Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's have energy abundance, not energy austerity.
Providing clean, affordable, reliable electricity for 9billion people in a zero carbon world is one of the great challenges of the 21st century. The truth is that it will be nigh on impossible to meet rising demand for electricity and avoid dangerous climate change without nuclear energy in the mix.

This 30 page mini-book is an exceptionally readable and...
Published 12 months ago by Vixy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, but there are problems with the formatting
The book reveals facts that are not usually known or easily available about the nuclear industry. It is well written and easy to follow. Highly recommended for anyone concerned with global warming. I gave this book only 3* because there is a problem with its format. For some reason, I could not insert notes in the most parts of the book.
Published 11 months ago by Constantin Orasan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very lucid and well presented arguments, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Dr. T. J. Stone (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book by an author with an enquiring mind who presents his arguments clearly and rationally. For anyone interested in the future of energy, this is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful to see another viewpoint, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This book is clear and succinct in it's viewpoint that seems pretty accurate to me. The reason Iran is a pariah state is because America doesn't like it, not because of its nuclear activities. Anyone interested in world affairs should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why IS Nuclear such a dirty word?, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
We cannot afford to turn away from the possibility of unlimited, cheap and carbon-emissions free energy without a full understanding of it and the issues connected to it. If James Hansen, the 'father' of climate change science, thinks it should be investigated as a possible solution for avoided the threatening carbon/climate disaster (see "Storms of my Grandchildren"), then it deserves a look. Or, to put it another way, how much do YOU really know about nuclear energy? Probably not as much as you could or should.

This is what Mark Lynas, a respected environmentalist author with a sound track record ("Six Degrees," for instance), has set out to do in this modest, as well as cheap, and easily accessible book, well aware that he might upset some of his colleagues on green issues. But this is what has to be done, in a no-stone-unturned approach to escaping climate change. While people like Harvey Wassermann scream hysterically from the roof-tops, Animal Farm-like, "Renewables good, nuclear bad," (and getting his "facts" muddled into the bargain) you may want to ask yourself how many people have died in accidents at nuclear power-plants, to see if the word "Nuclear" deserves its bad reputation. You may like to reflect that no-one died at Fukushima, no-one died at Three Mile Island. According to a list, compiled from multiple sources, in Wikipedia, the figure is less than 70 fatalities at the time of the accident, including Chernobyl, from 1952 to 2009. Meanwhile, last year 32,000 Americans died in car accidents. And we still drive cars.

This book shows how nuclear technology has moved on; the way we have made nuclear energy in the past has been incredibly inefficient (1% of the fuel's potential) and incredibly dirty, using so called slow neutrons in fission. Using fast neutrons - the Nuclear 2.0 of the title (although fast reactors have been around in experimental form since the 1950s) - you can stop mining Uranium as there is already enough in the world, you can reduce waste, you can actually burn waste (Hansen mentions an estimate of $50 trillion's worth waste already sitting around in the US that could be turned into fuel and turned from being waste) you can reduce weapons proliferation (what waste there is, is unsuitable to make weapons from.) You might be tempted to say, "What's not to like?"

"Nuclear" might just be the clean word we have been looking for. If renewables can't hack it - and, with the best will the world, as fast as we expand them, we are making life difficult by constantly increasing our per capita demand on top of an increasing population - at the very least this book gives an excellent and up-to-date picture of the current situation. Even if you don't agree, at least you will be better informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could be the answer to everything!!, 6 Aug 2013
By 
M. R. Brudenell "reverse midas" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The book its self was pretty easy reading, a flow and level of information as well as numbers that did not drown you like so may other books of this genre.
An informative read, definitely a recommendation if you have a few hours to kill.

Working close to this industry and development I query everyday why on earth we are not focusing far more on the production of nuclear power. It could pull third world countries out of the holes they are currently in and increase development 100 fold without producing a cubic cm of harmful emissions. We are idiots. This book goes some way to confirming my theory haha.

Enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Though inducing, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I can only offer a short review.

This is a short essay about the necessity of investing into nuclear power, and as soon as possible too.

There are many such books but this one distinguishes itself by being written by a self-professed earlier
opponent of nuclear power and a know environmentalist (I had not know about him before).

The essay is written clearly and impressively, at least I liked it.
In the end, I would definitely recommend it, especially in connection to the other book : Thorium: energy cheaper than coal by Robert Hargraves, a much more factual and cold-blooded book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING TO ALL, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Essential reading for Nick Clegg, Caroline Lucas, and others who refuse to do anything about the looming energy crisis. When the lights go out it will not be the MP's who will be loosing money but the general public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 July 2013
By 
M. Sharrock "Fellman" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Well written and easy to understand, especially for those who know little about the subject. Instead of simply being for or against 'nuclear power' it will help you make an informed decision. I suggest most people 'against' will change their minds when they really absorb the facts.

Two areas could have been given greater emphasis.

First, 9 billion people who want to the same living standards as Americans and Australians will cripple our planet. Some form of nuclear power will be the only way to provide such a vast amount of power.

Second, far more space should have been devoted to explaining, extolling even, the benefits of thorium based nuclear power. If the west had developed this technology much earlier we could have given Iran several thorium power stations thus avoiding the fear that they are using uranium to make bombs as well as the economic costs of monitoring the situation and the human cost as Iranians suffer deprivation through economic sanctions. We could have avoided 3 Mile Island, Chernobyl and Fukashima. We wouldn't have to worry about nuclear waste . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nuclear Energy, 29 July 2014
By 
Mr. James Smith (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A short concise explanation about the uses of Nuclear Energy. It is the obvious green source for our future energy supplies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Answers to Green anti-Nuclesr Rhetoric
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 26 July 2014
By 
CarolM "CarolM" (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews