Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winning Emmys from the start
Season Five kicks off with more of Klingons fighting each other, which makes for a rousing start in 'Redemption' part 2. Second episode 'Darmock' was already up for an Emmy, which it won, for tackling barriers in communication. Picard struggles to talk to the Tamarian captain, played by Paul Winfield of Star Trek 2 fame, in a recreation of historical events from the...
Published on 24 Sep 2004

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: The Finest Generation?
I bought this simply to complete my collection of TNG boxsets along with the Season 2 set and was delighted to find it included "Cause and Effect", one of my all-time favourite episodes. Besides this, most of it is pretty standard Trek. Some great episodes mixed in with some not so great episodes and a lot of reasonably good ones means it is entertaining whether you've...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by DanP101


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let down by the special features, 23 Dec 2013
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 5 [Blu-ray] [1991] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm going to let other reviewers look at the episode - personally I don't think this season stands up as well as number 4. There are a couple of episodes I really enjoyed like Disaster (although if I remember correctly, at the time it wasn't well-loved by fans because of the presence of kids) a couple of good time travel episodes and the first true Original Series crossover (which is disappointingly static - Spock gets a better outing in the first of the recent movies).
My memory of ST:TNG is that this is the season where it all starts to get a bit too slick and even though I was sad to see it finish at the end of season 7 (with the very poor finale "All Good Things") looking back it was here it started to get tired with pedestrian episodes far outnumbering the classics but no particular stinkers.

So if you're interested in the episodes, stop reading now...

Instead I want to talk about the special features which continue to decline in quality on this set.
For season four we had a *very* long discussion about special effects with no actual footage of the sequences they were discussing, and on season 5 we have another *very* long discussion about music (something I'm genuinely interested in) with - get this - no music! Nothing duller. But you do get the sound of one of the interviewees sniffing away. Poorly recorded, completely unedited, and thoroughly dull because of the lack of context. A real wasted opportunity. Oh and if anyone else goes on about either The Inner Light (I don't get the raptures that episode elicits - especially while ignoring the awful makeup Patrick Stewart is made to wear to make him seem old) or the music from it (a rip off of the Skye Boat Song) I'll eat blood pie.

Other features include the ever-present and totally unfunny gag reel and two tributes to Gene Roddenberry which repeat each other and are a bit over-indulgent in the hero worship (for example, in other features we've heard that Roddenberry had a habit of hampering his writers with certain restrictions (no conflict on the Enterprise, for example) but in these it's like the man could do no wrong.
But weirdly the second of these tributes segues into a discussion of Michelle Forbes (Ensign Ro) who I assumed had died, given the odd jump, and then Chief O'Brien (scandalously missing from any of the interviews - the guy deserves a feature all of his own, but maybe this will come with DS9?). Then it descends from there into a totally uninteresting bit about why Frasier happened to be piloting one of the ships (it's a good cameo though).

The special features are the weak spot of these sets and a real wasted opportunity - overindulgent and uncritical, and poorly supported by footage when needed. If you want to see good, critical and proportionate special features, look at the ones you get on the BBC's Doctor Who range - funny, well-produced, unafraid to be critical, and with an accurate sense of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars star trek nut, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 5 [Blu-ray] [1991] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The best its ever looked the picture so crisp the sound quality brilliant especially in 7.1 surround sound roll on season 6 and 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Series!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 5 [Blu-ray] [1991] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am and have always been a Trekkie so being able to watch this wonderful series in Blu-Ray is such a bonus! Enjoyed every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well packed arrived quickly . Worth watching if you are into sci-fi. Nice to be able to watch the whole series when I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for ST-nerds, 8 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Allthought wifey just can't see the point in buying old TV-series, especially sci-fi series it's still great fun to watch, and wonderfull to suddently discover an episode that I hadn't seen before. Great!

There's also the bragging rights by owning the full series of ST TNG.

Absoloutely recommendable, also for folks who do not see themselves as being trekkies. You really don't have to be a Trekkie to apreciate the philosofies and style of Gene Roddenberrie's universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most rounded and best season, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 5 [Blu-ray] [1991] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you love star trek TNG this is probabaly the most rounded and best season .
If you like star trek in even the smallest amount i recommend this .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hello, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the dvds isn't working right it freezes up in one or two places,but it was second hand so its on the whole not too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It cannot be streamed in widescreen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Cool, 7 Mar 2004
By A Customer
I am a huge star treck fan and so this for me was the most over powing box set, I only hope that Voyager is as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a lot more Worf story's in season 5 and I am not a Michael Dorn fan he was the only one I did not like very much. I watched interviews with him, Marina and Jonathan when he reveals the mean jokes he would play on Patrick! I think he is a horrible man I don't know how Patrick put up with him, he may think his jokes are funny be what they really are is nasty. I am a big Patrick Stewart he is a lovely person and so is Jonathan Frakes. This season there are too many story's on the ship which made it boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 5 [Blu-ray] [1991] [Region Free]
41.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews