Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, Tender And Unapologetically Honest
'6 Feet Beneath The Moon' is the highly anticipated début album from King Krule.

It's impossible to get away from the age of Archie Samuel Marshall; the release of this record was timed to coincide with his 19th birthday. Having been one of the youngest to ever feature on the 'BBC Sound Of...' longlist I would have to say it was probably to his benefit...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been way better
King krule's been one of my favourites for a while and his ep was great so i was really excited for this album. I found it pretty disappointing. That's not to say it's not a good album but to me, it sounded like some songs were just there for filler and the re-recorded songs lost a lot of heart when compared to the originals. All in all it feels like this album was rushed...
Published 18 months ago by Rae


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, Tender And Unapologetically Honest, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
'6 Feet Beneath The Moon' is the highly anticipated début album from King Krule.

It's impossible to get away from the age of Archie Samuel Marshall; the release of this record was timed to coincide with his 19th birthday. Having been one of the youngest to ever feature on the 'BBC Sound Of...' longlist I would have to say it was probably to his benefit that he didn't win the award this year.

When a young musician rubs shoulders with more experienced peers people stop to take note. Take for example another 19 year old, EDM's Madeon, who is reaching a standard of production that many of his fellow artists could only dream of.

And yet for Archie, the fascination is richer; infact twofold. Whilst it's equally astounding to hear such professional sounds come out of this young adult it is also the direct imprint that this rawness of age has on his sound that makes this album so enchanting.

'6 Feet Beneath The Moon' draws on a wealth of influences that has shaped Archie's upbringing. But this is not a pastiche. Quite the contrary, Archie's dedications to jazz, hip hop and dub are very much his own and this record revels in its diversity of approach. And yet despite drawing upon different genres, each track's own ambience enhances the loneliness of his vibe and the honesty of his pleas. There is some cliché reverberation - particularly affected by an often overly watery guitar - as such I am constantly reminded of The XX. And lyrically King Krule is at times as juvenile. But where Archie falls short in depth of meaning ("the sandwich I bought / yeah it's been off for a week") he makes up for in his hip-hop poetry ("the brain lives on but the vibes are dead / corrosively tread through emotionally spoonfed purpose"); he'll be delighted to learn that Frank Ocean wants to work with him.

Vocally, Archie is unsteady, nervous, gritty, frustrated and coarse. His adolescent angst is unavoidable yet restrained. This stripped back honesty is at its most chilling in solitary confinement.

This debut's resonance is akin to Original Pirate Material with desolate imagery of 3am London streets furnished with suitably flickering street lamps; think Burial.

I can't help but think that King Krule has a lot more to give, but as he gets older will he lose the unseasoned and crude honesty of his youth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars King Krule -It's good to be the king, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
Anyone who is brought on listening to a personal soundtrack of Fela Kuti, Django Reinhardt, and Chet Baker is an example of an admirable human being with good sense and taste. The fact that King Krule is a nineteen year old human being is a bonus. The moniker King Krule covers for Archy Marshall and in this slight musician we have solid proof of the wonders of youth. His ability to be brave, to challenge and most of all not to give a flying fig for what others think is at the heart of this musical feast. "6 Feet Beneath the Moon" is a debut album which sees Marshall expertly weld a love of '50s rock'n'roll and rockabilly to classic jazz, hip-hop and UK bass music. Its like a mix of Bill Bragg via Mike Skinner, on route to Edwyn Collins with Charlie Parker thrown in for good measure. Others could be name checked but lets get onto the music.

This is one of the best debuts which has hit British Music since Original Pirate Material. Krule's lyrics are outstanding, mixing the raw and the humorous. He writes about the ordinary and everyday, sandwiches, dead end jobs, alienation - you name it and you will find it in this album. The song highlights are the attention grabbing single "Out getting ribs", the pounding emotion of "Has this hit" with a ferocious vocal from Marshall and the jazzy swirl of "Baby Blue. The songs however which draw you back time and time again are the brilliant "Foreign 2" full of beats and some very nice musical touches, equally the lovely "Neptune Estate" demands repeated listens and playback.

There are a couple of weak moments here but the guy is 19 so let us cut him slack as he is writing better songs than much more established artists. Little wonder he received the full attention of the BBC in terms of its Sound of 2013 promising artist. Finding something truly original is often a frustrating search but in the of "6 Feet beneath the moon" King Krule has served up a very impressive album which wets your appetite for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album of 2013, 28 Sept. 2013
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
I've followed King Krule's music since the beginning when he was originally Zoo Kid.. His music is amazing, and this album is definitely the best album of 2013- it's safe to say I'm a huge King Krule fan and this album is incredible, good vibes, amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raw jazzy sound, 9 Mar. 2015
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
Like this album a lot. All the jazzy chords and raw sounding vocals make a refreshing change to smooth jazz. It has an energy and even aggression to it that makes its point very directly and is not quite like anything else I have ever heard. It is bit like a cross between elvis costello, billy bragg, early twotone, the specials and jazzy stuff like Richard Hawley. A nice antidote to the recent trend in pretty boy guitar + anodyne music in young male soloists. It is far from easy listening takes a few listens. He has a good ear for some nice jazzy chord changes but keeps a rough edge. It also feels like its very from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Brilliant record, really recommend this Vinyl! The price was reasonable and service was quick. Cover and record were in perfect condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been way better, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
King krule's been one of my favourites for a while and his ep was great so i was really excited for this album. I found it pretty disappointing. That's not to say it's not a good album but to me, it sounded like some songs were just there for filler and the re-recorded songs lost a lot of heart when compared to the originals. All in all it feels like this album was rushed and it's not an accurate display of the artist's usually amazing talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King Krule Rules, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
Great debut album by a very talented young guy, atmospheric, political and apposite - purchase it as this will become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm 6 feet over the moon for this album, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
This album was everything I hoped it be would and more. Archy delivers a stunning performance and developed musical style on all his new tracks and his re-recorded Zoo Kid ones. Overall I give this a solid 9/10 and can see myself coming back to 6 Feet Beneath The Moon for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album, cant wait for more King Krule
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Jamie T, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
Ms. J. Bytheway (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Feet Beneath The Moon (Audio CD)
Ok Cd brought it written up as similar to Jamie T, but not as good in my opinion. Ok though worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

6 Feet Beneath The Moon [VINYL]
6 Feet Beneath The Moon [VINYL] by King Krule (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews