Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's have energy abundance, not energy austerity.
Providing clean, affordable, reliable electricity for 9billion people in a zero carbon world is one of the great challenges of the 21st century. The truth is that it will be nigh on impossible to meet rising demand for electricity and avoid dangerous climate change without nuclear energy in the mix.

This 30 page mini-book is an exceptionally readable and...
Published 13 months ago by Vixy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, but there are problems with the formatting
The book reveals facts that are not usually known or easily available about the nuclear industry. It is well written and easy to follow. Highly recommended for anyone concerned with global warming. I gave this book only 3* because there is a problem with its format. For some reason, I could not insert notes in the most parts of the book.
Published 12 months ago by Constantin Orasan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's have energy abundance, not energy austerity., 15 July 2013
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Providing clean, affordable, reliable electricity for 9billion people in a zero carbon world is one of the great challenges of the 21st century. The truth is that it will be nigh on impossible to meet rising demand for electricity and avoid dangerous climate change without nuclear energy in the mix.

This 30 page mini-book is an exceptionally readable and straightforward contribution to the debate about our energy future. It helps promote understanding of the huge potential of nuclear power to supply clean, reliable, abundant electricity in a low carbon world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Power generation diversity is the key, 13 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
In the '70,s, I worked in the nuclear industry ( Harwell, Windscale, now Sellafield). At that time, Britain had produced over 50% of all world domestic electricity ever produced using nuclear power. We were at the cutting edge of nuclear plant design.
In the late 1970's, there was a great inquiry and debate whether Britain should get rid of nuclear power altogether, argued mostly by the Eco's, middle class intellectuals and ex-hippy types routing for wind power and renewables. The Nuclear industry in Britain went into a 40 year decline.
Global warming was on the side lines then. Now that it has become centre stage and people have realised that nuclear power, despite it's limitations, has a zero Carbon footprint. There are arguments to "Go- Nuclear" again by, I suspect, the same sort of people who argued against it in the 70's! ( i.e. Eco's, middle class intellectuals and ex-hippy types).
The difference is now, Britain will have to buy the Nuclear power stations from the Chinese, and worse, the French. Also, we will have to pay a much enhanced guaranteed price for each Kilowatt produced by these power stations for the next 30 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very convincing argument for the future of nuclear power, 24 July 2013
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
After teasing a friend who works in the nuclear industry with any number of stereotypes I was persuaded to read this short and brilliant book that combats several misconceptions that surround nuclear power.

Although slightly put off by the authors extravagant climate change scenarios his case for nuclear power is rather compelling.

He explains issues surrounding waste, radiation and discusses in detail the cause and effects of the accidents at Fukuhisma, Chernobyl and Three Mile Island. Whilst not downplaying them, he argues that the impacts of these tragic events are not as bad as certainly I had initially thought.

The author is clearly extremely passionate about nuclear and while it is important to take material such as this with a pinch of salt - the argument is extremely convincing and this is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nuclear - safe and clean, who knew?, 24 July 2013
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Nuclear 2.0 is brilliantly written and provides a compelling case for the global expansion of nuclear power.

Lynas helps to break several of the taboos surrounding the industry including waste and in particular radiation, discussing reality and the public's misunderstanding of the concept, attacking persistent scaremongering from the media and green activists.

Lynas's accounts of the three major nuclear station accidents - Three Mile Island, Chernobyl and in particular Fukushima are excellent. He outlines the causation and consequences of the accident in detailed but understandable fashion (for someone with no prior understanding of how a power station functions).

Although I am slightly skeptical about some of the optimistic figures the author outlines in his conclusion for the worlds nuclear power potential - to steal a phrase from the book "let's dare to dream a little".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About time, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It grieves me that now an environmentalist is writing in these terms. For quite a lot of my professional life I have been berated about the subject of nuclear power. I have always believed it to be an essential part of the package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Environmental campaigns increased global warming - the truth at last!, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Mark Lynas deftly explains, as a committed environmentalist, that decades of anti-nuclear campaigning by environmental ingenues have led to a world dominated by coal burning plants. Global warming is more far worse than would have been the case had they and their naive organisations never existed. At last some real politic truth on this subject so crucial to mankind's future. If this is the only book you read this year it will be to the benefit of the human race - his 'all of the above' strategy for decarbonising the world's electricity generation is possibly the only credible plan for us to follow that does not resulting in catastrophic climate shift. As I write this comment, the South-western USA is tinder dry and the fire front has reached the Yosemite National park - just an outlier of what is to come should we not adopt the suggested strategy contained in this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Niall Howell Evans (Douglas, Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A well researched argument with a lot that is worthy of consideration. Not enough discussion of the long term economic cost of nuclear fission for my taste but otherwise an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The World Tomorrow, 31 July 2013
By 
Ian Miller (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
While I am not entirely convinced by his early assertions about climate change I found this a most thought-provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eyes wide open, 24 July 2013
This review is from: Nuclear 2.0: Why A Green Future Needs Nuclear Power (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Great book, brilliantly written, opened my eyes to what was the unknown. This should be given out to the wider public to improve the perception of the nuclear industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, easy to read. Great book., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have any reservations about the need for Nuclear Power Generation, then read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews