Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fiat Punto of PCs
This PC is the Fiat Punto of computing. Inexpensive, small, quiet, energy efficient and will get you from A to B. Here is a summary of the most important specs:

Processor: At the core of this is an AMD A4-5000 APU. This processor is by no means a speed demon, and why would anyone expect it to be at this price point? It's actually an ultrabook processor designed...
Published 9 months ago by Nash

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Appalling support team are incompotent and useless!!
Very slow processor. If you have any problems the Acer support team will answer every question but the one you ask!!! Appalling support team are incompotent and useless!!!
Published 1 month ago by Noel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fiat Punto of PCs, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Nash (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
This PC is the Fiat Punto of computing. Inexpensive, small, quiet, energy efficient and will get you from A to B. Here is a summary of the most important specs:

Processor: At the core of this is an AMD A4-5000 APU. This processor is by no means a speed demon, and why would anyone expect it to be at this price point? It's actually an ultrabook processor designed to be energy efficient and enough for basic usage. Most people use their PC's for web and general productivity so this is actually adequate. You won't have any problems running Chrome, Spotify, Outlook and Word on this. Fun fact: This is the same line of processors used by the new PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

Graphics: This has an integrated Radeon HD 8330. Performance wise, this is similar to Intel's Ivy Bridge HD 4000. This will easily handle HD movies including YouTube videos at full quality 1080p as well as some light gaming. It won't run Crysis 3, but you'll easily get plenty of mileage from less demanding games.

Memory: The 4GB RAM you get is going to be enough for 90% of people. Unless if you have a lot of programs running with multiple tabs open at the same time (in which case, I suggest you seriously consider if you need to use a PC that way) then you won't max out the memory in the near future. 8GB is the "comfortable" amount for most though and upgrades are fairly inexpensive on sites like Crucial.

Form factor: This thing is slim and light. It takes up very little space. A prime candidate for a bedroom, small office or HTPC under your telly kind of setup that's easy to move around. The workmanship is pretty good with a clean lines and nice little extras like the card reader and front facing USB ports. Nothing special but good to have.

All in all, this is a charming little machine that will handle the basics without breaking the bank, making a dent in your electricity bill or using much leg space under the desk. I use this mostly as an HTPC and it works perfectly for my needs. If I could change anything, I would go for the slightly faster Pentium G2020 or core i5 just for future-proofing, but I really don't see myself needing the extra oomph for the next 3 years or so. At this price point I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we wanted, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Very happy with this. Brought it before Xmas as in the Black Friday sale. So at 250 it was a bargain. Other reviewers have not reviewed this actual item which comes with windows already preinstalled. So can't say if it's difficult to install an operating system as it was already there! Literally you can get it straight out the box and switch it on and it's ready.

We went from a from a very old (7years aprrox) windows xp machine to this. So might be slightly bias as to how good this is if you're used to a newer machine already. It has made a huge difference to the clarity of our monitor. It is so small and quite and amazing that you can now put it on the desk rather than having on the floor. It is noisy when you use the disc drive though.

Windows 8 I have got used to quite easily, it is different, but works well and gives you options. We upgraded to 8.1 pretty much as soon as we got it as that resolved some annoying navigation issues. I was worried that it was difficult to use after all the other reviews, but it makes sense and got loads of options for customisation to get it how you want.

Having the keyboard and mouse included was a bonus, we are using the keyboard as the extra buttons for windows are good to use and nice and compact keyboard. Now there is room for my cat to sit next to the keyboard without pressing loads of buttons! Haven't used the mouse as like the feel of my old mouse, but nice to have it as a spare.

Definitely recommend, even at the price it's currently at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pc...., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
This computer is everything i needed in a pc..ok its got windows 8 but to be fair it dosent take that long to get used to.then your left with a great computer...amazon get it right again..top notch....and nice one acer....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great computer, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I bought this desktop computer on a lightning deal and other than having difficulty finding the on/off button, I am well pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compter, 20 April 2014
By 
douglas R. White (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Excellent computer.
software:not keen on windows 8 as used to XP.However will get used to it .
not much choice as xp is no longer supported,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Desktop!!, 16 Mar 2014
By 
W. Tardy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Received this product in a timely manner then proceeded to connect it to existing devices. It's a wonderfully quiet and rapid computer. Windows 8 has been a new experience but after a day or so I was able to upload 8.1 and it is operating smoothly. The new OS will take some getting used to but the ACER is an excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Bought for our daughter to replace an old family computer. Very good value, quick and lots of memory and comes with wireless and usb 3 which was a nice surprise. And we like Windows 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Appalling support team are incompotent and useless!!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very slow processor. If you have any problems the Acer support team will answer every question but the one you ask!!! Appalling support team are incompotent and useless!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NICE ONE, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire XC-105 SFF Desktop PC (AMD A4 5000 1.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, LAN, WLAN, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
As a fairly new convert to Windows 8 from XP mastering it took a little time. I quickly got help and upgraded to Windows 8.1 and am slowly getting the hang of it. I did not find the instructions very informative and was disappointed that microsoft office did not come with the computer, but downloaded open office and this does the job. The computer is quick and silent. The box is small which will suit those with a small study. Overall I am pleased with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PC relacement, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good value for money what more can be said its either good or bad in this case it is very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews