Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter is great!
Fantastic from start to finish! Great story lines and great acting. It is a shame it all had to end
Published 17 months ago by Brian Penny

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series that took the wrong turn
This set contains full box sets for each series and is offered at a great price.
The packaging itself is fine, but it is rather bulky and awkward to store.

If you have not watched this series yet, do read up about its final season before committing to purchase this.
Unless you are an avid fan, or like to collect box sets, you may want to watch this...
Published 16 months ago by BooksChatter


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter is great!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic from start to finish! Great story lines and great acting. It is a shame it all had to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a megabargain!, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
(At this moment in time......... ) Bought as a fabulous, no-brainer of a bargain. All EIGHT seasons...... do the math! Having just finished season six on my local RTP2 channel, i simply couldn't stand the idea of waiting nearly a year for season seven and even longer for season eight. (Running the risk of discovering more and more spoilers.) Rather than opt for a quick purchase of season seven....... let alone season eight.... i took the complete box set route. This attractive, sturdy set cost only a little more than i shelled out for seasons one through four. AAAAARRRRGH!!!

What of the seasons? There are already more reviews than one can poke a stick at, and readers will see that the "post-Trinity" seasons don't generally appear to satisfy as much. As for my personal ratings: season one (Ice Truck Killer) is simply superb; season two (Bay Harbor Butcher) ditto, although i always found the denouement a little too easy; season three (Miguel Prado) sees things taking a bit of a breather; season four (Trinity Killer) is possibly one of the greatest of all seasons of anything...... John Lithgow illuminates with a truly breathtaking guest star performance; season five (Barrel Girls) is a solid season and rather underrated; season six (Doomsday Killer) is the only real disappointer..... very flat. Colin Hanks is the weakest of all the guest stars and Edward James Olmos not that interesting; season seven (Koshka Brotherhood/Hannah McKay) with Ray Stevenson giving a very menacing performance and lovely Yvonne Strahovski simply radiant. I found this quite excellent; season eight (The Brain Surgeon) ...... i feared the worst, on the basis of people's typical reviews, but found it to be very worthwhile.

The surprising thing is that so many seem to have found seasons seven and, particularly, eight so much of a letdown. Perhaps viewers didn't go for the "what would we do out of love?" exploration. I came to the end of the journey yesterday, in tears during the final episode. Maybe it depends on the old business about whether or not one believes in the journey of the characters. I found myself quite desperately wanting things to work out happily, in spite of the numerous leaps of faith which have been required of us. What we get is one of the most moving, haunting, bitter-sweet conclusions i know in any tv series. I'll inevitably come back to a full rerun of "Dexter" in a couple of years. In the meantime, this deluxe set will take pride of place on a shelf.

PS. Now available in a more compact, cost-optimised version. The slip case has gone, but it still looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING SERIES, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
Honestly, I don't see why so much negative feedback is given to the second half of the series. The series never noticeably dipped in quality for me. I would recommend this series 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter's Journey, 22 Jan. 2014
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
Like many people, when this show was recommended to me I tried not to smirk. The whole idea sounded kitsch at best, and time slot filler at worst. Oh how wrong I was. Other reviewers have done more justice to this `gem' of a series, so please look to them for a full synopsis. I have managed to seen season one to eight, and while some episodes/seasons seem too stretch the realms of the plausible and one season stands out as not being on par with the rest - I have really enjoyed them as each story is `fresh' and entertaining. My opinion, for what it is worth, if you cannot buy it, at least rent them from Amazon, but definitely give a try. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very late fan, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another purchase made on the back of customer reviews. I had missed this completely when it was on TV but it was mainly the fact that its set in Miami that attracted me tobegin with.
It is very entertaining and has the voice -over and dark humour that I really like.
We're only onto series 3 but could easily watch them back to back, it is different, entertaining, shocking and a bit sad all rolled together.
Why on earth I didn't see this when it came out is beyond me, but at least i've discovered it now.
A little tip - if you don't want any spoilers, try not to watch the scenes playing in the background when you get to the 'choose episode' screen - it shows bits from all the episodes on that disc so you could end up seeing stuff that spoils the later episodes for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! A must buy!!!, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
I actually had never seen Dexter before, until a few years ago when a friend was going on about it, I decided to watch an episode on Youtube - which then resulted in me buying a few seasons on DVD. I've never really enjoyed American TV shows so it took me a while to get into it - after which I was hooked - couldn't stop watching it, whenever I had free time I would watch for hours and hours! Honestly if you have never seen Dexter before - Buy this DVD, you will not regret it!

This Complete boxset is a great bargain. Although I had most seasons on DVD, I decided to purchase this set - It's good to have the full collection, I'm currently re-watching (and it's like i'm watching for the first time - I'm hooked again!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BUY :)!!!, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
this review is actually about the product. We all know the storyline is great and all that stuff. If your buying this then i gather you know what your buying anyway. The box is very well made. the dvd cases are full size (not those slim down ones you get with some box sets. and the simplicity but link and symbolism to the season of the dvd design makes it such an appealing looking set. the box opens in the middle. you can probably see that if you look closely on the pictures. There is a red thick plastic sleeve which fits nicely over the top. (it's the part with the words dexter that you see on the pictures) the picture of dexter is on the box which is white. it's a well made box. Each dvd has 4 discs in it and all include special features on the last disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 27 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
this review is about the boxset, its a great quality boxset, sturdy and compact, glossy finish on the red cover, opens in the middle, 4 seasons on side with artwork that is exclusive to this boxset
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] (DVD)
Great work, exciting, thrilling, smart. You can't stop when you start watching it. !!!!!
I recommend Dexter to anyone looking for something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a 5* series with just one very small flaw..., 31 Jan. 2015
The best way I can start off this review is by saying Dexter is in my top 3 TV series of all time - along with Game of Thrones and Breaking Bad. It fends off competition from the likes of Homeland, Prison Break, House of Cards, Hustle and Sherlock (to name a few) which speaks for itself. It's an amazing series from start to finish, you NEVER know what is going to happen, with large twists in the majority of the series'. Unlike a large number of other TV series out there Dexter goes not get repetitive, with series themes ranging from just plain old psychopaths to vengeance and religious themes. The dark and sarcastic humour is brilliant, with smart one line responses at every turn. There's also sections of murder mysteries for those of you who are more into that than violent killing (although nowhere near the extent of CSI for example).
This is a must watch for all, if you are unsure give this first series a try and you'll be completely hooked.
The only negative side to the entire series is the last 30 seconds of the final series (no spoilers don't worry), unfortunately they went just a little bit too far with the very final scene... You'll see what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD]
Dexter - Complete Season 1-8 [DVD] by Michael C. Hall (DVD - 2013)
£82.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews