Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp are back, but a little more glam!
Goldfrapp's latest blends the lush soundscapes of Felt Mountain with the disco of Black Cherry and re-invents Glam Rock. Yes they've even got guitars (or at least something that sounds like a guitar run though the filters of all the worlds grungiest analogue synths). Alison croons through the tracks like a diva on spacedust while the synth textures and bleeps are driven...
Published on 5 Sept. 2005 by Mr. Kenneth Bearman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so super
I will probably upset a of of fans but I prefer the exceptional "Felt Mountain" with its lush melodies and almost angelic vocals. I was disappointed when Goldfrapp failed to continue their journey in that direction and tuend to "popular". "Supernature" is part of a long slide downhill which was briefly arrested by the whimsical "Seventh...
Published 8 months ago by William J. Fox


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VERY 80S POP, 8 May 2010
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
When I first heard this CD I only liked the single which were played on the radio but with a bit of time I now think half of the album is ok with a few good tracks apart from these its a pretty ordinary CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bland, 15 April 2006
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
In comparison to the lush 'Felt Mountain' and the right-in-yer-face 'Black Cherry', this latest effort remains a bland follow up of a band that can do better. None of the tracks is really bad, you get all the basses and electronica, but it all leaves you with a shallow aftertaste. it seems this album was made under the motto: "let's make a mixture of our last two albums but leave out the elements the top 40 radio listener might not feel comfortable with. " this is sad because I expected so much more of Goldfrapp's third album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought it as a test as like the dial up my number track as used for a tv advert, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
Very impressed. Only bought it for one track as diddnt know the singer before. Really pleased with the album though. might get some more Gold Frapp :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album... but beware of the copy protection!, 31 Aug. 2005
By 
Simon Chiplin "scchipli" (Horsham, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
Just listened to this for the first time but had to wait to get home and play it on my computer as couldn't play on my VW car CD player due to the copy protection! Hmmm. Thanks "Mute" records....go figure that one out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab!, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
I don't know why i waited so long to get this. It's such a feel good album. Always puts me in a better mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Cherry B-Sides at Best!, 13 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
Supernature picks up where singles off Black Cherry such as 'Train' and 'Strict Machine' - in my mind that albums weaker moments - left off. I have heard Alison Goldfrapp in the press saying that they aimed to make this album more stripped down, the production simpler. This has resulted in a far more empty and prosaic record. The majority of the tracks are the stomping Gary Glitter-meets-Gary Numan-meets Britney that Black Cherry touched upon to subversive effect. If the aim is to create vapid and mindless music - with an ironic wink - then Goldfrapp succeed. Ooh La La - the first single and currently featuring in a television commerical - opens things up predictably; most listeners would be forgiven for thinking that there would be better things to come. On the main, i'm afraid there isn't. 'Lovely 2 C U' is, frankly, Girls Aloud, and 'Ride A White Horse' isn't that far off as well. The campy, pouting electro-pop takes a gentler route with 'U Never Know' and the fine ballard 'Let It Take U', perhaps the albums most sober (or refined) moment. The faux-naive 'Fly me Away' ("On an Aeroplane...") is great pop, even if the lyrics seem intentionally dumbed-down and non-specific. Elsewhere it is all glam and stomp, but little in the way of subtlety or soulfulness - although 'Satin Chic' throws in some nice piano to its "La-la-la" chorus (there are many "La-la-la" choruses on this record). A few moments aside, listening to this album is largely comparable to having Kylie's 'I can't get you out of my head' played on a loop, over and over. Irony alone is not enough to make bad music sound clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Techno Tedium Ad Nauseam., 27 Aug. 2005
By 
P R Scott (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
Okay. Sorry to disagree but this album is nothing new. Alison Goldfrapp's lightweight breezy delivery of the lyrics renders them indecypherable, incoherent and irritating by turns. If you've got something to sing about, lady, then let us hear what it is. The music has not progressed much at all from "Black Cherry", and, to be honest, some of the songs sound awfully similar in structure to songs on that album. On the plus side, and, yes, there is something to celebrate, four songs actually shine...but is that because of their lacklustre cousins? I liked Satin Chic, Fly Me Away, Ride A White Horse and, of course, the single Ooh La La (Who wouldn't?). All in all, though, I think they need to be stricter machines in future and improve on the past, not stay there. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electro glam is back and it is ours!, 8 Aug. 2005
By 
liam doherty (Manchester @ Home) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
With the ever so infectious 'Ooh la la' Goldfrapp are undoubtedly performing at their very best. Supernature, a lot less infromal than 'Black Cherry' seems to release amazingly catchy electro lead numbers filled with the energy we all expect from the likes of 'Strict Machine' and 'Twist'. Ride A White horse is a cool eighties stormer laced with ferocious synths breahty vocals and funky lines like 'I like the disco'. Supernature is packed full of surprises to fill all our electro heads so enjoy it! Cos it rocks and believe me it the goodnesss, the sexiness doesn't stop at Ooh La la . I love you people ! xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the dts 96/24 I expected., 17 Oct. 2012
By 
Wazza Jude (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This hybrid disc set does everything it says except for one.,the 5.1 dts offered on the dvd is not 96/24(comparible to an original 96/24 master..).I own depeche mode's hybrid 'a broken frame' and my home hi-fi set up will recognize that which is 96/24.
Your hi-fi/electrical equipment/av reciever/dvd player should pick up this detail quite easily.
I bought this hybrid disc in dec.2011 and am too used to the set to return it.I do think this little fact makes this item a rip-off overall and would not recommend it.
Wazza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp's finest - An asolute must-have, 20 Aug. 2005
By 
Helga deVille (LONDON, Greater London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
The wait was worth it. I followed Goldfrapp since Felt Mountain and loved their first two albums but Supernature is absolutely amazing, Goldfrapp on top their of their game. The album has no fillers and any song could be a strong single. ¨Satin Chic" is an absolute epic, ¨Fly Me Away¨ probably the best pop song of 2005, ¨Ooh La La¨should be playing on all the radios now and ¨Ride On A White Horse" should get you dancing this winter. Goldfrapp attacks again and this time she is back to claim the throne. Buy this album, stop reading this and buy it, this is the album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernature
Supernature by Goldfrapp
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews