Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album since Black and White, 45 years ago
Forget all the recent albums by Tony Joe, all in search of a new identity. This new album is back to his best. Starting with the first album I bought, Black and White, almost 45 years ago, I rate this as his best since. The crackle guitar, the fuzz, the well placed notes and that grumpy voice are all back. The bluesy beat; a bit country at times but without that...
Published 15 months ago by K. Jamal

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Time to retire!
His last 3 albums have been very Ho-hum so I won't be buying any more. Time to call it a day TJ.
Published 13 months ago by P. L. Wightman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album since Black and White, 45 years ago, 16 Sep 2013
By 
K. Jamal (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
Forget all the recent albums by Tony Joe, all in search of a new identity. This new album is back to his best. Starting with the first album I bought, Black and White, almost 45 years ago, I rate this as his best since. The crackle guitar, the fuzz, the well placed notes and that grumpy voice are all back. The bluesy beat; a bit country at times but without that unfortunate twang that is associated with country, his voice sounds hardly different from all those years ago. Perhaps a bit more introspective, somewhat softer and without the grunts he employed in his younger days. With JJ Cale gone, Tony Joe is king of rhythm and laid-back. He is back to story telling in his unique way. Swamp is back. Blues is back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of real class, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
I should declare an interest here: I am an absolute sucker for the kind of laid-back but solid bluesy sound Tony Joe White produces on this album. Even allowing for that, though, this is first-rate stuff. It is Delta Blues with a little boogie thrown in occasionally.

Tony Joe's guitar and voice have matured to a point where he has the confidence not to push anything too hard and just let it flow out without strain. The band are brilliant - robust but unforced and with a real solid beat, so the combination of them and Tony Joe is just brilliant.

I'd suggest that you listen to a few samples. I bet you'll love them if you have any interest at all in blues. This is a bit of real class and I recommend it very warmly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute class, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
Tony Joe White's latest album 'Hoodoo' is a total joy. Superbly performed and recorded it is one of his finest albums. Buy it now and just listen with a big smile on your face, wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laid back blues with a beat!, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
Had not heard this guy before seeing him on later with Jools on BBC a few weeks ago. Immediate fan. Bought this CD straight away and the "Uncovered" CD in order to get a version of Rainy Night In Georgia as close as possible to the one he did with Jools that night. Both albums for me have that uniqe ability to be both uplifting (because of the rhythm) and laid back (because of the voice and lyrics). Both are highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Man, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
I've always rather liked Tony Joe White but this album is something really special. Swampy, bluesy soul that sometimes makes you want to get up and dance (go on - no one is watching). The closest I can get to a description is John Lee Hooker playing with Buddy Guy or Eric Clapton (or even Dave Gilmour) - but definitely Tony Joe White.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coolest man alive!, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
Bought this album after his performance on 'Later'. I admit I'd never heard of Mr White before, checked the guide to see who was playing, billed as a blues legend, trawled you tube, and by the end of the program I'd ordered three albums. all brilliant. Really cool laid back blues, can't believe I was unaware of this guy for all these years. Spread the word, the man is a genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoodoo CD, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
Have been a fan of Tony Joe White since the early days and have enjoyed most of his music.
This is much the same trend of music - good swampy slide guitar & gravel voice.
Still enjoyed it and it's a great one for late nights - when the mood is right.
If you are just getting into T.J.W, then you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel The Swamp - Tony Joe is a `One-off`!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
I saw this guy in September at The Jazz Cafe in Camden - just him, his drummer and his `beatbox`, but what a sound! I have a lot of his albums; I just love his distinctive fuzzy, swampy sound. This is one of the best! Also try `The Beginning`, `Uncovered` and `Heroines`to get a real feel for what he`s all about. If this don`t turn you on - you ain`t got no switches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice laid back blues, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Tony Joe sounding much as he did in 1968 when I bought his first album.The production on this album is "muddier" than on his earlier recordings but it suits the style of swamp blues.A great album which sits very comfortably with my other laid back J J cale etc. section,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come-back, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo (Audio CD)
Have always loved tony's music and this is one of his best for many years. The voice may not be the same but the passion is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoodoo
Hoodoo by Tony Joe White (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews