Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking
As Nick Cave's new album appears, most people will wonder just what he's going to try next after murder and the like. Simple: mixing nature and the ghost-like. Cave's new 2CD offering comes as a breath of fresh air. Underneath its beautiful packaging is a collection of immaculate songs which are both completely engaging and exhausting as Cave takes the listener on a...
Published on 23 Sept. 2004 by Mr. Rhodri J. Thomas

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DD/ DTS 5.1 mix
This review is concerned solely with the DD/ DTS 5.1 mixes.

I've been a Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds fan for a few years now and also enjoy listening to multi-channel audio (MCA), so was overjoyed when I discovered Abattoir/ Orpheus would be released in 5.1. Sadly though, the 5.1 mix is a bit of a let down.

The DD mix was almost unbearable; I even had...
Published on 12 Aug. 2012 by Derek J. Johnston


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Beautiful As Before, 7 Oct. 2004
I can only echo the previous reviewer's comments. I kind of lost Nick Cave and the Seeds over the past few albums, it seemed to me that he had lost his edge and energy, but this is as good as, if not better than a/thing he's done before. In parts, it has all the fierceness and energy of an older Birthday Party (opening track 'Get Ready For Love' in particular), and there's hardly a weak track on it. It's sheer sweep and breadth, too, are breathtaking, it's a real acopalyse of an album, the choirs are brilliant, and the whole thing's just deeply affecting.
Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Cave dining with them cannibals?, 7 Nov. 2008
By 
Well what an impressive piece of work Nick Cave has managed yet again. This is without a doubt Nick Caves masterpiece.
I had my doubts that he could never top the immense, heartbreaking No More Shall We Part. But belive me... he has.
I was slightly worried when reading this was going to be a double album, i think maybe we all did. Maybe one or two brilliant tracks and a load of fillers, ecspecially after Nick Caves last album, the slightly dissapointing Nocturama. But Abatoir Blues/Lyre Of Orpheus is absolutly amazing. Tracks like There She Goes My Beautiful World, O'Children, Spell or my personal favourite Easy Money really show Nick Caves amazing talent. After making albums for twenty years, artists tend to slip. Nick Cave and the amazing Bad Seeds only get better. Just listen to the recent Dig!!! Lazarus, Dig!!! Next to Bob Dylan, Nick Cave is possibly one of the greatest songwriters of our generation.
Do not miss this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lack Of Interest, 23 Aug. 2012
And so we come to the final three re-issues in what has been a beautifully compiled, mastered assembled and packaged set of albums. Every release up to these was sounding great in 5.1, which begs the question : WHAT HAPPENED HERE?

I don't know when or in what order the 5.1 mixes were completed. The evidence here would suggest that these three were left to last and suffer from a lack of care. As a previous reviewer noted, the soundstage is disjointed and lacking in bottom-end. It is the 5.1 equivalent of 'fake stereo'. To my ears (and I have loved every previous 5.1 mix in this series) the rear chamnnels simply reproduce the front, with more top-end and a slight delay.

The shame is that although Nocturama is probably Nick's least interesting album, Orpheus/Abattoir & Lazarus are among his finest. It has been a long time between the third and fourth set of releases in this series : Did the producers simply lose interest or was the budget too tight for a high-cost product?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nick cave in harry potter?, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
i was so very pleased to hear 'o children' featuring so prominently in the new harry potter film.
the film isn't bad, but hearing nick cave at such a great point in the film really makes it.

the rest of this 2 album set is pretty damn special too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nick cave in harry potter?, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
i was so very pleased to hear 'o children' featuring so prominently in the new harry potter film.
the film isn't bad, but hearing nick cave at such a great point in the film really makes it.

the rest of this 2 album set is pretty damn special too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to form? He never had to!, 22 Sept. 2004
By 
H. NEILL (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Much has been said of the Dark Prince of Melbourne's last album, Nocturama ... it wasn't up to his usual quality, it was too MOR. Well excuse me, but since when has recording something a little more melodic been a crime - he's not exactly Mark 'MOR' Knopfler is he? I doubt however, that Nick Cave's new 'double' will be as divisive - either for the critics or his fans. It is quite simply a staggering achievement - two albums of dark, sometimes unsettling beauty without a single duff track. I usually try to withold any judgement to a new album until at least one listen, but on hearing the first track of Abbatoir Blues I thought, "this is great, surely he can't keep it up over two CDs". Well I was wrong, the standard never falters and occasionally reaches peaks approaching Cave's best .... which is some standard to achieve. Incorporating styles as diverse as blues, gospel, balladry, americana (or is Australiana a more apt term?), strings and trademark spikey guitars all melded into an often ethereal whole, the music reaches heights of beauty i've rarely experienced from a band. Whether you feel this is as good as Cave and the Seeds at their best (The Boatman's Call, Let Love In) or not is pretty much irrelevant. As a recording of merit and in the context of Cave's career to date and of a majority of other releases in recent years, it's as close to perfect as an album can be. Unreservedly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gloomy Crooner Surveys His Masterful Return. And Smiles, 20 Sept. 2004
By 
C. SKALA (London, United Kingdom United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you pinned me to the ground and tickled my feet with boa feathers, I'd probably confess to not being that impressed by NOCTURAMA, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds' previous album. It felt weary, conventional (those two dead, bed and burning songs aside) and washed-out. If a man as tirelessly self-creative and mythologising as Nick Cave could ever be accused of treading water, then NOCTURAMA would be the only evidence to present in support of such an accusation. Remarkable in a career spanning over twenty years.
Thankfully, the time has not come to bury Nick Cave, but to praise him. Over and over. ABATTOIR BLUES/LYRE OF ORPHEUS is a triumphant re-statement of Nick Cave's epiphany-rich pursuit of his creative muse. His lyrical facility is intact (in truth, that never deserted him on NOCTURAMA). What strikes on listening to the new album(s) is the texture of the arrangements. They are both more spacious and dense, cavernous and intimate, poured over with the richness of gospel choir backing and harmonising. Individual components emerge less often than in the past, in favour of a density of sound that harkens back to LET LOVE IN and HENRY'S DREAM, and yet manages to sound new. The maudlin Hamlet-like pose of the not-so-young man contemplating his mortality which Nick Cave exercised to such effect on BOATMAN'S CALL, AND NO MORE ... and even NOCTURAMA has largely been replaced by a tidal wave of passion. Passion for his visions, his words, the power of his voice, the love of his songs. He reconnects to his past whilst pointing the way forward. His muse should rest content this year: she's been well-served. It only remains for me to say, 'thank you'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great vinyl pressing, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many I consider this album Nick's best album, many others have discussed the album at length, all I would like to add is that the vinyl pressing is very good and after many years of waiting(the original goes for £100+ on auction sites) I have finally got hold of a vinyl copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A justified double album, 31 Jan. 2005
I find it difficult to think of many double albums that somewhere, deep down, I don't think would have been far far superior as a superb single album. Two months into listening, this appears to be a rare exception to the rule - I wouldn't drop a song.
The music veers from the beauty and melancholy of 'Easy Money' and 'Messiah Ward', through the energy and aggression of 'Get Ready...' and 'Hiding All Away', the almost eastern strings on 'Spell' to the comedy of the ham-fisted recorder chorus on 'Breathless': never less than... just right. And Nick Cave's singing is superb - relishing the stories, aggression, romance, sadness and obscenity.
But it's the lyrics I can't shake off. The references to nature running throughout, the wonderful vulgarity, the romance, the downright weirdness (the misshapen 'Fable of the Brown Ape'), and again the humour: working in the rhyme of 'Orpheus' with 'orifice' takes some songwriting.
Now all I have to do is work out how to wire my alarm clock to wake me to 'Supernaturally' every morning.
A fantastic pair of albums: alive with energy, humour and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired double album, 28 July 2005
I've got into Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds only this year, this being my first album that I purchased. Nick Cave is a truly inspired lyric writer and you can tell he's not holding back when on only the third track into a double album he reveals that 'there is a war coming, coming from above'. Nick and The Seeds lyrics and music is grand, musical, lush, bombarding, huge and simply gorgeous. All tracks are approached with such enthusiasm and zeal. There are kinds of influences from Nick Caves early days in music to Christianity. Infact Nicks chosen faith is one that pops up alot, but never, ever, in a preachy form, but more in a medieval 'God is a bit ticked off' way, and seemily tounge-in-cheek.
I wouldn't want to point out certain songs as each one is its own story and has its own message. All I can say is that this music is true, bombastic, driving, glorious and confident. A must buy, and a real contender for best modern double album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abattoir Blues / The Lyre of Orpheus [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£11.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews