Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow but heavenly
I bought this album on release in 1978, on green vinyl no less. That wasn't the reason I bought it though. I'd heard the title track on "Juke Box Jury" and Green's gorgeous guitar line and measured vocal delivery marked it out from the more frenetic records being showcased. The music throughout this album is beautifully played and produced, largely due to the excellence...
Published on 26 Sep 2005 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars who's who
Sad, sad music, its labelled Peter Green but is it Mr White who plays all the guitar highlights?
Published on 25 May 2010 by Mr. G. Hardy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow but heavenly, 26 Sep 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Skies (Audio CD)
I bought this album on release in 1978, on green vinyl no less. That wasn't the reason I bought it though. I'd heard the title track on "Juke Box Jury" and Green's gorgeous guitar line and measured vocal delivery marked it out from the more frenetic records being showcased. The music throughout this album is beautifully played and produced, largely due to the excellence of the band as a whole. Hiring Snowy White as co-guitarist proves to be a dream combination.
Five of the tracks are instrumental, which won't please some, but there's nothing I rate as filler. Of those instrumentals, "The Apostle" is stunning and features only Green and White. The longest track, "Fool No More", sees Green revisiting his blues song roots and his tasteful, economical playing is so effective that you can almost sense the cigarette smoke and alcohol.
The criticisms I've read about "In The Skies" are that some of the instrumentals are repetitive and that the music is too mellow, but while I understand the charges, they seem rather arbitrary. All in all, it's a lovely album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter`s long awaited return, 16 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: In The Skies (Audio CD)
By 1978 most Peter Green afficionados had given up on him ever playing again. Various rumours about him having mental problems, working as a gravedigger, ending up in prison for brandishing a shotgun at his accountant etc. had been circulating for seven years. Then without fanfare, in mid 1979 "in the skies" was released. Fans like myself, eager to hear if Peter still had the magic touch rushed out to buy the lp. We were not disappointed. Sure the album is mellow and has some spiritual feel to it, but the man`s gift was still there. Apparently, if the stories can be believed, Peter had not picked up a guitar for five years and had given his beloved les paul to his friend, Gary Moore. He was coaxed out of musical retirement by his brother, Mike, who worked for PVK records, owned by Peter Vernon Kell. Peter Kell carefully persuaded Peter Green to record a few tracks with a few old mates of Greeny`s (and top session musicians), Snowy White, Peter Bardens, Reg Isodore etc. Kell realised that although initially rusty, Peter Green was soon firing on all cylinders again. An instrumental track "Apostle" was recorded and released ahead of the album. Reminiscent of the acoustic part of "Oh Well", it had Mick Fleetwood crying when he heard it. Snowy White takes lead guitar on two tracks, the title track and the superb "Slabo Day". The rest is Peter Green showing what he can do on tracks like "Tribal Dance", "Funky Chunk" and others. The standout track is the new interpretation of his "A fool no more", which to my ears, is one of the finest slices of blues playing ever laid down, his guitar (a Fender Jazzmaster, i believe) just drips with the emotion, feeling and tasteful playing that made Green the finest blues guitarist of his generation. Much has been made of Snowy White playing lead on two tracks, but that is Peter`s generous spirit all over, in much the same way that, in Fleetwood Mac, he let Jeremy Spencer,on the first two albums, and then Danny Kirwan on "Then Play On", have their chances. In an interview with Steve Clarke for the NME in 1979 Peter stated that his playing was better than it had ever been, which puts paid to the naysayers theories about his ability and other musicians covering for him. The fact is that Peter Green was exploring musical directions other than the blues whilst still in Fleetwood Mac and after a seven year hiatus, continues to do so here. No, it is not an earth shattering album, neither is it Fleetwood Mac but it is an album that given the circumstances, no one had any right to expect,and it certainly exceeded my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 May 2001
By 
Mr. Colin Rankin "Colin Rankin" (Braintree, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In the Skies (Audio CD)
After Fleetwood Mac Peter lost his way but refound himself with this superlative album.It is mellow and bluesy and tends to creep up on you. It is a shame that Peter has lost it again since............buy this and remember how good he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated gentle blues, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Skies (Audio CD)
Mellow Blues from the great Mr Green with some gospel influences, from his 70's post Fleetwood Mac period. Wonderfully subtle playing and some great musicians in support including the late Pete Bardens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Green In the Skies, 3 Feb 2014
By 
D. R. Sale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skies (MP3 Download)
A real fantastic album. Wish I had heard this years ago. The days stress lifted and the beauty of the artist shone through in words and sheer quality of music.Thanks Peter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Peter Geeen's best, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skies (MP3 Download)
So chilled and relaxing what you would expect from one of the masters of the guitar must bu for any Peter Green fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ah Greeny, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Skies (Audio CD)
at his best following his long lay off. Great cd by a superb musician. My one gripe would be that most cd's play for much longer nowadays, but I have bought the vinyl when this first came out and its brilliant to be able to play this in the car as well as around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Mar 2013
By 
A. Jones "dogsbody" (lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skies (Audio CD)
no sophisticated review i`m afraid but if you like good guitar then this is the boy for you.pure enjoyment.does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it :), 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skies (MP3 Download)
I love Peter Green & this is a must have for anyone who likes Peter Greens work. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Green From 1978., 28 Oct 2013
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Skies (Audio CD)
Until I bought In The Skies I had not heard any recordings by Peter Green post his famous Fleetwood Mac days of the late 1960s and very early 1970s.
There's good musicianship all the way with Blues guitar mostly to the fore.
I certainly enjoyed hearing Seven Stars and Apostle and the remainder maintain a high standard of Blues, with several instrumentals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Skies
In the Skies by Peter Green
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews