally, after purchasing the album, the first thing I did was watch the DVD - a video of the band performing the song, entitled "Babe, I'm on fire".
On first impression, I was rather dissappointed, because I was rather of hoping for an epic symphony, or perhaps a story, similar to the Carny or the mercy seat, with a climactic build-up. The song is anything but this. In fact, its more of a catchy dit, and the more you listen to it, the more it works. The same tune is repeated over and over for 15 minutes. If this were not the case, I think the song would be rather average, similar to Deanna but with less power.
The rest of the album is nothing short of beautiful. The opening track "Its a wonderful life" paves the way for a lovely melancholic feel. "Right out of your hand" is also a lovely track, and "Bring it on", and "Dead Man In My Bed" are also great tracks. The rest of the tracks, in my opinion are average, but any Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds Fan will appreciate the music.
I enjoy this album, but I am only going to award it 3 Stars. Not because I think it lacks, but because I was hoping for something a little more darker; stories, tragedies, and as I mentioned previously, an epic symphony.
There are many good points in this album, Warren Ellis seems to have come out of his shell on this one, and they have utilised his violin skill a great deal. The backing vocals from the Block Heads (of Ian Dury fame) are a nice touch, and all in all there is a nice atmoshpere to every song.
And you cant help but laugh at the Bad Seeds making fools of themselves in the DVD :o)
And that, as they say, is that.
- A nick Cave and the Bad Seeds fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cave as ill-boding as ever!, 3 Feb 2003
By 
Mr. R. W. Currie (coventry United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
The emotional depth that Nick Cave brings to this album is one that could swallow you up whole. The songs possess a wonderful beauty which conjure a mixture of feelings within you of which lament, hope and sadness are but a few. Cave once again manages to unlock the door to your mind and allow you a glimpse of the wreckage that exists therein. If you are a Bad Seeds fan then this may not be a surprise and to be fair there isn't anything here that is new or innovative. If you like the Bad Seeds style then you'll love this album. In fact you could say 'Rock of Gibralter', one of the tracks here is a fine image for Cave's thoroughly dependable ballads. If you are looking for music that is both tender and heartfelt then you will not be disappointed.
The first track, 'Wonderful Life', does salutation to the album as a whole and is a song of pure genius. Cave gives us a bitter account of how evasive happiness is. The Bad Seeds giving marvelous backing to Cave's doomful lyrics. It could be borrowed for soundtrack to a film! In 'He Wants You' the fall and rise of the piano echo our ever changing moods, Cave's vocals are passionate without being desperate. 'Right Out Of Your Hand' follows in an equally poignant and haunting vein. There Is A Town is a lamenting ballad with a whining countrified guitar and a distant looping piano riff providing the emotional fix. Bring It On and Dead Man In My Bed provide faster paced interludes from the intimacy which exists in the other tracks.
Without doubt Cave has written some tracks of genius here. All in all, an excellent album, and a definite must have. Just don't expect any punches to be pulled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nick's the man, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Fnpig "kmccra15" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
Excellent service delievered promptly for a classy album by a genius artist. Recommended if you appreciate quality in your music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Genius mislays muse, hopefully temporarily., 14 Feb 2003
By A Customer
Prior to this album, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds had released eleven albums, and you could have counted the mediocre songs on the fingers of one hand. A man with the talent to carry off searingly innovative rockers such as 'Tupelo' and 'The Mercy Seat', but also a man capable of the finest ballads that I have ever enjoyed (The Boatman's Call), bettering even Leoonard Cohen.
On this album, however, all of that powerful imagination seems to have been lost. Some of the songs are very good (the first three and 'there is a town'), but they lack the lyrical complexity and emotional impact of anything from, for example, 'No more shall we part'. Some of the songs are simply terrible, especially the 15 minute rant 'Babe, I'm on Fire' with which the album is concluded. It is slightly amusing, but Cave can be much funnier when he puts his mind to it.
Overall, the album is distinctly average. My only consolation is that he might copy Cohen and Dylan in going through a poor phase, before refinding his muse with spectacularly pleasing results. Buy this only if you are a confirmed Nick Cave fan: if you are new to his work, first make purchases from his back catalogue, because it would be a terrible loss to have your perception of the man discoloured by this to the extent that you do not explore eleven of the finest albums ever assembled. It is a decent album, but it smacks of precipitous production and and unwillingness to refine the lyrics. Most disappointingly of all, the Bad Seeds (surely the greatest backing band in the business) prove themselves to be fallible, sometimes making noise rather than music. Buy it, but only because it is Nick Cave and he deserves the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 15 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
After the staggering return of No More Shall We Part in 2001, Nick Cave was re-established as a lyrical genius, the nearly seventy-minute long opus showing that he could still bring tears to your eyes as well as he could make your eardrums explode. Two years later, the eagerly anticipated follow-up, Nocturama, emerged. Oh dear.

It seems that the stock of songs Cave built up between 1998-2001 ran out after No More Shall We Part. Nocturama is a very weak album, not really a vital addition to any fan's collection. A lot of the songs here are tedious. Cave seems to be coasting, not putting the effort in. Perhaps he became complacent after the success of his last two albums.

This is not to say there isn't any reason to buy this album. The much maligned 'Rock of Gibraltar' is pretty charming, opener 'Wonderful Life' is as pleasant a ballad as anything on its predecessor album, and 'Bring It On' is the only song here that really shows off Cave's talent for glorious imagery as he says he'll 'take your shattered dreams/and scatter them into the sea.' Even the woeful closer 'Babe, I'm On Fire' is redeemable if you only listen to the first five minutes of it.

If you're a completist, you should buy this album, and if you feel that the handful of great songs in place here are worth the effort, then you should buy it too. But otherwise, leave this one on the shelf. Luckily, Cave would certainly redeem himself the following year, with his last album to date...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burning like beelzebub!!, 4 Feb 2003
By 
lee bratley (lichfield, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
Oh if only we had more like this! ..... indisputably and mind numbingly effortlessly cool, Cave and his band of cohorts whip out yet another slice of genius that - with perfectly intentional timing - will have you whooping an' a hollerin' by the close of this truly stunning collection.
The last couple of Cave albums have been tense, brooding ballady affairs that confirm the mans musical prowess. Here, with 'Nocturama', its a Nick that howls from his cave, rocking as if he's only just finished recording the likes of 'Tupelo' and 'The mercy seat' ... yeah, the ballads are there - and are as beautiful and as poignant as ever - but this time 'round it's his intention to show the world that no-one spits fire & brimstone as well as he!!!
With a cheeky nod to a classic 'stranglers' riff , 'Bring it on' follows the two openers and gives our first glimpse as to where we're going .... Dead Man in My Bed" - a superbly & darkly humorous tale of a womans sexual frustration continues this sleazy, dirty vibe ....and is almost a 'pop' song!! ..... keep going ..... because, as great as they are, the songs here all only play their part in the build up to the monumental "Babe i'm on fire" -- 15 minutes of intense, classic Nick, with the Bad Seeds to the fore with a form that - in my opinion - has never been bettered! The best Nick Cave/Bad Seeds ever??? - i think it could well be!!!! A scorching, thunderous, energetic piece of dirty hoe-down brilliance, name-checking the seeds for their input as he goes ....
Another great album ..... could we have expected any less? - Nick, I'M on fire!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to his best and beyond., 25 July 2004
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
Few words are needed when an album is this good. It's Nick Cave better than ever before.
The music on this album has a familiar feel, almost like pop, but with enough Cave in it to be different and refeshing.
A storming album and all I can say more is to listen to it and be blown away. . . whether you're a long time listener or a first time caller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDERRATED, 18 Jan 2008
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
This is probably caves 2nd best album, THE BOATMANS CALL is a masterpiece, some of the reviews on here have not got a clue, go back and listen again and take in this intoxicating music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nocturama
Nocturama by Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews