Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic three piece rock band
This album is fabulous and met all my expectations. Three brilliant pedigree musicians who know how to rock and have produced a stunning debut album. So reminiscent in musical genre to Badlands (only a four piece), rock with a bluesy edge. Stand out musician and surprise for me is Richie Kotzen who vocally and guitar wise delivers in bucket loads. Go buy this album if you...
Published 15 months ago by Haywain

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not that great
Excellent musicians but really get a proper singer, vocals are strained and forceful. A couple of good songs but I would not have bought it if I'd listen to previews. Still three stars as there is no denying the skills displayed.
Published 13 months ago by vibrato


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you'd expect!, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
Billy Sheehan? Mike Portnoy? Ritchie Kotzen? I expected this to be good and it is. Plenty of musicianship on display (of course) but with a very healthy dose of melody and catchy riffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
As a big Richie Kotzen fan this is a great CD. It's a happy CD with lots and lots of songs. Great for the summer you've just missed. There's little repetition. In truth to me it's another Richie CD. His solo stuff sounds the same. Nice mix with all the instruments given room to breathe. Portnoy is amazingly restrained apart from those backing vocals. I dream for the day someone ties him up and gags him in the studio when they are recorded. Sheehan is Sheehan, 'nuff said. Personally I'd say it's more a Kotzen solo than new power trio band aka the Badlands comparison mentioned elsewhere in the comments. That's by no means a detraction. Kotzen CDs rule. In fact if you got this far do check out his last CD 24 Hours which is excellent. They play Islington on 5th Sep and we have our tickets. Should be a cracking gig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dog's!!!, 19 Aug 2013
By 
D. Hunter (Maldon, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
Ordered this before it was released as I knew it would be brilliant, but it exceeded all my expectations. The best rock album of 2013, and then some. This band is truly greater than the sum of it's parts, and Richie, Billy and Mike are all at the top of their respective fields. Biggest surprise though.......Richie Kotzen's voice, which is amazing and better than many "singers", let alone "guitarists". Best thing is that the album is full of great SONGS, with excellent musicianship, not the other way round. Bloody marvellous :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HARD ROCK, 5 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
IT'S A BOY !THE NEW BABY CHILD BORN FROM MIKE PORTNOY'S FRUSTRATIONS IT'S A WINNER."THE WINERY DOGS" IT'S A SUPERB ALBUM WHO WILL PLEASE FANS OF HARD ROCK,PROGRESSIVE ROCK,GROOVE AND ALTERNATIVE MUSIC.IT'S THE MISSING LINK BETWEEN MR.BIG ,KING'S X AND SOUNDGARDEN.THE VOICE OF THE ALMIGHTY RICHIE KOTZEN SOUNDS BETTER THAN EVER. GREAT PRODUCTION VALUES! SMASH SONGS : YOU SAVED ME ,ELEVATE & I'M NO ANGEL.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rock Album With A Great Bonus CD, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Spec) (Audio CD)
I am a B-I-G Portnoy fan for about Ten-twelve Years ,
Not Everything He Plays Is To My Absolute Liking (transatlantic for example..) But, It has been a wish to hear the guy play Solid Rock Music without all the complexities of the Progressive Genre.
I was Great To Hear Him With A7X On The Nightmare Album, But He Followed The Rev's Footsteps and added a Little "Mike Spice" into it.

This Album Is PURE ROCK -> Not Too Heavy, Not Too Loud, Not Too MTV-ish, Just Plain ROCK Music!
Richie's Voice Is Spectacular, Delivering All The Tones & All The "Feel" He Needs To Deliver in Every Possible Way.
Mike Drumming Is To The Point Without Being Too "Explosive" on the drum set.

I Truly Recommend this Album To Every Rock Fan Out There , If You Like Guns n' Roses, Bon Jovi, The Rolling Stones Or Any Other Great And Basic Rock Band -- Give this CD a Spin . You Won't Regret It . :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent album from supergroup, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
This album is a good showcase for the respective skills of the superstars band members who have been there and done it with before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 Mar 2014
By 
R. S. Bryant (Torrington Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
The best album I bought last year. Given these guys could spend the whole album just showboating they play to the songs...it's a fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great balls out reto-rock, 28 Feb 2014
By 
E. J. Horsburgh (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
This is one of my fav's from 2013. They sound a bit like Soundgarden, vocal-wise. BTW thats not a bad thing. This works best
played loud whilst driving. I hope they make another album, but having Mike Portnoy on drums it would seem unlikely. After 20 years in Dream Theater he seems to be on a mission to be in as many bands and have a hand in as many projects as humanly possible.
That grumble aside, this album will happily fit into your Zeppelin, AC/DC, Soundgarden, early Van Halen collection with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Supergroup rock and it's most welcome., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
It's refreshing to see an old rock template such as this coming out of the blue. "The winery dogs" are a relatively direct and highly distillied hard rock supergroup with a solid thirteen length track listing debut. The album starts strongly with the first track "Elevate" and things then pretty much stay that way throughtout. Other standouts include "Desire", "I'm no angel", "Not hopeless", and the admittedly brilliant japanese bonus track "Criminal".

The sound and production is fresh and an organic experience. The members all manage their prospective roles and duties perfectly, and so while the album doesn't really attempt to cut through any new cloth, the debut does come as a formidable statement of intent of-which hails the classic rock sound from days gone by from the likes of Deep Purple & Rainbow, etc. The debut, given the talent and what we know about:- Kotzen, Sheehan & Portnoy, (All towering figures in their own right), the record ultimately hits the spot and then some.

More please!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE WINERY DOGS, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
When David Lee Roth left VH,many people thought he would struggle to maintain that level of success, as a solo artist."How can you follow Eddie Van Halen and co?" Well,with the astonishing talents of Messrs Vai,Sheehan and Bissonette,he put together a band that were head and shoulders above the competition(including his old band members)and produced the outstanding "Eat 'em and Smile."
Mike Portnoy finds himself in a similar position to DLR. Having left prog rock giants DT,he put together this power trio with Billy Sheehan(bass player extraordinaire)and the ridiculously gifted guitar maestro Richie Kotzen, who also brings his incredible vocal talents to this project. Petrucci,Myung and LaBrie are all superb musicians, but these guys take it to another level altogether.
This album,as you would expect,is full of jaw dropping solos and thunderous bass lines often played in unison,but that is only part of its appeal. All of this incredible musicianship is contained within quality songs with memorable hooks.
Anyone who has not been exposed to Richie's soulful voice,is in for a treat.
In closing,I think I can safely say that Mike Portnoy really landed on his feet when he hooked up with these two guys. Please buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winery Dogs
The Winery Dogs by The Winery Dogs
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews