Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sampler for unique label
The Ghost Box label is one of the more unique British labels currently existent, putting out records that as a collected body of work evoke a particular strain of somewhat lost British culture, one largely informed by the science fiction, children's programming and safety films of the 60s, 70s and 80s. Much of these influences were soundtracked by music and special...
Published 8 months ago by J M GRIFFITHS

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What do you expect?
As with most samplers, there are a couple of good tracks and the others are mediocre and I did have to revert to the "delete" button more than once. Let's just say I wasn't sufficiently impressed to look at any other music where actual money exchanged hands but as a free-bee, what did I expect?
Published 6 months ago by R. F. Hawkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sampler for unique label, 10 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
The Ghost Box label is one of the more unique British labels currently existent, putting out records that as a collected body of work evoke a particular strain of somewhat lost British culture, one largely informed by the science fiction, children's programming and safety films of the 60s, 70s and 80s. Much of these influences were soundtracked by music and special effects produced or inspired by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, a major influence for most if not all the artists here. On top of that there's often a layer of haze which itself evokes the distance that time has erected between this music and its influences, a kind of aural representation of the memory process. The subject of Hauntology often comes up in discussions of these and similar artists, being very generally the effects of experiencing the past through the lens of the present. There's a lot been said about that by some very clever people, so if it sounds interesting to you I recommend a quick search to find out more.

To my ears the music here sounds most akin to the aforementioned Radiophonic Workshop or Boards of Canada, themselves no stranger to exploring the haziness of memory with spooky analog synths. If that sounds like your kind of thing then why not give it a go? It could be a gateway into the interesting and rewarding catalogue of music surrounding this label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and interesting, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
Most of these tracks are good, all very interesting and different, yet very listenable. There are some cool samples used, most are instrumental, some are very good. Bargain for a freebie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great sampler, some really interesting music., 6 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Cannon "transforce" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
This is worth getting for The Hidden Door by Belbury Poly on it's own, which I am strangely addicted to, absolutely wonderful!
Other highlights for me are Wheel of the Year and Mind How You Go Now by The Advisory Circle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
I haven't heard this much of this type of music before but enjoyed its soothing aspects and it was free to try! Echoes of Kraftwerk maybe but it's always good to listen to something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Free Electronica, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
Absolute bargain introduction to the Ghost Box label and artists.
British Electronica with a 60's/70's low rent movie feel (imagine Jason King meets Assault on Precinct 13) .
A must for lovers of John Carpenter, Broadcast, The Wicker Man, and Public Information Films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to hear something VERY different? - Try this!!, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Steve.J (Glos. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
This is a very, very, unusual sampler album from the Ghost Box label, previewing a genre of music that most people have not been knowingly exposed to!!

The music wanders around like a drunk monkey on a unicycle and I suspect that the artists / composers are out there somewhere, they have not got a map and they are most definitely not coming back!!

But does that make it bad? - well no, it is just so very different as to defy a single description. It seems to have a base in the incidental music that you would expect to find in a TV series or maybe the movies (hence my first comment) and then the artists have taken the idea on from there (a long, long way). There is a lot of experimenting with different soundscapes and ways of producing music, that is both interesting, fun and sometimes downright weird!!

My guess is that people looking for sampling opportunities will love this album and you have to be brave and give it a go, just for the experience, as it is so unusual. You may find yourself resorting to the fast forward button on occasions, but don't let yourself be put off by that - it is free to try at the moment so just give it a go!!

I had to give this 4*, as I think I will have a go a a bit of sampling myself, after listening to this. My wife is giving me some very strange looks though, as she caught me listening to this and was worried that I was mixing stuff out of the medicine cabinet (in large quantities). Happy tripping people!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What do you expect?, 27 Sep 2013
By 
R. F. Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
As with most samplers, there are a couple of good tracks and the others are mediocre and I did have to revert to the "delete" button more than once. Let's just say I wasn't sufficiently impressed to look at any other music where actual money exchanged hands but as a free-bee, what did I expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost Box Sampler, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
It was an MP3 download for free so I can not say much about it. One good thing is I have note deleted it, not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Free Download, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
I downloaded this free album just to have a listen some really good samples on there but also a lot of dross
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hopeless, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Box Sampler (MP3 Download)
it sounded very nice only thing is I cant download it to cloud player for my Samsung tab 2 7"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

The Ghost Box Sampler
The Ghost Box Sampler by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews