Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Anthony Horowitz fan is born!
My 10 year old son devoured this book! He was bursting with enthusiasm when he was reading it and has declared it one of his top 5 all time reads! He hadn't read the Alex Rider books but that didn't matter and he now wants to go on to read the Alex Rider series.
Published 14 months ago by Tracy

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great if it had been a stand-alone story
I have to say that it's difficult to rate this book. I averaged the two ratings I would have given it and ended up with three stars. If it were a stand-alone novel, I would have given it 4, maybe 4.5 stars. It was interesting to find out how an innocent boy of fourteen could end up becoming one of the world's deadliest assassins. However, this is supposed to be a part of...
Published 15 months ago by HP Reader


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Anthony Horowitz fan is born!, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Tracy (Teddington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
My 10 year old son devoured this book! He was bursting with enthusiasm when he was reading it and has declared it one of his top 5 all time reads! He hadn't read the Alex Rider books but that didn't matter and he now wants to go on to read the Alex Rider series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Exceptional, 30 Sep 2013
By 
C. E. Utley "Charles Utley" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Yassen, a vicious assassin in the employ of Scorpia (a consortium of vile international crooks), is given the order to kill Alex Rider, the fourteen-year-old hero of several of Horowitz's wonderful stories for children. He, Yassen, settles down, the night before his evil mission, to read his diary, the story of his own life, beginning when he, too, was 14. We are off.

Could anyone else have made a paid assassin into a sympathetic character for young readers? I doubt it. But Horowitz pulls it off. We follow the young Yassen on his journey through life, from the disaster which destroys everything he knows, including his parents, his best friend and his grandmother, to his becoming one of the most successful killers in the world. And that journey is appalling. But, somehow, Yassen retains his humanity through most of it.

Horowitz's writing style is perfect for teenagers (and even for elderly readers like me). He is never patronising. He resists the temptation to which so many other writers for children (and even adults) give in to lecture and educate. He just tells a story beautifully and grippingly.

Why should we adults be given rubbish written by Dan Brown, Jeffrey Archer etc. when children are given pearls like this?

This is yet another triumph for the man who must, surely, be our finest living author of children's books.

Charles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It enticed my son away from his computer games, 17 Oct 2013
My 15 year old son was completely gripped by this book, finishing it in 2 days, he was not even tempted to go on his computer until he had finished it -most unusual -he really enjoyed it, so much so that I read it too and was also glued to it, couldn't put it down until I had finished. Highly recommended. A great Christmas present to tear teenage boys away from their computer games ( & mums too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the different style in which this Alex Rider book was set, from the perspective of a killer. However more action scenes wouldn't have gone a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this boook, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
if you are a anthony horrowitz/ alex rider fan even if you arent this book is essential and is a must have. AWWEEESOOOMMMME!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book for adolescent readers, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
It was exciting and gave some great insights into the events that preceded the original books. I would recommend it to Alex Rider fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Amazing book very interesting I had better get some sleep as it certainly cept me up all night can not wait to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book for Alex Rider fans, it tells yo so much but it also uncovers so secrets about the relationship between Alex and Yassen . It also revealed a secret about John Rider that Yassen knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
This is an absolutely one of the best books I have ever read its a gripping tale with loads of suspemse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars russian roulette was gr8, 20 Nov 2013
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book great to see how yassen gregorovch Became the deadly assasin he is throughout the series. I think the author is really clever to show us the background of yassen so well done Horowitz I salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Russian Roulette (Alex Rider Book 10)
£3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews