Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fun rock album in ages
With 'Spirit' Reckless Love have created their best record yet. Start to finish the album is filled with energy, joy, catchy choruses and infectious guitar play. The quality of the songwriting has improved and is more consistent than on their previous two albums - there really isn't a bad song on this one.
Tracks like 'Night on Fire, 'Bad Lovin' and 'Sex, Drugs &...
Published 20 months ago by Zizix Road

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Simply put about this album is.. a let down.. there 1st album 'Reckless Love' was brilliant fresh new and exciting. this was lost in the follow up but this was a let down

The album feels generally like it was rushed, yes it does sound like the 80's but sorry guys they've simply ripped off so many songs on this album. Night Is On Fire > Shakira - Whenever...
Published 20 months ago by Smudger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars There for Three, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
The third album, from the merry metal heads gives us more sing along's and just makes you smile from ear to ear. The future is bright for Reckless Love..... catch them on tour in place near you soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a hattrick!, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
Finnish rockers, Reckless Love, fail not to impress with yet another stonking album full of merry metal mayhem and delight. Just as with all their other efforts, something slightly different was put into this album, to show they are evolving as a band.

Instead of me boring you all with a long drawn out review, I shall no longer waste time you'd find better spent purchasing this album and enjoying the fantastic ride.

Highlights for me were the lead single, "Night On Fire", superb ballad "Edge Of Our Dreams" and the rip roaring "Metal Ass" which shows the band's diversity. Why are you still reading this?! GO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome album!, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Tim Chinchen "Tim Chinchen" (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spirit (UK) (MP3 Download)
Reckless Love keep delivering, they continue to make music that's both familiar and yet sounds fresh - (even better than those regrouped bands that try to recapture the old formula!). Night on Fire is a major crowd pleaser and a great opener, Bad Lovin continues the quality. You can't fail to smile throughout "I love heavy metal" and their Purple Rain moment in Hot Rain. Hopefully this album takes them to the big time they deserve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit (UK) (MP3 Download)
Possibly their best album to date! If you love 80's hair metal then you're going to love this! Totally brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Attitude And SPIRIT Of The Heavy Metal Music We All Grew Up Listening To, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
I Love Heavy Metal
I Can't Get Enough. Can't Get Enough ...
Yes that's the Spirit.

We all headbangers fancied the pictures of a skull and devil horns to appear on the cassettes/CDs we owned and the black tee shirts we wore in our teens. Still we don't know why. The art cover featuring two pairs of vivid colourful tribal masks or face paints that look like skulls is what enticed me to buying the physical CD of this Reckless Love's third album and not just download MP3s. A handful of good bands like Airbourne, Steel Panther, Crashdiet, Alter Bridge, Reckless Love and few others are here amidst the new generation of 21st century trying to get the sound of the 80s/early 90s heavy metal. Reckless Love's debut self titled album Reckless Love and the follow up Animal Attraction were just good or OK I thought. But this 'Spirit' turns out to have extra special ingredients in it.

The band has presented this album so cleverly and creatively (or maybe subconsciously) that the guitar riffs, the rhythms and beats of a song, the chord progressions or the vocal line in choruses and verses, one or the other stand out as a strong reminder of some famous songs of the genre from the 80s/early 90s. For instance, at the intro of the opener 'Night On Fire', I thought Aerosmith's 'Eat The Rich' will start. The mid eight interlude section in 'I Love Heavy Metal' sounds similar to the one from 'Love In An Elevator' by Aerosmith. Riff of 'Favorite Flavor' immediately reminded me of 'Armed And Ready' by MSG and 'I'll Take You Alive' by Twisted SIster. The first verse in 'Sex, Drugs And Reckless Love' I thought they were gonna sing 'Knee Deep In The Hoopla ...' by Starship. On the same song's chorus, you can sing along 'It's A Crazy, Crazy, Crazy, Crazy Nights' by Kiss. The riff in 'Dying To Live' is very much like 'Gods Of War' by Def Leppard. Quiet Riot did 'Metal Heart' and these four awesome guys from Finland are doing 'Metal Ass'. The guitar tone of 'Runaway Love' gives an impression as if Eddie Van Halen is playing 'Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love'. Last but not least, vocal line on the verse of 'Hot Rain' goes along with outro of 'Purple Rain' by Prince.

Don't get me wrong. This is neither my criticism on the band nor research on the album. I didn't do any homework here. This is how I instantly and honestly felt as I played along 'Spirit' from the first play. This maybe only my assumption. Thousands of good songs in the market of course do sound like one another. This album is so very well created and crafted by the band members as well as the producers Ilkka Wirtanen. Listeners can easily and memorably hum along anthems which are obviously targeted for the concert audience. 'Na Na Na Na! Whoa! Yeah!' etc. A replica of 80s/early 90s heavy metal that we all grew up listening to. Heavy and tight bass and drums and guitar from top to bottom. On top of everything, Olli Herman sounds so much like Ted Poley of Danger Danger. Such a beautiful, high pitched, melodious voice he has. I find a lot of Danger Danger, Motley Crue, Def Leppard all over the place. And for being able to play guitar myself, I can say Pepe Salohalme can really rock. \,,/, Simply, I love this album so much that made me love this band Reckless Love like I loved my heavy metal heroes which are all mentioned in 'I Love Heavy Metal', the third track that says it all about this band.

Have A Lot Of Sex, Little Drugs And Reckless Love!
Rock 'N' Roll \,,/,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best 3rd RL instalment!, 13 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
Just a fantastic 3rd release! Long live Reckless Love! We are here to follow and support you my wife and me! J Counsell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
Brilliant, takes me back to the era of 80s rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!!, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
V. Chasirtzoglou "Heavy Paradise" (kavala, GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
Album number three for this super-cool sleaze hard band! "Spirit" is titled the new Reckless Love release and once again the guys are delivering some really impressive and ultra catchy tunes which are gonna rock our world!

If you are into the 80's, early 90's, hair metal/glam/sleaze metal sound then look no further; "Spirit" will grab you from the first spin and will leave you hungry for more! Big hooks and 'clever' choruses to sing-a-long for days, an amazing guitar work, sleaze vocals but most of all an 80's hair metal air are things that you will hear in Reckless Love's new work. They achieve to reveal the sound of the glory days of this music in such a great way that makes this cd a must purchase for every single fan of this genre. "Night Of Fire", the opening track, seems to be the perfect appetizer of what' coming-up next. Catchy, bombastic and a future classic! So simple!! "Bad Lovin'" is funny, it has an amazing chorus line and it seems like a leftover of any of Motley Crue's earlier works.

"I Love Heavy Metal" pays respects to the hair metal scene of the 80's while "Favorite Flavor" is another classic Reckless Love tune. The "Edge Of Your Dreams" adds some modern Def Leppard elements here and "Sex, Drugs & Reckless Love" will make you shake and tumble! Yes, this is another up-tempo rhythmic rocker with a monstrous chorus line. "Dying To Live" is a good one while on "Metal Ass" the band is movin' to some heavier paths. This is probably the heaviest tune that this band has ever recorded!! Listen to this one on maximum volume!! "Runaway Love" is a typical Reckless Love song, "So Happy I Could Die" is built for arenas and finally the power ballad "Hot Rain" closes this album in an old-fashion way.

I loved every single minute of "Spirit"! It's all about pure rock 'n' roll stuff with catchy songs, powerful performances, a solid production, beautiful melodies and the right attitude!!! Well done boys!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
Not as good as the debut but a fine CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit (Audio CD)
Enjoying listening to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spirit
Spirit by Reckless Love (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews