Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh, new magical tale!
As Milly sneaks out of the orphanage in the middle of the night her two friends, George and Sam, follow suit. Milly is miserable and will try anything to get away from Mercy Hall Home for Orphans, but almost being kidnapped and falling into another world was not what she had expected. As the crackling hedge closed behind them they found themselves in a strange land they...
Published on 6 July 2011 by BDMist

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action, Adventure and Murderous Sheep!
Escape from Mercy Halls, at once, throws you straight into the adventure. The opening pages set up the main characters of Milly, Sam and George as the orphans who flee from the foreboding and cruel Mercy Halls, ruled over by the equally mean and nasty Barking Mad, as the children fondly think of him.

Straight away, Escape from Mercy Falls sets itself apart from...
Published on 6 Jun. 2011 by Pamela Roach


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh, new magical tale!, 6 July 2011
As Milly sneaks out of the orphanage in the middle of the night her two friends, George and Sam, follow suit. Milly is miserable and will try anything to get away from Mercy Hall Home for Orphans, but almost being kidnapped and falling into another world was not what she had expected. As the crackling hedge closed behind them they found themselves in a strange land they had never seen before; and so, their adventure begins. As the three friends look for somewhere to stay they meet a talking horse with a flying carriage, a dog 'pegged-out' for the Muttons, a village named Littlewich full of Minlings, tick-tocks and Robes - and this only takes you to page 50!

This superb novel is complimented by several illustrations that only add to the fun character of the story. I couldn't possibly mention all the enjoyable parts of this book as there are so many, but what happens in the Rainbow Cave is quite surprising! This book has quite a fast pace and there is something fresh and magical in every chapter, and I loved Littlewich's currency - marvellous!

It's been a while since I have read something that reminds me of my childhood books by Roald Dahl and C.S.Lewis. This fun and magical book was an absolute pleasure to read and I would certainly recommend it for all ages. As is it quite an easy read it may be more suited for the younger age bracket but the more advanced reader should still enjoy the story. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape From Mercy Hall, 23 Aug. 2011
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The story follows three orphans, Mily who is ten years old and George and Sam who are both eleven as they end up in a strange world after escaping from the awful orphanage 'Mercy Hall Home for Orphans'.
Milly has been upset after getting in trouble with the headmaster of Mercy Hall, Jethro Barking (otherwise known to the orphans as OBM or Old Barking Mad) and his right hand ally the matron Maude Jones and she decides to run away to find her older brother Tom who left the orphanage for a job in London several months ago but Milly hasn't heard from since. George and Sam spot Milly through their window running away and decide to go after her to help stop her being caught. Just as George and Sam catch up to her the thorny hedge that surrounds the orphanage suddenly parts to leave a large gap and some hooded figures come out of the hedge and start to drag Milly back through the hedge with them. The boys run after Milly and end up on the other side of the hedge too but manage to help her escape from the clutches of the hooded figures who run off into the night. Before the three children can go back through the hedge it rights itself and the gap is closed trapping the children on the other side. The children have no way back through the thorny hedge and the next morning after a restless night decide to see if there is anyone around who can help them.

So starts a whirlwind of adventure which never eases off until the very end of the book. We are introduced to a whole new world with little people called Minlings, talking animals including horses, dogs and tick tock birds, a magical rainbow cave that can transform anyone who passes through it for either the better or for the worse not to mention man eating sharks, crocodiles and even man eating sheep called Muttons! The children end up from one life threatening situation to another but from their bravery and friendship with each other along with their trusty new talking dog Drago they manage to uncover a sinister underbelly to the new world they have discovered and find out the truth about what really happens in the Dome City.

A truly brilliant imaginative story that had me gripped from start to end. The artwork in the book is beautifully drawn and really helps illustrate the story. I really enjoyed this story and especially the character Batty who really made me laugh. A really funny and well written book that I will definitely be reading to my child when they are older. As this is the first in a trilogy I will be keeping my eyes open for when the next instalment is released. I think this book is probably aimed at 7 to 12 years old's however a really enjoyable read for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action, Adventure and Murderous Sheep!, 6 Jun. 2011
Escape from Mercy Halls, at once, throws you straight into the adventure. The opening pages set up the main characters of Milly, Sam and George as the orphans who flee from the foreboding and cruel Mercy Halls, ruled over by the equally mean and nasty Barking Mad, as the children fondly think of him.

Straight away, Escape from Mercy Falls sets itself apart from other fantasy children's books, creating strong and wilful characters and dangerous and at times, frightening situations.

The author creates a bright alternate world, filled with sunshine and horror. With murderous sheep and mutated crocodiles, the fearfulness is carefully balanced with brave and protective talking dogs, cheeky birds and faithful hunchbacks.

The book is written in very descriptive, but simple, language, making it accessible for many readers.

The only criticism I could give the book is there wasn't much of a breather - a calm after the storm so to speak. As the book drew to a close, the tension amped without much reprieve. Some of this, I feel, would have made the adventure really soar. All in all, it was a good book, and I'm sure my little boy will love it also when he gets a bit bigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape from Mercy Hall, 28 Oct. 2013
My sons ( 8 and 10) loved this book. There is a great cast of characters living at the orphanage - my eldest loved Todd (the mad rocket boy) and my youngest loved Sam (who has powers of great speed). Some great girl characters too. Garth Edwards has created a weird and wonderful world that lurks behind the thorn hedge that surrounds the orphanage. The children meet all kinds of strange creatures in their quest to rescue their friends and overcome the tyranny of the headmaster, Jethro Barking (Old Barking Mad!) Highly recommended!

Escape from Mercy Hall: 1 (Thorn Gate Trilogy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever!, 30 Dec. 2013
Escape from mercy hall is a great book about some orphans going into a strange world. It has a mystery around every corner and conquers the felling of suspense. I would recommend it to anybody who likes adventure. I like this book because it makes a point that children are not as small and weak as people think.

Your's faithfully,
Benjamin Quayle(AGE 10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent books for kids who love adventure!, 6 Sept. 2013
By 
K. S. Salisbury (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Mercy Hall (Thorn Gate Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If your children love stories with great characters and high drama, then they will love these books. We've read them as a family at night and also given them as birthday presents and they were a big hit all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good he loved it, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was for my grandson who is ten, he was really excited about this book that is why I have bought the next one this week.Really good he loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Customer, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what we needed and very quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews