Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Bujold Magic, 6 Feb 2004
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Paperback)
My first impressions of the cover and for that matter the title made me wonder if I was going to find that a book about Iselle's crazy mother as enjoyable as all her previous books. I really prefer si-fi but as loyal fan I bought it and as usual could not put it down until I finished it.
Although it is a sequel to the Curse of the Chalion, our heroine is Ista. It's her adventure with some old and some new characters and a happy ever after romantic ending. - Whenever has a Bujols book not left the reader satisfied with the outcome.
It would spoil it if I told you anything about the story but it's fantasy at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Demons in Chalion, 18 April 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Paperback)
One of Bujold's forays into fantasy, this couldn't be more unlike the Barrayar series, which is not to say that it's bad, just very different.
We first met Ista, the dowager Royina of Chalion in 'The Curse of Chalion', where she might have been mad, or she might just have been worried to death for the fate of her children.
With the Curse lifted, Ista's frenzied worrying is relieved, but she is still in Valenda and her family are still under the impression that she's crazy - she isn't, she's just bored.
After meeting and talking with the 'Wife of Bath's' Chalion double, Ista decides to go on a pilgrimage, with just a young divine of the Bastard's order and a messenger girl. Just a jaunt round a few holy places to blow the cobwebs out of her brain. (To quote one of Bujold's other books 'Met the Chance brothers lately? No and Fat'.).
Although this can be read as a stand alone story, reading the 'Curse of Chalion' first is a good introduction to the religion and characters in both books. Either, or both, are excellent, well plotted, well written, with plenty of excitement as well as some interesting philosopical musings. Highly recommemded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing theological fantasy-drama with strong, non-cliched female protagonist, 29 July 2013
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Kindle Edition)
Paladin of Souls, like most everything else Bujold has written, is superb. It is a book about thwarted expectations, both for the reader and the characters. For the reader, there are plenty of genre-savvy plot twists. For the characters, there are questions of how to go on living when life has brought bitterness, about what hope or love or destiny might be found in the middle of despair. As with The Curse of Chalion, the book has a fantastic protagonist and a great ensemble of secondary characters. It also has excellent pacing and theological sophistication. The "Bastard," one of the five gods of Chalion, seems to contribute to some of the best character moments in the book, often seeming like a character himself.

Paladin of Souls is a sequel to The Curse of Chalion in the sense that it follows that book chronologically, but it focuses on a different character as its protagonist, a character who gets relatively little attention in the first book but who opens up beautifully here. Before reading this, I would have said no if you'd asked me if I wanted to read a Chalion book that didn't have Cazaril as the main character. However, now that I've read this, I wouldn't want Paladin of Souls to be about anyone but Ista. She's amazing. Read this book and find out just how awesome a female protagonist can be when written as a complex, full-fledged person rather than just using the small palette that so many sub-par authors use when writing female characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow up, 25 Feb 2004
By 
Donald Macangus "sugnacum" (Livingston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Paperback)
I bought this as I really enjoyed the Curse of Chalion and this follow up did not disappoint. Minor characters from the first book take the limelight and provide us with an excellent story.
I enjoyed this and will buy any more in the series (if there are any!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written fantasy, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Kindle Edition)
Lois McMaster Bujold is a surprisingly good writer. Her books are well paced with engaging characters and plot twists to throw you off course. There is romance but no soppiness. And even though the Gods are on the side of the protagonists, you are made to feel that everything still hangs in the balance. The characters have surprising depths, mainly because of the consistent critical reflection that they bring to bear on themselves. Making the readers feel that the heroine is being unreasonably hard on herself is an astute way of gaining our sympathy. This was previously used to great effect in "The Curse of Chalion" and the writer's skills have not deserted her in this well crafted follow on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable second book in this trilogy, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Kindle Edition)
I am a massive fan but I have to admit I found this a bit dull. It lacked the strong central character of the first book. Also it had too little action and too much conversation. The characters just chat on and on and on. This is not a good substitute for a gripping plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Kindle Edition)
Slow start but nicely paced appropriate to the age of the heroine. Lovely balance of feminine, strong, intelligent. Imagine a heroine who didn't lose her wit in scenes with her romantic interest! But much more than a romance, a nice adventure. A touch less navel gazing and it would have been perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 95% as good as The Curse of Chalion, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Kindle Edition)
Which is high praise - TCOC is a real favourite of mine. This brings to the fore minor characters from the 1st book with new enemies and more intervention / interference by the Gods whose gifts are dangerous and onerous. How LMB keeps bringing this standard of book out is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars McMASTER craftsman, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Kindle Edition)
I have read and re-read this book and never tire of its ingeneous premis and sly wit. I always enjoy Lois McMaster Bujold's characterisations and the worlds's she creates and this is one of my favourite books. Who wouldnt want to live in a world where the Gods take such an active interest and even have a sense of fun. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book! read it., 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladin of Souls (Kindle Edition)
Paladin of souls is a wonderful book. Following on from the Curse of Chalion but with a different lead character in the form of Ista.
It helps to have read Chalion first but you can still get the plot. This book is very well written with characters you care about and if you want a fantasy a little different from a lot of books out there look no further. One of my favourite books and I read a lot of fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paladin of Souls
Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
£5.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews