Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Briitish farce comedies ever
This 16 DVD set is the same set as the previous release with the same artwork. The only difference is the packaging. The box is much slimmer and stands upright. The discs themselves are exactly the same.
It is a fabulous set though. Here we get the complete nine series of the hit comedy all in one place. Allo Allo was such a fantastic comedy series with strong...
Published 10 months ago by Miss M. Potter

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor info
I have to agree with other reviews that the box set is a let-down as regards info. The Christmas 1991 Special should have been between Series 7 & 8, but was shoved on the end of Series 9. Without a listing of episodes, I thought this one had been missed, only to find it when I viewed the last disc. Other than that, it was great to actually see the whole series in proper...
Published on 19 May 2011 by b-man


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Briitish farce comedies ever, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allo 'Allo Complete Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
This 16 DVD set is the same set as the previous release with the same artwork. The only difference is the packaging. The box is much slimmer and stands upright. The discs themselves are exactly the same.
It is a fabulous set though. Here we get the complete nine series of the hit comedy all in one place. Allo Allo was such a fantastic comedy series with strong originality.

Rene Artois owns a café in a northern French town during world war two. Helping him is his wife Edith and shapely waitresses Yvette and Maria. Rene has to pander to the needs of the occupying German forces. And at the same time try to do his bit in helping allied air men evade capture.
This seems like yet another world war two series, but it is actually a great comedy dig at all of the over the top and over serious programmes on the subject.
The series has brilliant characters such as the Nazis Colonel Von Strohm, clumsy Captain Geering, gay Lt Gruber, limping Gestapo officer Herr Flick and his sidekick Von Smallhausen and of course Helga of whom Herr Flick makes kinky demands of affection.
The Germans should be predictably nasty evil bad guys but they are actually just the occupying force that are just as much loveable buffoons as the British or French. They are just great characters.

The café is also a safe house for two gormless British air men Fairfax and Carstairs who end up hiding in ridiculous places. These two are also buffoons with equally stereotyped World war two British accents and the series is a great send up.
The series is a farce and Rene is reluctant to help the air men but he is pushed on by the French resistance and the Resistance leader Michelle who offers one of the shows many catchphrases "Listen very carefully I will say this only once"
At the beginning of each episode Rene talks to camera (to us) updating us on the plot so far. The series acts like a continuing serial and the highly exaggerated plots include Rene coping with the airmen and being reluctant to sabotage the German efforts to steal a priceless painting known as the "Fallen Madonna with the big boobies" by Van Clomp.
Also present is the brilliant character inept British secret agent Officer Crabtree disguised as a Gendarme. He has a terrible understanding of the French Language that translates into a warped English with examples like "Good Moaning".
Around the central plot line there are other plots such as the steamy affairs between Rene, Yvette, Maria and Mimi. Also there is the so called death of Rene and Rene pretending to be his brother and then having to re marry Edith.
Other characters offer laughter such as Edith's Mother the bed ridden Fanny who often is out of bed and her beau, aging forger and resistance fighter Leclarc. Also there is the undertaker Monsieur Alphonse who has a "dicky ticker" and a "earse with a small orse".
There are long running jokes such as Edith's terrible singing that forces staff and customers to stuff their ears with cheese, Lt Gruber's advances to Rene and the secret radio to London hidden under Fanny's bed that Rene uses under the call sign Nighthawk. (the series got its name from the opening words of a call to London allo allo). Then there are the moments when Edith catches Rene in an uncompromising position with Yvette, Maria or Mimi which results in Rene saying "you stupid woman" and then in typical farce style coming up with an elaborate explanation as to why he has his arms around the waitresses.
The show has much innuendo and was criticised for bad taste in its innuendo and its use of the subject matter the Second world war. But the innuendo is funny and the humour is slapstick farce of the highest order. Also the show sends up over the top World war two dramas more than the cruelty of the war. It is a send up of all the typical aspects of the era and its subsequent endless serious based TV dramas on the subject. The British, the French and the Germans are all equally buffoons and they are all excellent characters. The show is particularly a send up of the earlier serious World war two drama Secret Army.

I love all the characters, even the Germans. the show is full of strong characterisations that make the show so memorable. The show is funny and entertaining and one of the best British comedies created by Jeremy Lloyd and David Croft.
The nine series over sixteen discs offers many episodes to get through and it is good throughout and never seems to get bad.
You cannot go wrong with this classic masterpiece of comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allo Allo is magnifique, 10 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching this as it was broadcast years ago and as I now live in France in an area with strong links to the resistance movement, it seemed appropriate to buy the DVDs. I was not disappointed. They have come out as fresh as if just made. The "fallen madonna with the big boobies", "Listen very carefully, I shall say this only once" and other catchphrases still make me laugh out loud. This was a great comedy series and every lover of comedies by David Croft and Jeremy Lloyd has to have this one. I shall watch it again and again and still be laughing for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor info, 19 May 2011
I have to agree with other reviews that the box set is a let-down as regards info. The Christmas 1991 Special should have been between Series 7 & 8, but was shoved on the end of Series 9. Without a listing of episodes, I thought this one had been missed, only to find it when I viewed the last disc. Other than that, it was great to actually see the whole series in proper order for the first time. It made the storylines a lot clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen Very Carefully, I Shall Say This Only Once...!, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mellow Yellow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Allo Allo was one of the greatest achievements for the writers David Croft and Jeremy Lloyd, who also bought us "Dads Army", "Hi De Hi", "You Rang M'Lord" & "Are You Being Served" - which if you like Allo Allo, you may want to try these series too.

Broadcast from 1982 to 1992 and after a whopping 85 episodes, Allo Allo is still a regular visitor on our TV screens with BBC1 still showing it every now and again!

During the 1970's the BBC made a fantastic war drama called "Secret Army" which showed a cafe owner in Belgium at the helm of a resistence group helping British and Allied airmen to escape back to Britain. This was a serious drama and was extremely popular even in the former occupied countries. It was this programme which inspired Allo Allo and gave the writers the idea of making a comical series about the war. They did this very succesfully with "Dads Army" in the 1960's when people were still affected by the war, but this time around they aimed at being less politcially correct!

The plot is ever so simple which is probably what makes it work, we follow the very strange life of Rene Artois a cafe owner in a small town in occupied France during World War 2. He lives with his tone deaf wife, her mother and two gorgeous waitress' with whom he is having an affair with, except no-one knows about the other!! He becomes unwittingly involved with helping the resistence fight the Germans and he also has to hide two British airmen in his cafe which is a hotspot for the local German Commander to visit!!! The Germans are shown to be completely incompetant which is hilarious!! the British are shown to have some wacky ideas, none of which really work and the French are portrayed as hapless locals who havent got a clue what they are doing!

The best thing about Allo Allo is that it was recently broadcast in Germany and it was a great success which goes to show how clever the writing was. It never offended anybody even though it was close at times!!

The down side is this poor boxset. It doesnt contain anything different to the individual series releases' and in fact the discs are the same but thrown together in very cheap cardboard sleeves and chucked into a display box which looks lovely until you look inside! Allo Allo, is one of our greatest sitcoms which is loved all around the world, particually in America and it should have had a proper boxset made with a booklet especially considering the RRP is 99.99!!

However, this should not put you off buying this set as the content alone is worth 5 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good show, ruined by box set, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am currently half way through box set and if it wasn't for the poor quality of the box set I would have given it 5. discs scratched, and what is really annoying episodes jumbled up, they are not in sequence. When putting the box set together they just mixed the episodes up, they are not shown in the order they were aired, and you get completely lost as to the plot. B.B.C. ruined a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will say this only once., 8 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. C. Edgecombe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great series with wonderful asides. If you missed it first time around, get it now and enjoy the ridculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best British comedies, 28 Dec 2009
By 
N. Popa - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lot of fun for family and friends. The situations and dialogues are brilliantly played. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series but poor box set really., 27 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly the show itself is 5 stars for sure, The box set here is at best 2 stars for the following reasons.

The show is amazing a true classic and worth its money, That's is not the issue at all.

The quality of the box is pretty poor and is basically just the previous single sets thrown together in a new red box. There is no information on each section in the box to say what discs are in them, Which just makes it feel cheap and lazy.

There are no extras despite the fact the US version gets lots of extras on it, Why we can not have them here is anyone's guess.

I would recommend buying this for the series as the show will for sure make you laugh, But do not expect anything more than the series because you will not be getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as funny as ever!!, 29 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
simply british sitcom at its best..... re-live all those rib aching jokes.
im half way through the collection and have enjoyed no end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allo Allo Complete Boxed Set, 14 Jan 2010
By 
David S. Holloway (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has always been one of my favourite programmes, so to have the whole series "on tap" is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Allo 'Allo Complete Boxset [DVD]
Allo 'Allo Complete Boxset [DVD] by Mike Stephens (DVD - 2013)
21.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews