Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic three piece rock band
This album is fabulous and met all my expectations. Three brilliant pedigree musicians who know how to rock and have produced a stunning debut album. So reminiscent in musical genre to Badlands (only a four piece), rock with a bluesy edge. Stand out musician and surprise for me is Richie Kotzen who vocally and guitar wise delivers in bucket loads. Go buy this album if you...
Published 13 months ago by Haywain

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not that great
Excellent musicians but really get a proper singer, vocals are strained and forceful. A couple of good songs but I would not have bought it if I'd listen to previews. Still three stars as there is no denying the skills displayed.
Published 11 months ago by vibrato


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic three piece rock band, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
This album is fabulous and met all my expectations. Three brilliant pedigree musicians who know how to rock and have produced a stunning debut album. So reminiscent in musical genre to Badlands (only a four piece), rock with a bluesy edge. Stand out musician and surprise for me is Richie Kotzen who vocally and guitar wise delivers in bucket loads. Go buy this album if you like listening to classy rock music. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable Stuff, but,....., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
This is a very good album, but not quite a 'classic'.
These three virtuoso musicians have put together some killer hard rock here, music that is both powerful yet melodic. The vocals are surprisingly good, and the lyrics are sound. Most of the tracks have excellent choruses, big hooks that stick in my head, so I can't help humming them after playing the album.
However, there's also quite a bit of 'showboating' or 'showing off' in the musicianship department, and I think some restraint should have been shown in this regard. I guess these guys couldn't resist throwing in some serious 'chops' just to remind the listener how clever and accomplished they are. Still, it's their album so why not? These slightly over-the-top moments let the album down a bit in my opinion, although they don't actually detract too much from the main focus of the tunes.
Anyway, it's all good & exciting rock,...turn it up and annoy your neighbourhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deadly!!!!!!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
This is the best rock record in years!! Great Playing, Songs and Sounds. They set the bar for what a rock trio should be doing. I can't wait to catch them live!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Debut, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
After this band got recommended to me by a friend and I saw who was in the band I had to check this out. The Winery Dogs are a supergroup of sorts, featuring ex-Dream Theater, among others, drummer Mike Portnoy, Poison/Mr Big guitarist Richie Kotzen and Mr Big bassist Billy Sheehan but this isn't some musicians showing off, The Winery Dogs are a proper rock band and this debut album of bluesy, funky rock demonstrates that. The first two tracks, Elevate and Desire prove that this band can play and also that Richie Kotzen is a fine singer to, bringing to mind Chris Cornell at times. Even slower tracks such as the brilliant The Dying hit the spot to. Not every song is brilliant, maybe, but as debuts go, The Winery Dogs are off to a great start.

My copy is the Japanese version(which I wasn't aware I was receiving) and therefore omits the song Time Machine in favour of bonus song, Criminal. Having checked out the Alice in Chains-ish Time Machine, that's a decent song to but Criminal also fits well into the album. Either way, fans of the likes of Cream, Free, Zeppelin etc should be impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNER, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
This album is a total stunner. Stellar rhythm section with Portnoy and Sheehan, shaking the ground for Richie Kotzen, who displays supernatural combined guitar and singing skills. To top it off, the songs are pretty much ALL perfect. This is simply a must have, don t hesitate one second. Compared to the latest boring Dream Theater album, this Portnoy effort is simply a winner for me, I can t help just hitting replay, again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Album, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
Superb album from three great musicians known for their top notch technical ability, this fused with Richie Kotzen's soulful vocals produces some great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Declan Mckerr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
I rate this album 5 stars simply because it's everything the rock 'scene' or whatever you want to call it needs. Fantastic musicianship. Wild playing without losing feel for the melody. It's groovy, mellow, slow, fast. It has it all. No need to say much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who let the dogs out?, 22 Sep 2013
By 
T. Feler "kyprios1" (Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
must have. three icons in one band must be an explosion of everything best in rock. absolute super trio. imho Kotzen is one of the most underrated guitarists ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
Great album. Raw and powerful. Well worth the money with some great tracks. All these guys were in great bands beforehand so expected this to be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winery Dogs (Audio CD)
Nice to see Musicians, Musicians laying down such a solid album.
I must admit, I never heard of the guitarist/singer, but what a Musician,
what a Voice. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winery Dogs
The Winery Dogs by The Winery Dogs
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews