Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2004
Why has nobody ever said anything here about "The Beast Inside"? It's arguably the Inspirals' finest work - a dark and brooding second studio effort. Even after thirteen years (and counting), the title track still makes me feel all melancholy, whereas "Niagara" is simply beautiful. It may not contain the 'hits' of "Life", or indeed the perfected 'rock' of "Revenge of the Goldfish", but it's nothing short of a masterpiece. An overlooked classic indeed. I thoroughly love it, and who knows - maybe you might too.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
Inspiral Carpets albums were always a mixed bag, but this haunting album is easily the best of the bunch. With swirling keyboards great guitar's and intelligent lyrics this is a cut above the rest.

Id like to call this album a "forgotten classic" but truth be told it was a fairly ignored album at the time but music critics have always under rated this fine Manchester band so there is no suprise there.

This is head and shoulders above anything the Inspiral Carpets did before or afterwards. A great album without one single weak track.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
I was a big fan of these back in the day, and bought this as I'd lost my original copy and not heard it since 1992!

Obviously a little dated in parts, but some tracks still sound great - 'Caravan' takes me back to summer 1992 when everything was sunny and care-free (or so it seemed!).

Very different to other Inspiral albums, darker and more experimental with less humour than the later stuff, but still cool as f**k!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
this served as my intro to the band and i was captivated by the sound, unable to compare it to anything else. very catchy tunes with accessible lyrics and wide range. still listening and enjoying in 2011. further away..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Dark, brooding album that starts with the fast-paced 'Caravan' then drifts into darkness all the way to the haunting 'Dreams are all we have'. A much overlooked album back in 1991 despite never having a dull moment, whether in the title track or the 13 minute epic that is 'Further Away'. The Inspirals were always a bit different, and this is probably the most different of the albums they produced twenty-odd years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Great album... I missed out on the whole 90's Madchester thing, due to looking after kids, and am now making up for lost time. I already bought Life by the Inspirals, and this was a great addition to my ever expanding collection...great music, written on my doorstep (I live in Oldham)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
A much darker follow up to their debut album Life. Perhaps they lost their way a little bit trying to develop their sound, but still a great listen with some real gems on here. With their albums The Inspirals prove they are so much more than a band who knocked out decent singles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
Excellent memory lane action. The carpets sound is so unique it never sounds dated. Loved having this again. Highlights too many to mention
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Dark and moody second album from a great band all too often overlooked - go see them live !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Of their time. If you don't know them it's not for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.79
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)