Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Glasgow to Hammersmith...
.. as much as it pains me to say it,the crown has moved,for many a year STATUS QUO LIVE from the Glasgow Apollo has been the jewel in the crown,my CD from the recent Frantic Four gig at the O2 academy, Glasgow,2013 ran it close,this however,well it eclipses it and i dont say that lightly.

From start to finish the band are on top form and the crowd just...
Published 12 months ago by Mr Blackwell

versus
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars F4 2 The return.
I can't say I agree with most reviews here...Sadly! I have all the respect for the classic Quo line-up, and frankly I was quite exciting to get a brand new Live of that fabulous rock'n'roll machine.
Sadly, and again with all due respect to the members, it is quite hard and painful to listen to most of the songs on the cd's. The age of the musicians is probably one of...
Published 12 months ago by Phil On


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Glasgow to Hammersmith..., 1 Oct 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
.. as much as it pains me to say it,the crown has moved,for many a year STATUS QUO LIVE from the Glasgow Apollo has been the jewel in the crown,my CD from the recent Frantic Four gig at the O2 academy, Glasgow,2013 ran it close,this however,well it eclipses it and i dont say that lightly.

From start to finish the band are on top form and the crowd just carries them forward,levelling everything in their way.The raw emotion from the fans just flowing from the speakers,the hair tingling reaction to Rossi introducing Lancaster and Coghlan,gets me everytime.

Yes there are a few bum notes here and there,its live ,what do you expect,this is a stunning album,compiled from the 2 Hammersmith gigs, captured forever for the fans.The set list is superb,the majority of the tracks were found on the original 'Live' album but its the little nuggets,rarely ,if ever played, from the past that stand out,listen to the groove on 'April,Spring,Summer & Wednesday,the blues of 'Railroad',the classic album tracks 'Oh Baby' and 'Blue Eyed Lady' and you cant possibly not warm to the crowd sing along on 'Most Of The Time'.

Live album of the year,absolutely, i cant recommend this high enough.5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frantic (slightly), 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
Great to hear the Frantic Four back together again! all be it with slightly less franticness than the original 1976 Live album.
Rossi's comments about the band being slightly under rehearsed are true, but the atmosphere at the reunion gigs was amazing, with the Hammersmith crowds here belting out every word and riff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last Quo are back, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
A fantastic album loved it all, hard and rocking. How could this band that can do this once degrade themselves to the VERY awful Coronation street dross programme, adverts and a rather embarrassing film ! This is where Quo are at. I look forward to getting the DVD now too !!!!!! More of this Quo no need for stupid things anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Frantic Four Are Back!, 2 Nov 2013
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Status Quo have always been a great live act and this line-up was the one that cemented their reputation as a serious rock band. They were classed alongside Thin Lizzy, Rory Gallagher, SAHB, Free, and other august rock company in the '70s. It was therefore a wonderful surprise to see that these four had decided to get back together and do some gigs. This Hammersmith date was one of the best and, as you can hear from the crowd reaction, they played up a storm. These guys play really well together and their music seems a lot more substantial than the other line-ups. The setlist sensibly concentrates on album classics rather than hit singles (although 'Down Down' does make a welcome appearance). This is is good live album and Quo fans will be delighted. Other rock fans should be too. 'Roadhouse Blues' is not to be missed! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just basic good rock, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
I'm no die-hard Quo-fan to begin with. But I knew from way back in the 70s and 80's that they 'had some good songs'... But my brother-in-law in Norway had talked me into going a concert with the five-piece 'New Quo' in my hometown in Oslo, Norway some 5-7 years ago. And that was worth the money and the time - and the 30 minute trip by car.

But this time he was rather on fire about the frantic four reunion. Again i came along for the ride - and some more good songs. And again it was worth the time (two and a half day) and the money (altogether about £ 3-400) and the ride three plane rides ( via Copenhagen to Manchester coming in, six hours waiting in Copenhagen), hotel, walks to and from the Apollo queuing in the rain etc. etc.) - Coz the concert with the frantic four was just great rock music. Thanx guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Status Quo - the best, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great cd with all my old favourites. Good to hear them back together again, voices change over the years, but they still sound good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Frantic Four except no other., 2 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
For many fans of the band known as Status Quo this is the return of the definitive lineup of the band. A great rock band rather than the later version that chased the pop single market leading to the end of True Status Quo in 1981.
The band continue today but its a shadow of the True Frantic Four.
No crappy keyboards just a rock band. This is the remixed version of the highlights from the two nights at Hammersmith.
For fans of the band it's an electric recording. From set opener Juniors wailing to restored set closer Bye bye Johnny the number one rock n roll band in the land has returned. Previously unheard live songs mixed with classic live songs.
It's an absolute pleasure to listen to.
Is there a better way... I don't think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you could ask for., 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
There cant' be a Quo fan out there who hasn't been waiting for this for 30 years. With only one double live album from 1977 and the inexplicable lack of any release of the End of the Road stuff from 1984, it's been slim pickings as far as live albums go from the classic Quo. Well this takes care of some of that ( I want the '84 stuff issued, NOW! ) and in fine style. The band are in fine form and set list is outstanding, although no Roll over or Caroline, that was unexpected, but if it allows for lost classics like April and Oh Baby to be in the set, that's fine by me. A fine live album from one of the greatest rock bands of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still on song, 2 Jan 2014
By 
J. R. Martin "John Martin" (Leicester,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
There is no band quite like Status Quo for getting the audience on their feet, and this cd showcases why that is. Full of classics from their 70s heyday it is great to hear the famous four back together, still rockin' after all these years. There are a couple of minor quibbles, especially over the vocals, but overall it's a fine set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 (Audio CD)
It's been 30 years, but it was like they never went away. The crowd reaction when Alan and John are introduced says it all - welcome back!! The whole album is a celebration of the great music that the Frantic Four made together. The energy from the crowd makes you feel that you are at the concert with them and makes this album really special. A must buy for any Quo fan or for anyone who hasn't been to a Quo concert and wants to experience the joy of being at one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Frantic Four Reunion 2013
The Frantic Four Reunion 2013 by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews