Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Wodehouse with busy template for future work
The Girl on the Boat is the story of Billie Bennett whose search for a Galahad or Lancelot lead her to be engaged to three men is three weeks much to the discord of her father. Her first suitor was Eustace Hignett who was discovered not to be of the round table order when he jilted Billie as his mother stole his trousers to prevent him leaving his room. Next up was Sam...
Published on 7 Oct. 2007 by Ian Wood, Author of 'Here's 2 ...

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING
Having read some works of Wodehosue I looked forward to this but oh dear what a boring book, It was lioke a stage play with six characters with a plot that got no where at all. I gave up.
Published 14 months ago by Rev. Thomas G. Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Wodehouse with busy template for future work, 7 Oct. 2007
The Girl on the Boat is the story of Billie Bennett whose search for a Galahad or Lancelot lead her to be engaged to three men is three weeks much to the discord of her father. Her first suitor was Eustace Hignett who was discovered not to be of the round table order when he jilted Billie as his mother stole his trousers to prevent him leaving his room. Next up was Sam Marlowe who it transpired was Billie's ideal, unfortunately she only realised this after a misunderstanding allowed her to break the engagement only to become engaged to Bream Mortimer to teach the unfortunate Marlowe a lesson.

The action moves from America via Ocean liner to English country home using all the Wodehouse signatures except a stolen necklace to bring Billie Bennett and Sam Marlowe back together. Possibly too much stage craft is employed by Wodehouse so we never spend enough time with any of the characters to decide what our true sentiments towards them are. Wodehouse possibly felt the same way and none of these characters appear in the saga running though his great body of work.

Not the most satisfying of Wodehouse's novels but a pretty good read and worth reading just to see how he would use less of the mechanisms employed in this novel to greater effect in later works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is entertaining but not Wodehouse at his best, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
A tale about a woman who serially breaks off her engagements. Funny, as all Wodehouse is, but lacking just a touch of the genius which he has shown elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Moon Insect (channel islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
Few slight racist comments because of the era it's set in but that aside the book itself is fun easy to read classic Wodehouse.. leaves you ready for a cooked breakfast 1920s style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's P. G. Woodehouse; need I say ..., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
It's P.G. Woodehouse; need I say more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
good read, interesting title from well know Author. Not the usual PG Wodehouse. I will keep on the lookout for similar titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anything he writes is magic, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
My Dad used to read P.G. before T.V. he would sit chuckling away to himself, I am now enjoying these books and understand my Dad's amusment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars BORING, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
Having read some works of Wodehosue I looked forward to this but oh dear what a boring book, It was lioke a stage play with six characters with a plot that got no where at all. I gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Woodhouse, 21 April 2014
By 
D. O. Hoare (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
The usual mix - this time several love struck men and one girl. No, two girls! A domineering father, confusion and misunderstood motives. A jolly romp and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable but not as good as other Wodehouse, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
Similar vein to Jeeves and Wooster but not in the same class. As usual some bits made me laugh at loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl on the Boat (Kindle Edition)
Humour, and command of the English language at its very finest. Stunningly creative imagination. Appealing to virtually all ages,delightfully comforting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl on the Boat
The Girl on the Boat by P. G. Wodehouse
£0.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews