Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marmite Factor ( I Love It ! )
Martha Wainwright is never going to be everybody's cup of tea. She wasn't
born to surf the mainstream and has always been comfortable in her own
distinct musical territory; an uncompromising artist whose deeply personal
muse sometimes touches nerves which we might wish were better left alone.

Then there's that voice; guttural, rough and ready (in...
Published 19 months ago by The Wolf

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album and loving the Wainright vocals
Great album, quite different to Martha Wainghright's other music, I really love her vocals and lyrics so a great album.
Published 6 months ago by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marmite Factor ( I Love It ! ), 7 Dec 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
Martha Wainwright is never going to be everybody's cup of tea. She wasn't
born to surf the mainstream and has always been comfortable in her own
distinct musical territory; an uncompromising artist whose deeply personal
muse sometimes touches nerves which we might wish were better left alone.

Then there's that voice; guttural, rough and ready (in the best possible way)
and with the capacity to make your hair stand on end if you'll just let it in.
Powerful, emotional and ready to reach into the darkest corners of the soul
in the service of authenticity. A Marmite voice if ever there was one and love
it or hate it (I love it!) it's an honest, affecting and unique instrument.

'Come Home To Mama' is the third album of her own compositions (with the
exception of the beautiful 'Proserpina' written by her Mother Kate McGarrigle)
and contains some of her strongest material. Producer Yuka Honda is another
maverick at heart and brings a rich immediacy to the recording. The voice is
always well-forward in the mix; the instrumental arrangements serve the music
well with their occasional judicious use of electronics to enhance a remarkably
diverse sonic palette. The collaboration has clearly been a fruitful one.

From the blistering opening bars of 'I Am Sorry' with its foursquare pounding
percussion and grinding electric guitar riffs; through the upbeat, almost
radio-friendly melody of 'Can You Believe It?', sporting some fruity honking
sax decorations and the sublimely winding vocal line of 'Leave Behind', we sense
a songwriter working at the top of her game. The beautiful final track 'Everything
Wrong', however, garners the crown for what is very probably Ms Wainwright's
finest moment; a song of such bruised intimacy that we almost feel that we should
not be listening. A defining moment in the career of a truly great songwriter.

If you don't know her already please do take this opportunity to become acquainted.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!!, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
This is Martha's fourth album (third of original material - her last album was a Edith Piaf "tribute") and the striking thing about all four albums is that each one stands on it's own, with it's own sound and being somewhat different from the last, but very much reflecting a natural progression of age, beauty and maturity and all being undeniably Martha.

In an age where there are some very good but very unoriginal sounding female vocalists, her voice is one of the most compelling there has been for a very long time. Piaf could only have been so lucky as to have someone with this voice and vocal control attempting her songs.

Never one to shy away from personal and intimate subjects, this may be her most directly personal collection of songs yet, both in subject matter, and of course the astonishing version of one of her late mothers songs "Proserpina". It says something of the strength and impact of a song when, in a family home where the age's span 5-44, each and every member has been singing this song around the house since it was released as a single a number of weeks ago.

The album does have a very contemporary, but ageless sound to it. The choice of producer, Yuka Honda - a female artist/producer who clearly understands and compliments Martha's work, was a sublime choice.

This is the time of year, leading up to Christmas, where the number of new releases is verging on ridiculous, however if you are looking for an artist of originality and beauty and an album which will enrich your collection, please buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album and loving the Wainright vocals, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Home to Mama (Audio CD)
Great album, quite different to Martha Wainghright's other music, I really love her vocals and lyrics so a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
I love Martha Wainwright! This album is brilliant, better than "I know you're married but I've got feelings too". I'm absolutely addicted to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
Her best. Moving, gripping: buy this if you like music that touches and enfolds you. Oh my, oh my, oh my.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars liked the concert so bought the CD, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
Saw Martha play in Leongatha, which is a small town in rural Victoria, Australia. She was great. Venue was great so ordered the CD. it arrived within a could of days. Couldn't complain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
Martha wainwright is an acquired taste. For a long time she just sang about the chip on her shoulder. Now she has some things to be happy about too. Still a bit samey so I don't reach for the repeat button when listening to the album.
You may prefer and especially if you are a fan get the new family tribute album to her mother the great Kate McGarrigle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album, love it all way through, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
I saw Martha Wainwright at the Shepherd's Bush Empire, I didn't any of her new songs. It was such a beautiful concert that I bought the CD straight away. Great voice, very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Come Home to Mama, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
The case was in bad condition with scratches etc.
I bought this as a Christmas present and would have like it to look nice.
But all in all it arrived well within time and played well, so all was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devastating, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. P. Williams (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Home To Mama (Audio CD)
I really like this album. Lots. I like the production, I like the songwriting and Martha's voice does something to me that's difficult to put into words. But what makes this album a 5 star purchase for me is Martha's version of Proserpina. It's her version of her late mother, Kate McGarrigle's final composition and, with it's "Come Home To Mama" refrain that gives the album its title, is one of the best songs I've heard in years. A real heartbreaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Home To Mama
Come Home To Mama by Martha Wainwright
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews