Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, unplugged, show from Bryan Adams on Blu Ray
I have been a fan of Bryan Adams since, well, way back! The chance to have one of his live shows on Blu Ray with HD quality was one I looked forward to and, largely, the disc has been a good purchase. The show itself sees just Bryan and what looks like his twin performing all of the hits to an appreciative Sydney audience. Filmed at the world famous Opera House the set...
Published 11 months ago by GreenSt

versus
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is the band?
Disappointing. It is not drums, there is no bass, is not electric guitar. Only a piano and an acoustic guitar. I believe that they should notice of this fact in the product. In my case he had not bought it. This concert is not a concert. She is a person singing for a few friends. Disappointing.
Published 10 months ago by Electron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, unplugged, show from Bryan Adams on Blu Ray, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have been a fan of Bryan Adams since, well, way back! The chance to have one of his live shows on Blu Ray with HD quality was one I looked forward to and, largely, the disc has been a good purchase. The show itself sees just Bryan and what looks like his twin performing all of the hits to an appreciative Sydney audience. Filmed at the world famous Opera House the set has just the two of them with piano and guitar accompaniment. Bryan has a great vocal range to make this work even with some of the rockier songs such as Summer of 69. Every song that I would wish to hear at one of his shows is present and Bryan adds a fair amount of commentary at the end of each track with some amusing anecdotes.

Apart from a brief introduction at the start there are no extras and the Bare Bones name applies to the content of the Blu Ray with some very basic menus. None of this is an issue though - pop-up menus are available while watching to enable you to go straight to the track you require.

Sound quality is absolutely superb. A DTS HD Master audio is present and it is fantastic throughout. Picture quality is mixed - this is Bare Bones in terms of stage lighting as well so don't expect a visual feast with this one! The camera work is largely OK but I found myself getting annoyed with the lack of the usual front view which seems to have been replaced with a hand-held camera taking on different views from around the stage. The close up of the microphone (just the mic) with Bryan's mouth got a bit tiresome - there is only so much spitting you want to see! One of the cameras that focuses on the piano playing seems to be in SD rather than HD (there are 2 shooting the piano and one is very sharp). Also lots of manual focusing which is very arty but I would rather see a pin sharp image and concentrate on the show.

In the end I would thoroughly recommend this release. It was a close call in terms of giving this a 4 or 5 but went with the 4 because of a few shortfalls. I just hope that Bryan releases a Blu Ray for his next full tour - if so please leave the hand-held camera alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent live blu ray, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great to finally have a bluray from BA. A must buy for any Bryan Adams fans.This is areally good production of the bare bones tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bare bones tour is great on blu-ray, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
super concert, great picture and sound, if you love the music of bryan adams,then this is for you. you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A great memory of a truly great night. Bryan Adams at his best in one of the worlds greatest venues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BA FINALLY IN HI DEF!, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Fairdy Novika Kusuma "Schlaker" (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well, it's been a long time coming but finally BA is in hi-def. This concert has great songs but a few of these songs feel like they're too short. Bryan tends to cut the second verse these days. The songs are brilliant, BA's voice is always fantastic. The crowd however, not as brilliant. They only seem to respond on the bigger tunes.

The direction of the film is not as good or attractive as his Unplugged set. You tend to get bored of the limited angles.

As for the bluray, the picture is alright but when it gets darker, it's kinda dirty. When BA talks, you can barely hear him.

No extras, boo!

All in all, BA is in 1080p finally. Must have for fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams Bare Bones Syndey Tour DVD, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recorded live performance at the Sydney opera house, acoustic show with Bryan and his pianist Gary Bright ,awesome sound , performance and filming , fantastic viewing for all BA fans .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bare Bones!!, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Attended the show in Cape Town SA @ end of Jan 2014.
Enjoyed it very much, but our seats were to far from the stage.
Fortunately I found the Blue-ray - perfect!
Pure music, no frills - absolutely great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bryan is Brilliant is this concert, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Why my 4 stars?

I don't know why, but the sound in dts module makes the piano sound as it was miles away.
To hear the piano properly I had to switch to 5.1 normal module.

This is strange take into consideration that the band, in this concert, is composed by Brian Adams and the pianist.

So the instruments are voice, guitar, from time to time harmónica, and the referred piano.

So is a critical thecnical issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is the band?, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Disappointing. It is not drums, there is no bass, is not electric guitar. Only a piano and an acoustic guitar. I believe that they should notice of this fact in the product. In my case he had not bought it. This concert is not a concert. She is a person singing for a few friends. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no drums no electric guitar ?, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Marc Bouhana (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
i agree with another review it is only acoustic ?
i want a concert of bryan adams with electric things
so i will not buy it for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bryan Adams: Live At Sydney Opera House [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
£19.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews