Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp are back, but a little more glam!
Goldfrapp's latest blends the lush soundscapes of Felt Mountain with the disco of Black Cherry and re-invents Glam Rock. Yes they've even got guitars (or at least something that sounds like a guitar run though the filters of all the worlds grungiest analogue synths). Alison croons through the tracks like a diva on spacedust while the synth textures and bleeps are driven...
Published on 5 Sep 2005 by Mr. Kenneth Bearman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so super
I will probably upset a of of fans but I prefer the exceptional "Felt Mountain" with its lush melodies and almost angelic vocals. I was disappointed when Goldfrapp failed to continue their journey in that direction and tuend to "popular". "Supernature" is part of a long slide downhill which was briefly arrested by the whimsical "Seventh...
Published 5 months ago by William J. Fox


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp are back, but a little more glam!, 5 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. Kenneth Bearman "zakala" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Goldfrapp's latest blends the lush soundscapes of Felt Mountain with the disco of Black Cherry and re-invents Glam Rock. Yes they've even got guitars (or at least something that sounds like a guitar run though the filters of all the worlds grungiest analogue synths). Alison croons through the tracks like a diva on spacedust while the synth textures and bleeps are driven by an assortment of 80's sounding beats all swirled up in magic sonic blender. "Ride a White Horse" is the best example of this, and you'll have heard "Oh La La" on a TV ad. If you're looking for the chill out of Felt Mountain that's here too on tracks like "Let It Take You". Superbe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why oh Why oh Why..., 3 Sep 2005
Another complete and total belter from the Wonderful Goldfrapp. Why can't all cds give me the option of being surround by such gorgeous and head expanding sounds? I cannot recommend this release enough. If you're a fan of Glam Disco and you have a 5.1 system somewhere in your home (and let's face it any Tom, Dick or Harry can get Dolby Digital'd for a pittance these days), I suggest you buy this RIGHT NOW, crank it up and freak the neighbours out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp reach a Plateau, 1 Sep 2005
By 
Greg (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
The Supernature album is - compared to most current popular music - an electric streak of eighties-revival originality despite the apparent contradiction.
However, a good album though it is, if it is compared to the previous Goldfrapp album (Black Cherry) it perhaps loses its shine.
The subtle yet daring lyrics as seen in "Strict Machine" are reflected though not overshadowed in "Ooh La La", and the musical accompaniment very much of a similar nature. The tune itself is racy and deep, but echoes too strongly with "Strict Machine".
Other tracks draw parallels with those on the previous album. "Let It Take You" is similar to "Black Cherry", a soothing chill track for those times when "Ooh La La" is a bit too much. However, where perhaps the music in this track is better, the lyrics on "Black Cherry" were metaphorically brilliant and this is unfortunately not the case in "Let It Take You".
However, I found the album most enjoyable. Within it can be found a specific genre given a full and broad exploration. It is totally different from regular popular music - Goldfrapp seem to be exploiting a very personal niche by bringing some of their tracks into the popular eye. I feel this is a good thing for them, but for the buyer who is looking for something more outrageous and fun as the previous album then perhaps a second thought is necessary.
If, like me you have a media player on your computer, then play both albums on the same playlist. They go together like non-identical yet similar twins, both higlighting pros and indeed cons of the other.
A confident and brilliant album, but not as breathtaking as "Black Cherry". 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp - Supernature [Limited Edition], 31 Aug 2005
The album is excellent. Why don't shops tell us that this Limited Edition disc is an SACD hybrid disc (will play on a standard CD player, an SACD player and also an SACD compatible DVD player)? The sound will blow you away! Also second disc has video with 5.1 surround sound (Dolby & DTS). Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...a must for surround fans!, 24 Aug 2005
By 
This great album is presented in 5.1 on both discs!!!!
In Dolby digital on the DVD - then again on the CD which is in fact an SACD/CD hybrid with a multichannel layer on it!
Home cinema/hi-res multichannel system owners rejoice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars supernature, 11 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. M. Reed "mike9jr" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
Listened to this a few times now and yes, it is a grower.
I loved Felt Mountain and was initially dissapointed by Black Cherry, but that too grew on me.
Supernature has its more melodic moments, and there are some awesome soundscapes throughout the cd, but very few of the soft, melodic tunes found on FM. Still, a couple of the tracks, number 10 in particular, hark back to those days but overall, more of a 'Black Cherry' than a 'Felt Mountain'. MR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small note of warning, 5 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. N. Bailey "Nick" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
I won't repeat whats been said in full other than to say this is a wonderfull Album (I bought it after hearing it once).
One small word of warning to iPod (and other MP3 players) owners though the CD uses a new copy protection that prevents the Album from being imported with iTunes or any other application I've found. In other words you can play it on your home/car CD player but it won't work on your iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars airbrushed, 27 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
'Black Cherry' was where I started with Goldfrapp, and this is a development from that sound. Unfortunately, it's a development towards a blander, less nuanced version, and towards a more polished electro-glam-disco type of thing. I guess Goldfrapp just wanted to have some fun.

'Oh la la' is indeed v groovy, and 'White Horse' and 'You Never Know' come close. Trouble is, when you go for pastiche, you sacrifice originality.

Lyrically, too, where 'Black Cherry' and - especially - 'Felt Mountain' were richly elusive and allusive, 'Supernature' goes in for more banal references to drugs and sex.

I still love 'em, and would rather listen to this than 99.9% of other product.

A further caution - the 'opendisc' edition I bought promises access to 'additional material', but due to some software glitch or other, the thing won't open on my computer(s), so this 'additional material' amounts to several minutes of (me) swearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 4 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
A weird departure from Black Cherry or even Felt Mountain. Some songs I couldn't stand in the beginning, but once again, as before, they sneak up on you before you realise it, and become favourites all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply super!, 4 Sep 2005
This review is from: Supernature (Audio CD)
A stunning album. If Alison and Will decided tomorrow to not record a follow-up to this, it probably wouldn't matter because, on this they've delivered a real classic.
Kicking-off with the big hit Ooh La La with its synth-glam beat (check the video on their site [...] - it's pure Kimono My House era Sparks!) and progressing through Lovely 2 C U and the laid-back You Never Know, they never put a foot wrong.
For all those people who are new to the 'Frapp, go check out Felt Mountain and Black Cherry, their predecessors. The fact they've done what they've done for the last five years and produced some STUNNING music is an indictment on how conservative the British music world has become. This album is a musical two fingers to the current big label establishment. How any duo can weld together the diverse styles and sounds of John Barry, Kraftwerk, Moroder and God himself knows what else, Goldfrapp can.
Believe me when I tell you that this album is going to become huge and rightly so. Their autumn 2005 tour is sold out and the next single (Number 1, due out in October) is going to be a massive hit. For an old stager like me, it resembles OMD's classic She's Leaving and is none the worse for that. Buy this album now. You won't regret it. Check how many positive reviews are on this site against the negative ones. That tells its own story. This is neither Felt Mountain (and that was amazing) or Black Cherry - it's both and more besides.
Quote: "Wills considerable expertise with an arsenal of synthesisers"
Nope! He says he's a technophobe! Strange then because he's done the business here. Only Alison appears live these days, by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernature
Supernature by Goldfrapp
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews