Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Falling forwards
'Fall Back', a single released in January this year, is the highlight of the eponymous debut album by London trio Factory Floor. It uses the unique vocals/guitar-synthesisers-drumkit instrumentation of the group at its most democratic and effective and is peppered throughout with a delightful array of weird and wonderful sounds. Somehow the song manages to be so ascetic...
Published 11 months ago by A. R. Forbes

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Turn It Up (Off)
When there's so much excellent, crepuscular, forward-looking techno available, Factory Floor's decision to jettison the discordant invention of their earlier productions & release a debut l.p. that frequently sounds like tepid leftovers from Underworld's Beaucoup Fish seems faintly ludicrous.

This isn't a terrible album, just a very underwhelming one...
Published 12 months ago by Rooksby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Falling forwards, 30 Sep 2013
By 
A. R. Forbes "gforbes" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
'Fall Back', a single released in January this year, is the highlight of the eponymous debut album by London trio Factory Floor. It uses the unique vocals/guitar-synthesisers-drumkit instrumentation of the group at its most democratic and effective and is peppered throughout with a delightful array of weird and wonderful sounds. Somehow the song manages to be so ascetic and yet so wild: it is a great success, whether intended for the dance floor or for focussed listening.

The first Factory Floor LP has been dogged by extreme anticipation in the four year period following their 'Lying'/'A Wooden Box' EP: as a result, the majority of critic and fan reviews have approached the new material in a retrospective manner. The sound elements of their initial style included monochrome synth ostinati, pin-precision drumkit patterns and delectable swathes of guitar or crash cymbal noise. The vocals, deadpan and frequently indistinct, had a certain naïve poetry with rhyming couplets and simplified cadences.

With the new album comes a greatly increased colour palette, especially in the percussive domain: now there is a range of electronic drum sounds including 808 samples, synthetic bongos and something sounding like metallic tins. These join the newfound variety of synth loops. 'How You Say' is based on bursts of stuttering static, on top of which Nik Colk Void produces brief build-ups of manipulated voice. 'Here Again', the most satisfying new track on the album, combines layers of syncopated raw electronic tones with washes of Ibiza-esque vocal phrases. In a general sense, however, the main change in the Factory Floor aesthetic is from dark industrial techno to something existing in the limbo space between various electronic dance styles.

This is completely understandable, bearing in mind the musical restrictions of their early work, but there are without doubt some slight disappointments, whether viewed from the perspective of a newcomer or a long-time fan. For sure, the uncompromising sound and nature of their industrial/post-punk roots has been somewhat compromised. Other than 'Fall Back' and 'Two Different Ways' (also released as a single), the album is mostly comprised of instant-gratification grooves with little structural interest and the noise and experimental elements are unfortunately banished to three short filler tracks. 'Work Out' and 'Breathe In' are the weakest cuts, but Factory Floor's basic musical ideology is strong enough to make the album a worthwhile listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fearsome unrelenting post-techno music, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
This LP has received some tentative/lukewarm reviews in some quarters. Perhaps that's not surprising as it's not a particularly easy listen and not something you can just stick on in the background. Yuppies expecting some sort of tell-your-friends-about-Mercury-prize-nomination-type record are coming at this from completely the wrong angle. Nothing against yuppies but "Factory Floor" is something of a musicologist's record. Leave your pretensions at the door because this is the sort of music that needs a little figuring out: along the lines of - what on earth possessed somebody to make this; where the hell did it come from? The same sort of figuring out that I recall having to do on hearing post-Hannett New Order (the NO song "Hurt" in particular) or THE KEY OF DREAMS + SINGLES-era Section 25.

As a full album experience Factory Floor is quite a difficult proposition - it just doesn't let up. After all, what sort of mood does one have to be in to listen to this sort of music? It doesn't really seem to fit any particular mood other than one which says "let's play a good old racket". It is a dance record of sorts, but this has more in common with PIL and Cabaret Voltaire than it has with, say, Derrick May or Carl Craig. That's not to say it's retro, because it isn't. As I said in the review title I would call this post-techno - imagine Robert Hood's equally unrelenting Internal Empire played with real instruments and you're maybe about 3/4 of the way there. This is music to shake those (i.e. me) who have been listening to too much chill-wave out of their state of torpor.

Whilst the record has its critics who are both right and wrong, I just love the way it has absorbed its influences and at the same time looks to the future. I strongly suspect that there is much more good stuff to come from its makers and that this may be just be the beginning.

