Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nu-Blues or Boogie - It`s Great!, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
I`m not even half way through first listen and I`m blown away. This is a wild fusion of blues, rock and boogie with a modern twist. Lots of deep base sounds. If you like R.L.Burnside and The Black Keys, you`ll love this. Not for the purist so watch out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but..., 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
...just not as good as the previous release 'Keys To The Kingdom'.

I have loved North Mississippi Allstars for over a decade, and the quality of music is undeniable, fantastic stuff. I ordered this album on pre-sale from their own website got it imported from the states over 7 weeks ago. The collaborations are perfect, stretching their dad's quote 'World Boogie Is Coming' to the new album title is genius. Loved seeing them in Scotland for the second time in two years, and hope they continue to keep coming back for many years to come.

Maybe its just me, but Keys To The Kingdom was a masterpiece, and as much as I like World Boogie...it is just a little short of perfection.

I would recommend both albums to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern blues at its best., 26 Dec 2013
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
ATM Blues music seems to undergoing a renaissance. Fresh talent like Gary Clark Jnr, The Black Keys, Babajack and others are taking the 'serious' music business by storm. And OK, it's their seventh album so they're hardly 'rookies' but North Mississippi Allstars are joining the party with a modern blues album that manages to mix the 'old' with 'new' and still sound 'authentic'. Take a listen to the ZZ Top like 'Turn Up Satan' or the soulful 'Meet me in the City' to get an idea of their 'vibe'. The 'roots' of the Deep South run deliberately through this album so much so that they've even shot several videos to accompany this album with Memphis, Mississippi being at the heart of all of them. However this isn't a some half-baked homage but a skilful and above all SOULFUL album of modern blues with a strong acknowledgement to the past. Blues music is the music of the moment so join the revolution and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
The best album of 2013. Its modern and retro. It grooves like nothing I've heard before. If you like Blues, Hill Country, Southern Rock then stop reading this and go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old style r&b,, 8 Jan 2014
By 
P. H. R. Hewitt (bristol,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
played with a modern take on the style of paul butter field,s blues bands first couple of albums,and George thorogood & the destroyers.played with a fun attitude,the redemption code to claim bonus songs and short films did not work for me and when you read the web site,did not work for many others,so don't hold your hopes up,that aside a very worth while recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM - SHAME ABOUT THE DOWNLOAD, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Claud59music (NEWHAVEN, EAST SUSSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
Well pleased with the CD but on trying to download bonus material with free card provided was unable to download the extra tracks. Looking at NMA website this is happening a lot with other purchasers. Hope they will do something about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative, 25 Nov 2013
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
Superb album, very talented guys!
Some traces of Black Keys in there !

The Blues will never die with musicians like this around .

Maybe you don't always have to feel the pain to do the blues!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars straight uncomplicated blues, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
A really professional and talented group with deep blues background with playing blues the way it should be with the music doing the talking. The nk god musicians like these still exist and perform as it should be with the music doing the talking. It beats x factor and other like rubbish by a mile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World Boogie is here, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Boogie Is Coming (Audio CD)
This is without doubt the best NMA album to date; there's not an average tune on it which I suspect even the diehards would have to admit is a (very) occasional occurrence on some of their previous albums. I was blown away on the first listen by the freshness of approach and the mix of tradition and innovation. Its fun all the way through and as always the songs/tunes are full of subtle references to NMAs influences and their musical heroes. The blues is alive and well and shouting in the face of the 21st century. Listen and understand what it must have been like to hear Muddy Waters and Howling Wolf play electric for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the pile...., 15 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow !!! I already loved Keys to the Kingdom and pre-ordered the vinyl from Amazon many months ago. After a lengthy wait, it finally arrived this week and, well...that title is a perfect sum up. If anything it's an understatement - I don't think anyone has made a straight jacket strong enough to resist the 10 minute 'Jumper On The Line'. I defy even a corpse not to boogie to that

As a lover of Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears, R L Burnside, Tommy Castro, The Jim Jones Review, The Black Keys, The Bottle Rockets (esp Brand New Year), even ZZ Top....in fact any live sounding dirty raw blues rock, this is up there with the best of them

The Double LP is an absolute bargain and my copy even contained a 7" single featuring Robert Plant on Harmonica. Oh and it is beautifully recorded and and mastered too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Boogie Is Coming
World Boogie Is Coming by North Mississippi Allstars (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews