Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The future laid out
Very good concept of how things could develop and the action to be taken. For me the assassin was silly with reminders of the Wild West. I believe the culture of the author as bled through into a believe plot line to the detriment of the story. Sorry author
Published 2 months ago by roger

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok story but several issues
First of all i do like the idea of an engineer being the hero and fixing the problems and this is an ok add on to the series so far - the world building is adequate to the story (though more fleshing out would be better eg Xenos - what are they?)however there are a few drawbacks

1. Editing - incorrect spellings/grammar on almost every page - i dont know who...
Published 8 months ago by Steve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok story but several issues, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague Planet (The Wandering Engineer) (Kindle Edition)
First of all i do like the idea of an engineer being the hero and fixing the problems and this is an ok add on to the series so far - the world building is adequate to the story (though more fleshing out would be better eg Xenos - what are they?)however there are a few drawbacks

1. Editing - incorrect spellings/grammar on almost every page - i dont know who proof reads these books but a 10 year old could do better - needs to be fixed
2. I saw a previous review where this issue was liked but i dont - the use of characters from popular culture as people in the story - i mean having reporters called Lois/Clark/Jimmy, a bad guy called Bane, Lucius Fox running a company in Gotham city, Boss Hogg and his sidekick Cletus etc etc etc - this ruins the story in my mind ok the author is trying to be funny - (i could accept the talk about the best mercenary company ever being the 'A' team as this could be amusing and explained in how history looks like to a post apocalyptic civilisation) but using comic book names as real names in the story - Nope dont like it and i hope that in the next book this is not done
3. Story not going anywhere fast - so this is the 4th book now (i think) and again the hero comes to a new location fixes things then leaves - again politics forces him to leave - does this 100 year old fleet admiral not learn - can we see some character growth and progression of the more interesting story lines eg the pirate empire, are the xenos still around, fedaration being built, some battles please.

Anyway this book is ok - its a big book so worth the money but start with the first and see if you like it and i hope that the author takes some of the above into consideration as it does have potential, though i feel that this book did not add anything to the story as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The future laid out, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague Planet (The Wandering Engineer) (Kindle Edition)
Very good concept of how things could develop and the action to be taken. For me the assassin was silly with reminders of the Wild West. I believe the culture of the author as bled through into a believe plot line to the detriment of the story. Sorry author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Becoming a little formulaic., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague Planet (The Wandering Engineer) (Kindle Edition)
Firstly, this series isn't bad.
As space opera goes, it's got a nice technical vibe going through it, and the AI characters are coming along nicely.
However, The names need to stop.
Seriously, it's starting to make me cringe.
Lois, Clark, and Jimmy, working for a Metropolis newspaper with an editor called Perry?
An industrialist in Gotham called Lucius Fox?
It was amusing at first, but now it's being overdone.
If the author can get over this little foible, I can see great things from this series.
Definitely worth a couple of quid for the book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague Planet (The Wandering Engineer) (Kindle Edition)
Great plot.
Great technical terminology - very believable.
Very poor punctuation making it difficult to read at times.
Value for money.
A bit of proof reading wouldn't go amiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Plague planet or Plagiarism planet, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague Planet (The Wandering Engineer) (Kindle Edition)
I thought the first book was quite good although the action was slow. The description of Tech was good but by the end repetitive, after the first explanation just say "He then explained it again to -------" and get on with the story, too much padding. The second and third books were much the same and all had little quips about famous figures / events and media, however, Plague planet was way over the top and I found myself flicking through pages on the Kindle to reach something new far too much. Another reviewer mentioned this and commented that it just comes across as Dorky! I refrain from labelling it myself but have to suggest that the author reads Terry Pratchet's books to see how it's done by a master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague Planet (The Wandering Engineer) (Kindle Edition)
I like all the 20th century quotes and characters that Chris slips into his books great job keep it up eagerly awaiting New books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d4c144)

This product

Only search this product's reviews