A post-Techno classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect..., 28 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
Teetering on a precipice, pushing, forward. Almost climatic, never cheesy, constantly driving... and extremely danceable. Delicate and well designed delay and reverb ride the pulses over a distant colossal psychedelic spiral. Ominous voices, distorted guitar, echo echo echo. Live drums and drum machines vie for top billing, but the synth pulses and stabs lead the way. This is twenty first century Chris & Cosey. This is too much fun to miss out on. This is too much fun to miss out on. This is too much fun to miss out on... and what a live band too!! I’m in love : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the albums of the year, 22 Sep 2013
By 
B Keeler "velocirapta" (South Coast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
Clearly this was always going to be a Marmite sound. It's not populist commercially-oriented guitar music nor is it club-leaning straightforward techno. It definitely settles into an analogue techno formula but with a stripped-back, rhythm driven ethos giving it some momentum throughout the album. In fact, it's one of the few techno-inspired albums I haven't got bored of about half-way through. The vocals are reminiscent of Liquid Liquid or something similar (though even more distant, and a more feminine tone), and they certainly fill the void in DFA that was missing when LCD Soundsystem wisely decided to finish things a few years ago. Great album, and as I said in the title of this review, one of the best this year - only bettered, in my opinion, by Boards of Canada, Quasimoto, My Bloody Valentine, Toro Y Moi and Darkstar. A decent British band that embrace electronic music inherently, and have been building to this point for years now - and it pays off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere around 1988 or a Plasticman inspired album?, 12 Mar 2014
By 
D. Oliver "Gamer" (planet rock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
I'm 49years old, I'm a white-boy-punk-raver. I love acid house, techno, glitch etc.... I bought this cd on a whim not the hype, I mainly bought it because DFA records seem to sign decent talent.

So, on listening to this:
First off, it doesn't work well as an album. It's more like 2 x 12"s or a 4 part album. If this band is going to go further they need to figure out how to make an album, one that flows and works as a beginning to end experience.

Secondly: sound wise it seems to come/fit in with a time period around 1988. A time when acid-house was being birthed, a time when punks were picking up synths & new musical frontiers from all these elements were being born.
If I had to liken it to anything it would be Richie Hawtin's Plasticman experiments but with post-punk vocals (check out compilation cds like Muttazione: synths meets post punk from Italy 1980-1988)

As a whole I liked it, not enough for 5 stars because some of the vocals on certain tracks are not needed (the last 2 album tracks: Work Out & Breathe In in particular.)

Otherwise a good album. Definitely not everyones cup of tea though. It's not hip indie, it's dance but 1988 retro & therefore will be misunderstood by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Age does not make a difference., 8 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. G. Blair (haydock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
I had bought the 12" and imported a cd from the USA. Really like this band and looking forward to seeing them in Dec. Would have ben 5 stars but i have already a few tracks of it. This is from an old git in his 50's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Turn It Up (Off), 16 Sep 2013
By 
Rooksby (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
When there's so much excellent, crepuscular, forward-looking techno available, Factory Floor's decision to jettison the discordant invention of their earlier productions & release a debut l.p. that frequently sounds like tepid leftovers from Underworld's Beaucoup Fish seems faintly ludicrous.

This isn't a terrible album, just a very underwhelming one. Disappointing, to say the least.

Try Sandwell District, Marcel Dettmann, SIlent Servant, Cosmin TRG, or Marcel Fengler instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
After all the hype I thought I must give this a go because on paper it sounded like just my cup of tea. But it's distinctly average. I've seen it described in various quarters as 'challenging', often with the implication that only those with adventurous tastes will like it.In fact I found it pretty trite; glib and cliched, and the old skool references are too cool for its own good. I might give it another listen,just to be sure. Probably OK on your Ipod, for walking around town at night to,or maybe when played very loud at arty parties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype!, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: Factory Floor (Audio CD)
I like to think I have broad musical tastes, from punk to electro, classical to dub. Hyped up by various indie record stores as the next ground-breaking 'big thing', this was a long time in the making and eagerly anticipated. Intrigued, I bought a copy. Result? Formulaic, uninspiring, over-repetitive, unoriginal, dare I say grating and even boring! I sent it back. Sorely disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Factory Floor
Factory Floor by Factory Floor (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews