Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains ALL episodes!
I am such a huge fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender, so when I heard they were making a sequel of sorts, I was very excited. And I'm very pleased that after a year and a half since it was first shown on US TV, they have been able to release it over here (Not on Blu-ray sadly, but I'm nitpicking).

I should point out that according to Amazon, this DVD contains 6...
Published 13 months ago by Gbar123

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legend of Karra..
It is... different, Let's see how the series plays out, obviously a must buy if you've been following 'Avatar'.
Which clearly we have :)
Published 9 months ago by Mr BDO O'Connor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains ALL episodes!, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
I am such a huge fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender, so when I heard they were making a sequel of sorts, I was very excited. And I'm very pleased that after a year and a half since it was first shown on US TV, they have been able to release it over here (Not on Blu-ray sadly, but I'm nitpicking).

I should point out that according to Amazon, this DVD contains 6 episodes. But I'm pleased to say that it is infact a 2-disc set, containing ALL 12 episodes of the first season, which I was very happy to discover when I recieved this item today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great show but does stumble and can't shake the shadow of Avatar!, 30 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. Palmer (England - Wolves) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For some reason the two seasons are put together as one whole thing. There are 13 episodes for each season.

Season 1: It has a very strong start which pulls you into the world and shows how much it has tries to distance itself from The Last Airbender by setting it 80 years after it. The tone of the show is darker and has a more mature stance to it.
The middle part of the season does meander a bit but it does all come together in the final episodes which are really great.
The story nehind the first season is that the creators didn't know if they were going to get a second season and there are elements that make it obvious by the way the writing goes.
Overall it is a very enjoyable season and has alot of great noir elements with a very intruiging villain.

Season 2: This had more problems with it. There doesn't seem to be any lessons brought over from the end of the first season (could have been different writers I don't know). The characters don't seem to grow that much until later in the season. It does start out strong but then meanders until the second half of the season where it really shines and builds up to a fantastic finale.

Overall Legend of Korra is a fantastic show. The animation is simply brilliant, being complimented by beautiful music score. The characters are also very likeable (Tenzen being my favourtite), with some great side characters. Some of the character progression can be at bit annoying (especially with Korra herself). The writing isn't on par with Avatar but is still miles ahead of alot of other shows. The comedic and dramatic elements work well alot of the time with a few miss steps.

If you're a fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender chances are you've already watched it and enjoyed it. If you haven't watched Avatar, I would still recommend it. It having it's own identity really helps and you won't miss that many nods to the first show.
It's an animated family show and being able to put this much thought into a review for a show like this, (I'm 27 by the way) does show how great a show like this is. In comparison with Avatar I would give it 4 stars but on its own it does deserve a 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, beautiful animation, beautiful soundtrack. Box of the dvd is beautifully presented., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Alright first of all,

If you haven't seen show - it is a masterpiece. I absolutely love it. Excellent story, beautiful animation, beautiful soundtrack.

If you have seen the show - condition of the box was perfect and it is beautifully presented.

IMPORTANT!

As of writing this review this item is 7 pounds. This is the price that was set when this was supposed to be only half the season. It is now the full season and the price has not changed. The american version is around 18 dollars -
SO YOU ARE GETTING IT HALF PRICE. BUY IT BEFORE THEY CHANGE IT! THIS SHOULD BE 14 POUNDS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series for a more mature audience, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD arrived earlier than expected and as previous reviewers have already stated, this 2 disk DVD includes all the episodes produced for Legend of Korra: Book 1.

The episodes are very entertaining and action packed and while it is aimed towards a more mature audience than The Last Airbender, there are still many moments of levity and humour to balance things out.

The hand drawn animation is still top notch and features more CGI animation than The Last Airbender to create the various vehicles and environments of Republic City.

There are optional commentary tracks for episodes 1, 2, 11 and 12 with a number of subtitle options, and each of these episode commentaries feature the series creators Michael DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko. Guest commentary comes from voice actors Janet Varney (Korra) in episodes 1 & 2, David Faustino (Mako) in episode 2 and Steve Blum (Amon) in episode 12 and the audio team, sound designer Ben Wynn and composer Jeremy Zuckerman in episode 11.

There is also a short film included on Disk 2 entitled the Legend of Puppetbender, which is a parody of the production process behind the show featuring the main characters as puppets and is very amusing.

In conclusion, this is a high quality DVD and at the time of writing, it is a great bargain to buy the entire Book 1 series for such a low price. I highly recommend this product for fans of the Avatar franchise and animation enthusiasts, but parents of young children should take note of the PG rating due to some unsettling scenes in later episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price for such a high quality show., 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
As has been said by the other reviewers it was a nice surprise to find out that this was not Book 1 Air Volume 1 as Amazon had listed when I ordered, but rather the complete Book 1 Air set with all 12 episodes.

Not much needs to be said about the show itself, it quite honestly is one of the best shows on tv right now. Book 1 Air was a great start after a 4 year break after Book 3 of ATLA and now Book 2 Spirits is really showing this show's quality.
Considering that this Book is 8 less episodes than Book 1 and 2 of ATLA and 9 less than Book 3, it still manages to tell a deep, emotional yet action backed story.

The set is identical to the US DVD release, minus a few little things. The disks here are printed with images from the show while the US disks just say what the disk is and the US release DVD came with a cardboard sleeve over the case. Nothing huge.

There are a few extras and I was disappointed to see that with no UK/Irish Blu Ray release that they did not put all of the special features on this set.
There are episode commentaries from the cast and crew for:
K101 Welcome To Republic City with Mike and Bryan (Show creators) and Janet Varney (Voice of Korra)
K102 A Leaf In The Wind with the 3 above and David Faustino (Voice of Mako
K111 Skeletons In The Closet with Mike, Bryan and The Track Team (Music)
K112 Endgame with Mike, Bryan, Joachim Dos Santos (Executive producer) and Steve Blum (Voice of Amon)

And a short called "The Legend Of Puppetbender presents "The Making of a Legend: The Untold Story - Part 1""

The commentaries are great giving insight into how each episode came about with stories from production. I do wish they had included the commentaries for the other 8 episodes that were on the US Blu Ray release. That release also got some animatics of Mike and Bryan's favourite scenes. There is some very good stuff in the commentaries included on this UK set though, including a great story about how Nick were initially against the idea of Korra being a female main character, and how once they saw the show they actually did a complete 180 and ordered more episodes. Janet Varney then explains that it must have been Nickelodeon's Sexism department.

The puppetbender short on the other hand is not good at all. I like the puppets themselves as they really capture a unique take on the characters, but the voice acting, writing and "story" is just not good at all. It tries really hard to be funny, but just isn't, which I find hard to believe considering the puppetbender guys are members of the Avatar/Korra fandom so to see them go for a lot of fandom jokes and miss worse than Nickelodeon themselves when they try to copy them is bad. Add to that that this is not even a full short, for some reason they decided to make this a part 1, and the preview for Part 2 is nearly as long as Part 1 itself. It is just baffling. Thankfully it is just an extra, but considering that ATLA had Chibi shorts and web comics that were great, this is a huge step down.
Thankfully Book 2's dvd set should have the "Republic City Hustle" web series on it.

On the whole a great set especially for the 8 or so euros I got it for. An absolute bargain at that price.

Only real downside was that I looked everywhere for this at retail ad could not find it. Such a good show needs to be available in stores as well as online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars kinda meh!, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Though I enjoyed this season...its incredibly lacking! OK if you like the spirits, magic and general lightness of the first saga then get ready to be let down. Its lacking very much in humor, only some episode will have 1 funny joke! The characters aren't as interesting as the original. Its kinda like a role reversal! If katara was the avatar, aang and zucko were brothers fighting over katara and if Toff was a middle aged woman...that's what you get! Oh and to top it all off..most of the old characters are dead. You see them in flash backs but that's it. I was not at all happy with that! Oh and the thing that annoyed me most of all, its set in a Tokyo style 1920's city...they hardly adventure even once out of it. It of course had its pros, I loved the new avatar animal, the fact the villain isn't the main saga villain, aangs grandchildren and the concept behind the new villain. But in general I was a little let down! Apparently the second series is based around the spirit world so i have high hopes for that at least...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - it's much better than expected, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
This series has as much to offer as the last series with avatar Aang, in my opinion. It's about Korra, the new avatar, how she goes to Republic city and fights a war against the extremists - people who are against bending, and their evil leader. Korra is strong, exciting, fun, and a little reckless sometimes, but her impulsiveness results in her making bad decisions. I loved the characters of Mako and Boelin, as they basically complete the story, but I found the fact that Korra was constantly getting beaten up a bit unrealistic, as she is the avatar. Tensin, Aang's son and Korra's mentor, was great and held Korra in check when she was being a bit stupid. The storyline was good, if a bit confusing at times, but I felt that it ended too soon. I can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An surprisingly interesting journey, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my sister, because she's a major fan of Avatar The Last Airbender. She was really sceptical about the Legend of Korra and she's told me that the story is really good and surprisingly enjoyable, but still not on par with Aang's adventure(but that series has actually ended so there's still a chance for Korra to get there!). My sister is still really hyped about the release of the second season. All in all it's only around 10 £ for ALL 12 episodes(unlike what the desribtion of the DVD says) so if you liked the Last Airbender you should try this out!

Thanks for reading, I hope it was helpful and enjoy watching the show :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably As Good As Legend Of Aang, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
I'm aware that some people are not as fond of Legend of Korra as they were of Legend Of Aang, but personally speaking I think this is a glorious series. Admittedly it has a different feel, with more of an emphasis on a city and social struggles rather than self-discovery, but I personally feel this series is as good as the original.
If you're unsure about the series I'd still say try this DVD, it's pretty cheap, especially considering what you get in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend of Korra Rocks!, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Clarke "Fatpie42" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend Of Korra: Book 1: Air (DVD)
As a follow-up to the widely revered "Avatar: The Last Airbender" series (not to be confused with the godawful Shyamalan movie), Legend of Korra has a rather more mature side to it. Also the 1920s setting allows for a very interesting and distinctive style which sets this apart from what we have seen before. Endlessly fun, beautifully animated and with wonderful characters, I love every bit of this series and cannot wait to see Book Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD]
Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] by Ki Hyun Ryu (DVD - 2013)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews