Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar pop perfection.
A great record. Ought to be the soundtrack to your summer! Big guitars, singalong choruses and superb harmonies throughout. Even ends with a fanfare to thank you for listening.
Published 17 months ago by MaddMatt

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not offensive, but far from a classic
wouldn't object if someone else put it on, but I've got far better albums in my collection. Just all a bit ok with nothing particularly outstanding on it, I think.
Published 12 months ago by Mr M J Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar pop perfection., 22 July 2013
A great record. Ought to be the soundtrack to your summer! Big guitars, singalong choruses and superb harmonies throughout. Even ends with a fanfare to thank you for listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raising the bar once more, 22 July 2013
By 
Quills (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Frontman Ginger Wildheart certainly doesn't like a quiet life. Hot on the heels of his wildly successful PledgeMusic campaign that spawned the illustrious 555% and its commercial companion, 100%, he launched a new campaign promising not one, but three new albums. Rash? Perhaps. One thing's for sure, though, and that's that in Hey!Hello!'s debut album, he raised the bar once more.

Hey!Hello! is a crazy contrast to the other two albums that the campaign spawned under the band name of `Mutation', showcasing the two extremes of Ginger's talents. Whereas Mutation takes the wild excesses of Endless Nameless, chews them up into a pulp and spits them out in something horrendous and glorious all at once, Hey!Hello! is an unashamedly poptastic and beautiful album, filled with sunshine, soaring riffs and frankly spectacular hooks that will leave you begging for more.

His cohort Victoria Liedtke's vocals and harmonies blend seamlessly with the rugged, familiar tones of Ginger's voice, and nowhere is this displayed more perfectly than the album's two lead singles of Black Valentine and Swimwear. I confess, though, my particular soft spot is for Feral Days, for its here that Ginger's unique skill for crafting lyrics that cut straight to the soul really shine through. Victoria and Ginger deliver with aplomb, despite recording their vocals on opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean, and just when you thought the Geordie rocker couldn't impress you any more, you learn he played every single instrument you hear on the album.

Upon listening to 555%, I couldn't help but fear there was nowhere for Ginger to go but down from there. Fear not. With the new lease of life and vibrancy he's found working alongside the brilliantly effervescent Victoria, Hey!Hello!'s debut album is a stellar delight that easily deserves its place amongst the best works of his career. I can only hope their debut album doesn't prove to be their last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Alert, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
Ginger will be a legend. In two hundred years time, his cd's will be pulled out of the ashes. And like artists, question will be asked. Why wasn't he more popular in his time? He's one of the best songwriters of our generation. Every review - fan or professional - states the same.

The answer is simple. Mr Ginger, you've got to cut your ear off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best powerpop record since, like, ever., 31 July 2013
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
I'm an avid fan of all things Ginger and, while it's a difficult to compile my favourite albums from his vast back catalogue, Hey! Hello! has very quickly shot up the list.

If there's one thing Ginger can do as well as any songwriter I've heard, it's write a hook. That's what I've always loved about his songwriting, the message in his lyrics getting under your skin so much more effectively because they're wrapped around these incredibly catchy melodies. All ten of these songs are completely inundated with great hooks. Big shiny ones, at that.

There's nothing particularly technical going on with the instrumentation, but there doesn't need to be. It's solid. Ginger plays every instrument on the record, and is joined on vocals by the lovely and talented Victoria Liedtke who adds substantially to Hey! Hello!'s charm.

Highlights for me include Black Valentine, Why Can't I Be Me Without You?, I'm Gonna Kiss You Like I'm Going Away, and We're Outta Here. They're all highlights, really. The album currently sits deservedly at #1 on the UK album charts. Go geddit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey! Hello! Hurrah!, 31 July 2013
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
I'm not going to hang around - I've been a fan of Ginger's music since the early 90's bit he's really kicked things up a gear recently and this little slice of pop-rock sunshine might just be one of his finest moments yet.

It's just crammed right to the top with the catchiest ear-worms, chunky riffs and cheeky lyrics that is hard to believe that this is Ginger's sixth record in a year! But he's not alone on this venture; helping him out with those sunbeams is Victoria Liedtke, who's voice perfectly compliments the Geordie Ginger one.

This deserves to be at the top of everyone's 'best of' album lists this year because I can't think of anything else that comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More hooks than the puzzlebox in Hellraiser!, 31 July 2013
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
Ginger Wildheart is a man who CANNOT write a bad song and here we have ten of his catchiest tunes - he plays guitar, bass, drums and also sings, aided by the dulcet tones of the adorably bonkers Victoria Liedtke. Do your ears a favour and buy this album, they'll thank you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 22 July 2013
By 
Quite simply a brilliant record. Singalong pop/rock doesn't get any better than this. I hope this isn't a one off for Hey! Hello! 36mins just isn't enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Say, Hey! Hello., 29 Oct 2013
By 
Elaine D. Dowson (The North. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
How easy would it be for us all to take Ginger for granted? Well, this stunningly engaging and instantly recognizable latest release from him brightly burns its irresistible track into the psyche. It makes life better. No. You can't take him for granted, even after all these years of perpetual scintillating originality....his work is always hotly anticipated and devoured...at least in our house....probably yours too. See you. I'm off to play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, Hello, Buy This!!!, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
1st saw the video for Swimwear on Youtube a week or so ago, and thought i've got to get that.
Ordered the album without checking out the rest of the tracks, Awesome!!!!!,
Buy this if u are a Ginger or Wildhearts fan, No actually buy it regardless of who u like.................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another slice of punk pop perfection from Ginger, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. F. P. Moon (Hull, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
From an artist who's high output during the last 18 months, this album is a piece of the genius we know him to be. Every track is a bonafide summer sing along classic, from the summer rush of swimwear through to the visceral attack on modern music of How I Survived The Punk Wars this is all killer no filler and Ginger's voice blends so well with Victoria's that I hope we will see more from Hey! Hello!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hey! Hello
Hey! Hello by Hey! Hello (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews