Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old but unbowed
Roskill's four-volume account of the naval war between 1939 and 1945 is somewhat old, but it still contains some very valuable material. Similar in layout to Marder's masterpiece on the First World War [From the Dreadnought to Scapa Flow] it covers in some detail the main events of the war at sea . Roskill did not have at his disposal confidential documents of the period,...
Published 21 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Official History
Captain Roskill was commissioned to be the Official Historian of the Second World War. He was a retired Naval Officer and an already established naval historian. To that extent he was a safe pair of hands to which to commit the account of naval events, and, as with all historians forced to comply with the frustrating 30 year rule, was not allowed to disclose privileged...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. David J. Gregory


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Official History, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. David J. Gregory "freebooter" (todmorden, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Captain Roskill was commissioned to be the Official Historian of the Second World War. He was a retired Naval Officer and an already established naval historian. To that extent he was a safe pair of hands to which to commit the account of naval events, and, as with all historians forced to comply with the frustrating 30 year rule, was not allowed to disclose privileged information (Bletchley Park; Ultra etc.) that would have made sense to some decisions and actions that were otherwise inexplicable. As a result, this history is incomplete as later classified information throws a completely different light on several campaigns. As the straightforward official history of the time as it was then known, this is a 5 star book, and Roskill was a very good and organised historian and writes the tale well. It is not, though, the full story. So many things and so much information has emerged in the last decade that this account is now a definitive account only of what what was possible to say, admit, describe, and excuse in the period following the war. For all that, it is still an indispensible source for anyone accessing the subject.
David Gregory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old but unbowed, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
Kindle Customer (EYE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Roskill's four-volume account of the naval war between 1939 and 1945 is somewhat old, but it still contains some very valuable material. Similar in layout to Marder's masterpiece on the First World War [From the Dreadnought to Scapa Flow] it covers in some detail the main events of the war at sea . Roskill did not have at his disposal confidential documents of the period, but his extensive knowledge of the period makes up for this. If you want a detailed study of the naval war at a very attractive price, then the four volumes can be had on your Kindle. Well worth it if you are a student of naval history or even as a general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book recording in detail the history of the war at sea......great pity it includes a large number of typos.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cracking, 12 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
makes you wonder how we ever lasted in ww2 till us entered only earlier investment in our navy saved us,once again penny pinching by politicians who cut cut cut investment everywhere whilst keep there own noses in the trough scum.worse than any benefit cheat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of scanning? errors and minus all maps but readable, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good book for filling in detail skipped in most histories but the lack of maps makes some interpretation difficult but considering the price of £1.24 I can't reall.y complain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, very pleased it is now in digital ..., 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book, very pleased it is now in digital format.
I first read the three volumes many years ago and enjoyed reading them, and the same is true now although the enjoyment is marred by the many printing mistakes in the transfer to digital format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and well written, 28 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A detailed account written just after the war when memories were fresh but there are so many grammatical errors it spoiled the read. I would still recommend it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War at Sea Volume I. The Defensive (HMSO Official History of WWII - Military Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not quite as gripping as some other historians. But still worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews