Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and efficient car/leisure battery charger.
A battery charger is one of those garage essentials that is impossible for anyone (OK, perhaps just me!) to get excited about. So long as it does its job safely and efficiently it pretty much meets requirements. This certainly meets those criteria and has the added bonuses of being compact, weatherproof and 'smart' to prevent over-charging and monitor the condition of the...
Published 15 months ago by S. J. Williams

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not like flat battery
Car would not start on my old MG so I connected the charger but it would not charge. Light indicated a battery fault. I used my old charger without a problem then transferred to the AA charger which continued to trickle charge. Good for maintaining battery condition but not for charging from flat.
Published 12 months ago by Philip Baker


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and efficient car/leisure battery charger., 24 Nov. 2013
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A battery charger is one of those garage essentials that is impossible for anyone (OK, perhaps just me!) to get excited about. So long as it does its job safely and efficiently it pretty much meets requirements. This certainly meets those criteria and has the added bonuses of being compact, weatherproof and 'smart' to prevent over-charging and monitor the condition of the battery and the appropriate charge rate. Topped up a neighbour's caravan battery in no time today. A minor quibble is the length of mains lead, but at 2m that seems to be pretty much standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not like flat battery, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
Car would not start on my old MG so I connected the charger but it would not charge. Light indicated a battery fault. I used my old charger without a problem then transferred to the AA charger which continued to trickle charge. Good for maintaining battery condition but not for charging from flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good kit, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
Have used this charger for motorhome/motorcycle and car. does the job very efficiently and I can leave it connected to motorhome battery as a maintenance charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great little item, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
A great little item, and quite honestly I think every motorist should have one. Cost on Amazon was about £8 cheaper than on the AA website! But at the time of writing I see they're out of stock. Must be winter. Our Peugeot 307 failed to start a little while ago, due to heavy use of electrics on these very cold mornings coupled with only a 2 mile commute. 20 hours later the battery is back to full power. The beauty of this type of charger is that there is absolutely no need to detach any battery connections. It has all necessary protections. I have a similar item permanently connected to my motorcycle battery (unless I'm riding it!) which keeps it constantly charged up and ready to go. It is NOT a trickle charger; once full charge is achieved all it does is occasional topping up when the voltage falls a bit, probably due to the current drain from alarms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for maintaining a charge, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small and compact product which appears robust. It comes with good length cables and fixings for a temporary charge or to connect it in a more permanent way to the battery for long-term maintenance. The clips are easily interchangeable. The instructions which come with it are clear and easy to understand. The unit has fixing holes to allow you to screw it to a wall or elsewhere.

This will make an excellent charger for a caravan leisure battery or similar battery where you want to charge it and give it regular maintenance top-ups. It has a low current in comparison with others in the same price range but the advantages for this particular application outweigh the disadvantage of it taking longer to charge up. You may wish to look elsewhere if you are wanting something for fast and frequent charges of many different batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
Great value charger does exactly what is expected simple to use and good value for money if you want a simple reliable smart trickle charger to keep your battery in tip top condition then this is the kitty,can be permanently wired to the battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars didnt work out the box for me, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
The item should keep the car battery charged or charge the battery over period of time.. I went away for 3 weeks left my car plugged in and when I got back the battery was dead, I thought there was a problem with the product and got a replacement and also changed my car battery.

I've just got back from being away again and the same thing just happened. This time for 4 weeks away.

My car for some reason is draining the battery and expected this product to stop me having to jump start it all the time after being away.

I personally didnt like the item and will try again when I go away, but after 2 failed attempts not sure I will use it again :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well and is nice and compact, 16 April 2014
By 
Gareth Jordan (Garnant, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
Works for Motorcycle and car batteries and allows trickle style charging.
A bit cheap and plasticky feeling, but does the job well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic piece of wizardry, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
Fantastic piece of wizardry. I plugged it straight in following the simple instructions, and it showed my battery to be 80% functional and required a charge. The displays informs when finished. Just leave it and have a look after an hour or so. There is also another lead for motorbikes. This is a very pleasant charger without charging too much money. I will buy another one for my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars AA 12V battery charger, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials 5060114614956 Battery Charger and Maintainer (Automotive)
This is a good charger but does not appear to work at all with a battery which is drained (e.g. 7V rather than close to 12V). This might be an indication that the battery is dead or that the charger is really designed for trickle charging of healthy batteries. Despite this it does the job generally and is probably extremely safe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews