Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expect a younger, less opinionated Jeremy Clarkson, with a US focus and more love of cars
Doug DeMuro comes across as a significantly younger, American and less opinionated Jeremy Clarkson in this book. You get a person in their twenties, who have had the good fortune (in terms of a car enthusiast value system) of having owned or driven many of what would be considered desirable or iconic cars of the past three decades, as well as a first generation Toyota...
Published 22 months ago by AK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun stories but...
This is really just a collection of blog posts, with no discernible overall structure. I really like the attitude and humour of the writing, but a good editor should have demanded more.
I will continue to read Doug's blogs because I really enjoy his stories, but tell us a book length narrative next time!
Published 1 month ago by Alexander


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expect a younger, less opinionated Jeremy Clarkson, with a US focus and more love of cars, 23 July 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays With Cars (Kindle Edition)
Doug DeMuro comes across as a significantly younger, American and less opinionated Jeremy Clarkson in this book. You get a person in their twenties, who have had the good fortune (in terms of a car enthusiast value system) of having owned or driven many of what would be considered desirable or iconic cars of the past three decades, as well as a first generation Toyota Prius, or a current American Spec VW Jetta.

The stories alternate between road trips, car reviews and ownership experiences and are written in a style, which is amusing on the whole (but in my opinion works better if you read a chapter or two a day, than if you read it from cover to cover (again fairly Clarksonesque)).

Even if one could accuse the author of trying a tad too hard from time to time, the flipside of the coin - namely the relatively constant and somewhat infectuous enthusiasm about things automotive (mush less Clarksonesque this one) - in my opinion more than compensates.

In the end you get lots of material that a car enthusiast would enjoy reading but which would be seen with abhorrence by someone expecting a Consumer Reports type 'objective assessments'. The author is opinionated but thankfully less so than the Top Gear trio (it probably takes age to hone that skill to perfection) and will on occassion make small factual errors - LJK Setright he is not.

Still, if you would like to know more about drag racing AMG Estates, buying 1990s Range Rovers in the US, or operating Nissan Cube's with their dashboard shaggy carpets, you will probably find no alternative. Also, if the automotive writing of Jeremy Clarkson, or for that matter Boris Johnson (it does exist - see Life in the Fast Lane: The Johnson Guide to Cars for example) is starting to get a tad repetitive for your taste but you like the style generally, the book is certainly a good place to migrate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun stories but..., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays With Cars (Kindle Edition)
This is really just a collection of blog posts, with no discernible overall structure. I really like the attitude and humour of the writing, but a good editor should have demanded more.
I will continue to read Doug's blogs because I really enjoy his stories, but tell us a book length narrative next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for petrol heads, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays With Cars (Kindle Edition)
Doug has had some interesting experiences with cars, and is a great story teller.

Great read, get out there and buy more silly cars so you can write vol. 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frothy fun, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
M. Harper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays With Cars (Kindle Edition)
I stumbled upon DeMuro's writings and decided to buy the ebook on a whim.

It's a fun stocking filler for anybody who lets their heart rule their head when it comes to buying cars.

Very very American though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read that cost so little, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays With Cars (Kindle Edition)
The best book I have read that cost so little, Doug is my favourite writer on Jalopnik and this book, while short, is him at his witty best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this, a very amusing and witty history of ..., 12 April 2015
By 
TheAxe (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plays With Cars (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this, a very amusing and witty history of Doug's motoring history. I feel destined to repeat all of his mistakes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plays With Cars
Plays With Cars by Doug DeMuro
£1.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews