Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the naysayers
Read the reviews and guessed that those with problems had maybe not followed the instructions properly. The longest part of setting it up was probably making sure I had removed all the blue packing tabs and the few beads of loose polystyrene balls. I followed the very straightforward instruction sheet and within a few minutes the printer was seen on my home network...
Published 12 months ago by Damgate

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed......and refunded
Ok so maybe I was unlucky but my short-lived experience of this printer forced me to request a refund & look at other manufacturers.

Setup was easy and all seemed ok for 2 whole days. The printer was sited in my upstairs office with my router at the front of the house downstairs, but the signal was 2-3 bars on the screen so all was fine.

A couple of...
Published 3 months ago by James Sheldon


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the naysayers, 16 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
Read the reviews and guessed that those with problems had maybe not followed the instructions properly. The longest part of setting it up was probably making sure I had removed all the blue packing tabs and the few beads of loose polystyrene balls. I followed the very straightforward instruction sheet and within a few minutes the printer was seen on my home network without the need of a USB cable at any time, also seen by the other computers on the network. Have successfully printed several pages from my iMac as well as done some test scans. Have also printed a test photo from my iPad. Perfectly acceptable as a home all-in-one machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
I must say im impressed with this printer love the app so u can print photos from your I pod or phone wi fi is great very happy with the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Small All-in-One Wi-Fi Printer/Copier/Scanner for Home Use, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Isabelle304 (Hove, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
Was looking for a wireless copier/printer/scanner to replace my old Brother All-in-One DCP-115C when the latter started to play up after 7-8 years of use.

Settled for the Epson XP-412 over the XP-312 simply because the touch panel on the 412 is larger (6.4cm - against the 312's 3.7cm) and thus easier to read for someone with failing eyesight such as me!

UNPACKING

It took me quite a while to remove all the packaging/polystyrene and bits of blue tape (this is not a complaint, just a statement).

LOOK & FEEL

My first thought on handling the printer is that it feels quite plasticky and flimsy compared to my old, solid Brother. This aside, I really like the look/external design of it but note that because it's black and shiny, it really shows up dust!

The paper feeding mechanism is quite noisy - each time the printer grabs a sheet of paper prior to printing, the noise startles me a little.

Also note that you can't have the back of the printer quite close to a wall/vertical surface, or the paper tray will keep folding back into the printer.

BASIC SET UP

It did not take very long at all to set up - for BASIC OPERATIONS - in that I did not even read any instructions, as I found it quite intuitive to just follow the steps on the touch panel. I was printing wirelessly both from my iMac and my Sony Vaio laptop within 5 mins.

MORE ADVANCED OPERATIONS

Working out how to scan wirelessly however, took a bit longer. It involved opening an account at epsonconnect.com and setting up an email address for the printer and/or linking the printer to cloud storage such as Google Drive or Dropbox etc.

It then took me a while longer to work out how to send documents from my Kindle Fire HD (1st generation) to the printer - I think this has more to do with the Kindle Fire itself than the printer (and I am told that printing from 2nd generation Kindle Fire tablets is now more straightforward). Basically I worked out I had to set up a Google Cloud Print account and register the printer on that account. All a bit of a faff - which also involved finding out the printer's IP address - but I can now print any documents I open on my Kindle Fire (via Dropbox/OfficeSuite/Adobe Reader).

Printer is now fully set up to do everything I might need from it. Still very early days but so far am fairly happy with my purchase. However, because of the cheap and flimsy feel of it and the fact that advanced set-up is not exactly user-friendly (very poor documentation so depending on how technical you are, you MIGHT need to do quite a bit of googling), I am giving it a 4 stars review rather than 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the negative reviews, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
H. Gale (Dalgety Bay, Fife,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
I read the reviews before I bought this so I was reluctant to buy it.

Now I say do not read those negative reviews they are absolute rubbish

I knew I wanted an epson and in this price range because I had stupidly bought a kodak which was absolute pants. It didn't air print documents despite what it said. It needed an app fir photos and the printing was below standard

When I got this I expected documentation on how to set up absolutely NONE I was gobsmacked❣
BUT
it was sooo simple to set up the LCD screen, touch-panel guides you through simply and easily.

It's not too heavy though it looks it and it prints like a DREAM. The test page was amazing as was my documents I printed. Very clear very precise № smudging. Oh it was so nice to come back to epson. I will never EVER stray again. Not only that though epson are expensive ink you can get compatible but I find cheap ones sometimes works out the same as needs a lot of cleaning and misaligns quite a lot.

AirPrint from my iphone is also a doddle only thing is it takes a few searches to find each time after that soooo quick it's a dream. It's also not as noisy as I remembered epsons to be.

I would definitely recommend and despite № set up docs it warrants 5 stars.
I think even though a home all-I'm-one it would still do a small business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epson printer, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
The printer arrived a day earlier than expected, took half an hour to set up and has easily performed every task I have asked from it. I have only ever used Epson printers for my home printing and am glad I made this one my next choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent entry level AIO printer..., 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
Figured I would write a review, mainly to counter some of the negative ones given below, as this printer does not deserve it's current low rating. I have only set it up and used it for a few hours, so 4 stars is for that bit, and not the longevity/reliability of the printer. I will come back and edit after a few months to add those bits in.

The good:

Set up was straight forward, and my Macbook Air running Mavericks, found and started printer over the network just fine once the password for the WLAN (WPA2) had been entered.

The ability to scan a document and have it sent to your dropbox/gdrive, evernote or nominated email address is very handy. Although, those with privacy concerns might balk at giving Epson full read access over their cloud based accounts. As with anything, it's the price for convenience, and chances are the NSA already know what you're up to via your webcam ;o)

Once you register with Epson Connect your printer will be assigned a email address, so you can now email a document to the printer from anywhere and have it print.

Being able to set custom sleep/power down schedules via the printer is a good option for those who only print occasionally.

The bad:

The documentation that comes with the printer is pretty sparse/rubbish. If this printer had been ordered by my 60yr old Mum, then it would currently be sitting in the bin, or at the very least being used via a USB cable only as a regular printer. The 412 has some great features, but they really need to be documented better, especially registering the printer for the Epson Connect account*. Being a relatively IT literate person I managed ok, but I honestly think Joe Public might struggle getting the most from the printer.

I do wish you could set the printer to default print in B+W, as opposed to via the source device. This is not a major issue, but as I only ever use B+W, then it seems a waste to have to have to install the colour carts when I have no plan on using them.

The indifferent:

Not one to print photos, so have not tried out any of those functions.

Oh, and just in case anyone was wondering, this is a printer for the home. Not a workplace. The clue is in the title. The Epson small office range is the WF (workforce) ones. Hopefully the reviewer below has realised this by now. Although how he managed to get 10-15 minute print times is anyones guess, as I never found this to be the case.

*Find out the local IP your printer is on, either via the wireless setup on the printer or your routers attached devices page, usual IP will be 192.168.0.xxx or 192.168.1.xxx, depending on your router, and connect via your web browser. Here you have options to update firmware, set up the Epson Account and a few other bits and pieces. You do not need to install any software like the quickstart guide mentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect printing, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
Bought as a present for my daughter doing her A-Levels ink is good quality and prints pictures perfectly. Easy to install, up and running in a few minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Express yourself (in printed form anyway), 8 May 2014
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
I bought one of these to replace a broken HP Photosmart all-in-one. I’ve never owned an Epson before, but having had enough of HP’s questionable reliability I thought it was time for a change.

The XP-412 has a small footprint, and is nice and light. Despite the relative lack of weight, it generally feels sturdy enough. The paper guides and output tray are a little flimsy, but that’s hardly shocking at this price.

Installing the cartridges was simple, and the including disc takes you through set-up and automatically downloads and installs the latest drivers. I connected to my wi-fi straight away, and did so from the printer’s front panel. As long as you know the name of your network and its password, it’s very simple.

I’ve tried photos and regular printing so far, and both come out very nicely. It isn’t super quick, but it’s quick enough and not horrifically noisy. Time will tell how quickly I go through ink, certainly the included cartridges aren’t designed to last too long. Epson include a ‘Photo Print’ app, which can be used for that very purpose and allows you to crop to fit paper, move the photo around when cropping and so on. It’s a useful little tool.

I haven’t tried connecting to my iPhone or Android tablet yet, as it wasn’t what I bought the machine for. But connectivity to my Windows PC via wi-fi was easy. The printer’s front panel is clear and bright, with the touch controls being very responsive. Running a copy or photo print direct from that interface works nicely.

Scanning results are OK, not blinding but good enough and Epson have at least included a few tools to adjust your scans when viewing them from your computer.

I don’t think you can go wrong for this price. Print quality is excellent, it’s easy to set up and just as easy to use, and configuration in Windows is straightforward. The drivers and settings are clear and concise and so far I’ve had no problems with operation at all. Well worth a look if you are looking for an affordable, but decent quality, all-in-one device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big Epson fan, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
I have always had Epson printers as they work well, give good quality print and the ink cartridges are considerably cheaper than other brands. I bought this printer to replace an Epson 425 RX which I have had for more years than I can remember. I only really changed it because I wanted the 'wi-fi' option for better convenience.This replacement is as good as my old one and my daughters Epson 4000DX. It is compact, printed photo's of good quality and was a decent price from Amazon. It is easy to operate and setting up the wi-fi was a doddle. I haven't tried the other mobile printing options like printing from the tablet, smartphone or e-mail yet but I'm confident these will be easy too. I have now ordered a second one for my daughter to replace her DX4000. As a note of interest, my son has one of these printers also. We are all pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A printer whose size is small but does so much, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epson Expression Home XP-412 Small-in-One Printer with Wi-Fi Direct and 6.4cm LCD Screen (Accessory)
My partner's old printer finally decided to die, and rather than spend money on trying to have it repaired I decided to buy her a new one for a Christmas present, even though it would be used before then.
After researching about printers, and as to how easy they were to use, and also their cost, I chose this printer as my partner sometimes has problems dealing with modern day technological advances in PC's and their ancillary items. And on setting the printer up she soon found that instead of having to connect her laptop to the printer by a cable that she could now use its Wi-Fi facility to print out whatever she wanted from anywhere in the house. She even found that the printer was cheaper to use as instead of a single multi-colour cartridge, which when one of the colours ran out and a new cartridge had to be used, that she now only needs to replace whichever of the four colours has run out of ink.
I also benefit from the new printer as I do lots of military research work and associated data logging plus printing out information for use down at my local heritage centre, where I am the military advisor, plus where my weapons collection and other items go on display each year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews