Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars45
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£39.16+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2014
What a fabulous progressive metal album! This has to be listened to - very definitely not background music. As a result of this album have already bought Haken's first offering.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
New band for me, and this is the first album I have bought but certainly won't be the last. A startling album of music displaying a wide variety of influences delivered with a freshness and individuality that is very rare. Vocal harmonies, thrash metal guitars, soaring melodies, a jazz interlude - you get the picture! But it all blends together with great style and musicianship. A great addition to my collection and thoroughly recommended. Only disappointment is that their earlier work Aquarius is out of stock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
After Aquarius(2010) and Visions(2011) were released to fairly favourable reviews,we have waited for some time for the return of one of the major new British prog-metal groups on the circuit,to deliver their third record.
THE MOUNTAIN!is Hakens triumphant return and is Awesome!
62 minutes of light and shade,62 minutes of adrenaline and power and extraordinary musicianship.From the almost hymn-like openings of first track The Path,to the exhilarating climax of album closer Somebody,this album has A* thru its entire nine compositions.
Haken have recorded something very special here.Nine songs of varying length,with two tracks(Falling Back to Earth and Pareidolia),clocking in at eleven minutes each.
Each track is different,and that's the beauty of The Mountain.The six musicians on this album play their instruments like they are a veteran prog-metal band,which their are not.The vocalist Ross Jennings has an assured voice,and is perfect for this sound.
Haken have many influences that transmit well on the album,and fans of Dream Theatre,Shadow Gallery,Redemption,Gentle Giant,Metallica,Anathema,Porcupine Tree,and Pineapple Thief will surely find much to enjoy.
The album produced by Jens Bogren(Opeth producer) is superb as well.
The Mountain!
This album isn't Ben Nevis.It isn't Mount Kilimanjaro. It isn't even K2.
This mountain is Mount Everest.Haken have hit the heights;they've reached the summit with this superb release.
I highly recommend The Mountain.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
What a fantastic third album from Haken. Any lover of quality, passionate music won't fail to be impressed. Brilliant harmony vocals, Gentle Giant style vocals in places, superb musicianship and a little bit of the kitchen sink thrown in too. Harks back to the says when bands weren't afraid to experiment and boy does it all work here. Not a duff track, plenty of variety and all lovely melodies and themes. Just buy it! They have a sense of humour too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Yes, really got to agree with other reviewers that this is an impressive album by a Band at the top of their form. It grabs you immediately on the first listen which is quite rare for progressive rock . I give this only 4 stars instead of 5 as I prefer albums that grow on you as they provide more listening longevity but that's how I love my music. Still, impressive stuff and no prog rock fan will be disappointed by this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
I had never thought myself capable of taking to a band formed in this century. And here it is, Haken with The Mountain, a musical masterpiece like none other since Dream Theater's Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory. Awe-inspiring harmonies and bouncy rhythms flowing into the realms of jazz and metal or sometimes even musical. To top it off, the production quality of this album is simply outstanding. This is uplifting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
i decided to buy this album because id heard lots about haken.....what a wise purchase! this is a no holds barred,very imaginitive and well produced album indeed.if you like prog with a little metal too then this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
I'd not heard of or heard Haken until a track appeared on the free sampler of PROG magazine. I was intrigued by Cockroach King to say the least. This a great album, not too much chugga-chugga-chugga-chugga riffing as with so many new prog outfits and plenty of variety. There's a bit of jazz, a bit of folk, Indian and classical influences, even some humour (!) and a suitable nod here and there to old progressive favourites. Gentle Giant-esque in places and reckon I heard a bit of ELP in the vocals somewhere. This is right up there with recent releases from Mr.Wilson, Lifesigns, DT and the like. A friend of mine says it's a bit too prog; that's good enough for me.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Great album. Heavy, melodic, inventive, melancholy, uplifting, weird (in a good way), superbly mixed, great playing, excellent vocals. Looking forward to hearing their other stuff,a happy discovery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Apart from the occasional bursts of heavy metal, the record is perfect. These people can seriously play; the tunes are great, with "Cockroach King" the high point of the list.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)