Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat escapism
Jan Ellis's first foray into fiction is remarkably assured. The reader is immediately drawn into Eleanor's west country bookshop world, full of people you feel you've known for years. The easy dialogue rings true and you're quickly caught up with Eleanor's life - past and present - and the new life she's building. Romance comes from an unexpected quarter but not before...
Published 8 months ago by Old Editor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant short story
A light, easy-going chick-lit. A pleasant short story and a relaxing couple of hours reading. No tension, no drama, nothing to blow you away but I enjoyed it for what it was.
Published 8 months ago by Redders


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat escapism, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
Jan Ellis's first foray into fiction is remarkably assured. The reader is immediately drawn into Eleanor's west country bookshop world, full of people you feel you've known for years. The easy dialogue rings true and you're quickly caught up with Eleanor's life - past and present - and the new life she's building. Romance comes from an unexpected quarter but not before a trip to France with her sister which makes your mouth water and the gentle end leaves you feeling warm and satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pimm's, parasol and Jan Ellis's fresh little book, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
Got your Pimm's? Got a shady spot in the heat? Wanna chill? Well then - grab your Kindle and get Jane Ellis's lovely refreshing and upbeat romance - A Unexpected Affair. Hard to believe this is her first outing as a novelist as the plot reels off with that effortless ease that drives wannabe writers mad with envy. Before know it you're in sunny southern France chasing up old flames and wondering "what if?" - in fact just like our heroine Eleanor! The mild regrets of middle age and its solitudes melt away in this novella as a gentle variety of singletons re-find themselves - just when they were supposed to be past their sell-by. If you liked BEST MARIGOLD, Bill Nighy, Judy Dench et al, you'll love this - with its thoughtful subtext and reflections matured like good wine - which takes us back to the vineyards of France and the irresistibly handsome Christophe... will the curvaceous Eleanor resist him? Ha, you'll have to read it and see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected book, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
A very nice read. Could not put it down it had very different ending to what I thought. The book is very well described and written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely holiday read, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
Read this book on the train. Lovely insight into the world of bookshops with some very different characters. As a regular traveller on the Eurostar I was with them all the way to France. Will there be a follow up by Jan Ellis? I'd love to see what happens in the future. Will certainly look out for more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 19 July 2013
By 
P. Breslich (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
Jan Ellis's book manages to combine a delicious `will she/ won't she' story line with great dialogue and a wonderful dry humour. Post-divorce Eleanor has made a new life for herself outside of London, but far from moving inevitably towards an `invisble' middle age, she finds herself the focus of attention of three very different men. A great cast of characters, including her overly involved mother and go-for-it sister, take the reader on a very satisfying journey from the West Country to France. Glass of vin blanc anyone? Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read which I could not put down, 5 Sep 2013
By 
J. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
I was captivated by this book. Although I am a mere man, I felt part of the story, hopefully not Jim or Alan but probably Keith!
I look forward to the next one from Jan Ellis. I wondered whether Jan might also be Eleanor, probably not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
'An Unexpected Affair' is really an unexpected treat of a book! A really enjoyable read and well written as well (just as good as books from the more established authors). I cannot wait to read more of Jan Ellis' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable summer read, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
French charmer or enigmatic architect? I know which one I fancied. Hugely entertaining read with some vividly drawn characters. Good one to pack with the sun tan oil whether you are heading for Devon or Provence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant short story, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
A light, easy-going chick-lit. A pleasant short story and a relaxing couple of hours reading. No tension, no drama, nothing to blow you away but I enjoyed it for what it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love lost and found, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unexpected Affair (Kindle Edition)
A lovely first novel that paints a picture of first love and life woven into the West Country and the vineyards of France.
Thoroughly enjoyable read. Looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7f0bf48)

This product

An Unexpected Affair
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews