Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains ALL episodes!
I am such a huge fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender, so when I heard they were making a sequel of sorts, I was very excited. And I'm very pleased that after a year and a half since it was first shown on US TV, they have been able to release it over here (Not on Blu-ray sadly, but I'm nitpicking).

I should point out that according to Amazon, this DVD contains 6...
Published 10 months ago by Gbar123

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legend of Karra..
It is... different, Let's see how the series plays out, obviously a must buy if you've been following 'Avatar'.
Which clearly we have :)
Published 6 months ago by Mr BDO O'Connor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains ALL episodes!, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
I am such a huge fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender, so when I heard they were making a sequel of sorts, I was very excited. And I'm very pleased that after a year and a half since it was first shown on US TV, they have been able to release it over here (Not on Blu-ray sadly, but I'm nitpicking).

I should point out that according to Amazon, this DVD contains 6 episodes. But I'm pleased to say that it is infact a 2-disc set, containing ALL 12 episodes of the first season, which I was very happy to discover when I recieved this item today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price for such a high quality show., 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
As has been said by the other reviewers it was a nice surprise to find out that this was not Book 1 Air Volume 1 as Amazon had listed when I ordered, but rather the complete Book 1 Air set with all 12 episodes.

Not much needs to be said about the show itself, it quite honestly is one of the best shows on tv right now. Book 1 Air was a great start after a 4 year break after Book 3 of ATLA and now Book 2 Spirits is really showing this show's quality.
Considering that this Book is 8 less episodes than Book 1 and 2 of ATLA and 9 less than Book 3, it still manages to tell a deep, emotional yet action backed story.

The set is identical to the US DVD release, minus a few little things. The disks here are printed with images from the show while the US disks just say what the disk is and the US release DVD came with a cardboard sleeve over the case. Nothing huge.

There are a few extras and I was disappointed to see that with no UK/Irish Blu Ray release that they did not put all of the special features on this set.
There are episode commentaries from the cast and crew for:
K101 Welcome To Republic City with Mike and Bryan (Show creators) and Janet Varney (Voice of Korra)
K102 A Leaf In The Wind with the 3 above and David Faustino (Voice of Mako
K111 Skeletons In The Closet with Mike, Bryan and The Track Team (Music)
K112 Endgame with Mike, Bryan, Joachim Dos Santos (Executive producer) and Steve Blum (Voice of Amon)

And a short called "The Legend Of Puppetbender presents "The Making of a Legend: The Untold Story - Part 1""

The commentaries are great giving insight into how each episode came about with stories from production. I do wish they had included the commentaries for the other 8 episodes that were on the US Blu Ray release. That release also got some animatics of Mike and Bryan's favourite scenes. There is some very good stuff in the commentaries included on this UK set though, including a great story about how Nick were initially against the idea of Korra being a female main character, and how once they saw the show they actually did a complete 180 and ordered more episodes. Janet Varney then explains that it must have been Nickelodeon's Sexism department.

The puppetbender short on the other hand is not good at all. I like the puppets themselves as they really capture a unique take on the characters, but the voice acting, writing and "story" is just not good at all. It tries really hard to be funny, but just isn't, which I find hard to believe considering the puppetbender guys are members of the Avatar/Korra fandom so to see them go for a lot of fandom jokes and miss worse than Nickelodeon themselves when they try to copy them is bad. Add to that that this is not even a full short, for some reason they decided to make this a part 1, and the preview for Part 2 is nearly as long as Part 1 itself. It is just baffling. Thankfully it is just an extra, but considering that ATLA had Chibi shorts and web comics that were great, this is a huge step down.
Thankfully Book 2's dvd set should have the "Republic City Hustle" web series on it.

On the whole a great set especially for the 8 or so euros I got it for. An absolute bargain at that price.

Only real downside was that I looked everywhere for this at retail ad could not find it. Such a good show needs to be available in stores as well as online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, beautiful animation, beautiful soundtrack. Box of the dvd is beautifully presented., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Alright first of all,

If you haven't seen show - it is a masterpiece. I absolutely love it. Excellent story, beautiful animation, beautiful soundtrack.

If you have seen the show - condition of the box was perfect and it is beautifully presented.

IMPORTANT!

As of writing this review this item is 7 pounds. This is the price that was set when this was supposed to be only half the season. It is now the full season and the price has not changed. The american version is around 18 dollars -
SO YOU ARE GETTING IT HALF PRICE. BUY IT BEFORE THEY CHANGE IT! THIS SHOULD BE 14 POUNDS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent product and service. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Brenda E. Young (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kinda meh!, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Though I enjoyed this season...its incredibly lacking! OK if you like the spirits, magic and general lightness of the first saga then get ready to be let down. Its lacking very much in humor, only some episode will have 1 funny joke! The characters aren't as interesting as the original. Its kinda like a role reversal! If katara was the avatar, aang and zucko were brothers fighting over katara and if Toff was a middle aged woman...that's what you get! Oh and to top it all off..most of the old characters are dead. You see them in flash backs but that's it. I was not at all happy with that! Oh and the thing that annoyed me most of all, its set in a Tokyo style 1920's city...they hardly adventure even once out of it. It of course had its pros, I loved the new avatar animal, the fact the villain isn't the main saga villain, aangs grandchildren and the concept behind the new villain. But in general I was a little let down! Apparently the second series is based around the spirit world so i have high hopes for that at least...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to suit a fan ..., 12 Jun 2014
By 
C. Parker "stickgal" (North uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for a 13 year old who I had introduced to the first 'Legend of Aang' series and who watches these many times over....He adores this first series too and seems to not be bothered with the fact that it is a different series and is looking forward to the rest being brought out on dvd when ready
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Donna H. (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful animation and the characters are just as lovable and interesting as those from Avatar: the Last Airbender. The story is darker than ATLA, but is definitely a follow that has not disappointed.

Also, this DVD contains ALL episodes from season 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly one of the best on blu-ray and tv, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this show so much just like the original I can't get enough of this season 2 on blu-ray can't come fast enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent animated series, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] (DVD)
Very entertaining! Keeps you riveted to watch the next episode. Would definately recommend :-) Love all the characters and the storyline is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD]
Legend of Korra: Book One: Air [DVD] by Ki Hyun Ryu (DVD - 2013)
13.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews