Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winning Emmys from the start
Season Five kicks off with more of Klingons fighting each other, which makes for a rousing start in 'Redemption' part 2. Second episode 'Darmock' was already up for an Emmy, which it won, for tackling barriers in communication. Picard struggles to talk to the Tamarian captain, played by Paul Winfield of Star Trek 2 fame, in a recreation of historical events from the...
Published on 24 Sep 2004

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: The Finest Generation?
I bought this simply to complete my collection of TNG boxsets along with the Season 2 set and was delighted to find it included "Cause and Effect", one of my all-time favourite episodes. Besides this, most of it is pretty standard Trek. Some great episodes mixed in with some not so great episodes and a lot of reasonably good ones means it is entertaining whether you've...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by DanP101


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fan, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of this series which is why I wanted it to complete my collection. It is very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shiny Trek goodness, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 5 [Blu-ray] [1991] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'd never considered upgrading my DVDs to Blue Rays, but the tweaks on the effects shots are beautiful and the extras, including scenes cut from some episodes are top notch.
Only let down by a couple of duff episodes mid-season, but that was a fault with the original programme rather than this release specifically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek TNG - Season 5 (SE) (DVD), 15 Aug 2013
By 
Patrick G "PJG" (Ardrosson, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
26 Episodes of classic star trek in
slimline edition. Good format very neat
and easy to handle and good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son received this as a present. He like us is a Star Trek fan. A really good watch. Are very happy with the Product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Mike T (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great cast, great stories, all you would expect from Star Trek. Nicely packaged and will look great alongside my other slimline collections, Voyager, Enterprise etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Star Trek The Next Generation, series 5 This was the last in the New Generation series for my collection which is now complete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 July 2012
Arrived quickly but the box was slightly crushed. The disc holder tabs also fell off in some of the cases but apart from that, its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great SF - great box set, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This box set is the fifth season of Star Trek: the Next Generation (TNG). The first episode is the conclusion of the last episode from the fourth series "Redemption II". However, there are many other powerful episodes, such as "Darmok, "Ensign Ro", "Disaster", "Conundrum", "Ethics", "Cause & Effect", "The First Duty". It also has the two part story "Unification" which focussed on the realationship between Vulcan and Romulus and features the aging Leonard Nimoy.

By this season, the writers were continuing to grow in confidence, and the actors were extremely comfortable in their roles; and as a result this series has some of the most consistently enjoyable episodes. Gene Roddenberry always wanted Star Trek to be about discussions of moral conflict and many of these episodes focus on specific aspects relating to this. However, they are not "preachy"; they focus on asking the right questions, then offer the different options and leave room for everyone to make up their own mind.

The box set also has a number of extra items that I enjoyed watching; it's really great to see some of the background stuff that goes into the production of the programmes.

This is a great addition to any collection, and complements the other sets really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 Nov 2011
By 
C H "texas ranger" (Assebroek _ Bruges Belgium) - See all my reviews
great". added to my collection as i did to all my stuff about star trek, and everything else that is related
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 20 Sep 2011
Star Trek at its best. A great selection of episodes from a classic show hitting its peak. Fantastic performances - particularly from Patrick Stewart & Brent Spiner (among others). Despite being 20 odd years old it still holds up well. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 5 [Blu-ray] [1991] [Region Free]
41.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews