Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!
I was at a Royal Southern Brotherhood gig last night (Under the Bridge, London, 25/9/13). We hadn't even been alerted to the likelihood of a 'support' act, and when a diminutive (and very attractive) blonde ambled on stage just by herself with her guitar, it took a while for everyone in the audience to become transfixed. A very SHORT while, actually, about 30 seconds at...
Published 15 months ago by S. Bowden

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My review
Sounds like a first album not quite there. Nothing too get excited about, nothing new. For me no, will be sat on shelf not getting played
Published 12 months ago by Steph Moore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 26 Sep 2013
By 
S. Bowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (Audio CD)
I was at a Royal Southern Brotherhood gig last night (Under the Bridge, London, 25/9/13). We hadn't even been alerted to the likelihood of a 'support' act, and when a diminutive (and very attractive) blonde ambled on stage just by herself with her guitar, it took a while for everyone in the audience to become transfixed. A very SHORT while, actually, about 30 seconds at most. She is an amazing talent, and to cut a long story short, I went home after an excellent gig (RSB were superb, by the way, and Samantha joined them on stage for the encores) proudly clutching a signed copy of her new album. Listening to it this afternoon for the first time, I'm extremely impressed.

24 hours ago I hadn't heard of this lass from Kansas City, now I am a committed fan. If like me you enjoy a bit of good ole' dirty southern blues-rock, you can't go wrong if you buy this album. Five stars for guts, raunchy sounds, and good-time rock 'n roll. Zito has captured her character and incredibly powerful guitar playing beautifully with his studio production of this collection of marvellous songs.

This is the real McCoy. The girl has b*lls, big time.

On first listen: 'Kick Around', 'Go to Hell' and the title track initially stand out for me. But no doubt with the many listens this album will get I will discover more delights.

BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Samantha Fish; Songwriter, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (Audio CD)
Wow, what a talent . Variety, style, panache. This album is a fantastic showcase for the artist, from gritty ballad,to smooth country, raw blues to raunchy rock this album has it all. I recommend this album to all who like their music with a blues/rock style all of their own. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Blues, 18 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (MP3 Download)
Samantha Fish was labelled with the 'girls with guitars label' this album proves she is so much more than this. All tracks are excellent and move through the various sub-genres of blues. I think this is a clever album it starts with a good track 'Miles to go' which pulls you into both the music and the vocals and then takes you on a journey. Tracks that I think need a mention are 'over you' a soulful piece of blues, 'let's have some fun' a raunchy vocal mixed with some excellent guitar work, the title track 'black wind howling' which is a slightly slower rock blues combination with an excellent of song and music followed by a final much lighter piece of work titled 'last September' where you are brought back through a blues country combination. A very good listen highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raunchy blues at is best, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (Audio CD)
If you liked the first album, you're going to love this. Listen out for the guitar solo in the title track. Buy it. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Wind Howlin', 9 Dec 2013
By 
J. R. Wilde "eclecticJez" (Herfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (Audio CD)
Sam Fish has a nice playing technique and a good voice which makes this a pretty good CD to put on every now and then - as a first album, this shows distinct promise for the future and for Sam as a songwriter. Sam Fish plays gutsy blues, gentle to near thrash rock and a nice slide guitar, all of which bodes well and I look forward to her next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black wind howlin, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Stuart (MILLOM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (Audio CD)
like many young rock and blues female performers they deserve more recognition from the industry and this is no exception. It is a great CD and I can not wait to see her on tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hit the mark, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (Audio CD)
This album is still better than her first solo, in my opinion, although both must belong to your "blues rock" collection. I really like her voice and the guitar playing is very impressive. SOngs are there too and she invited a few guest singers. If you are reading this, you know what to do: get it now, no risk involved - you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of blues rock, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (MP3 Download)
Not for the first time this year, I've made a fantastic music discovery via one of Amazon's recommendations; I knew I would be making a purchase as soon as I had finished listening to a couple of track samples. This album epitomizes catchy, tub thumping, dirty, `Deep South' guitar heavy southern blues. Sam Fish has an excellent, powerful rangy voice which easily switches between rock to soulful blues to a more mainstream ballad sound depending on the song. Cracking riffs abound. It is so difficult to pick out a favourite track for there is genuinely not a weak offering here. `Miles to Go' is particularly good, so is `Go to Hell' and `Lay it Down', is just superb in my view. I must also mention the nearly seven minute long title track `Black Wind Howlin', a rhythmic slow tempo grungy blues track with a couple of great guitar solos, which will have you running to your nearest air guitar shop for those of you who don't play the real thing. In terms of content and style, this album reminds me of elements of The Black Keys, ZZ Top, Joanne Shaw Taylor, Duffy, Alannah Myles and Sheryl Crow. If you like any of those artists, I'm pretty sure this album will appeal. It's certainly one of the best blues/rock albums that I've ever had the pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fish served up on a cd, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (Audio CD)
1st time I have heard her music - I am very impressed - really enjoyed the cd.

A good combination of blues rock songs. Vocal & guitar work go well together.
This lady can sing with some very fine playing - the Miles to go track is a stand out track for both. The rest of cd does not disappoint either.
If you like blues rock this is a very good cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars second album good as the first, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Wind Howlin' (MP3 Download)
In my consideration more great tracks from a major female blues player/songwriter and guitarist. Support this lady so we can hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Wind Howlin'
Black Wind Howlin' by Samantha Fish
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews