Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album Of The Year? Very Probably!
Fell across this band by accident last year, and had the pleasure of watching them organically evolve into the potential arena-fillers they are now, and this is only their debut! Obviously influenced by bands as diverse as Creedence, Humble Pie, The Faces, Stones, Eagles, Byrds and Black Crowes, this is a melting pot of rock'n'soul with grooves to make you move and lyrics...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. E. L. Elven

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
Nearly two years on and still the same product. Really good music but I bought their EP when that came out, then their CD and now this. All the same tracks (with extras on iTunes). How many times do you have to but the same thing? I bought their Record Store Day disc which had brilliant versions of Blur and Oasis songs and I am sure we have all heard their live version of...
Published 2 months ago by bilbo2007


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut by a great rock band, 20 Sep 2013
By 
Örjan Berglin (Enskededalen, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
This is the Album of the year for 2013. A fantastic band that really glows on stage, and they managed to catch that in this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very strong debut(even better live), 19 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
12 strong tracks,they sound even better live. Its just a shame that my fave track "ALREADY KNOW" is not on the album. Nevermind hopefully it will appear as b-side somewhere in the future. Now go and buy you wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temperence Album, 19 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
Brilliant, Saw them live twice, Underworld in Cardiff and at the Steelhouse Festival in Ebbw Vale, South Wales back in July, Every track on this is great, These are going to be masssive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding! Can't. Stop. Playing. It., 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
If you've already seen them play live this band needs no further validation - having captivated audiences everywhere with their onstage blend of individual talent and collective masterful musicianship. On this richly textured album, Phil Campbell's extraordinary vocal capabilities move effortlessly between tub-thumping, anthemic blues-rock, achingly bittersweet melodies and irresistible rootsy grooves. Old-school, quality songs with fresh energy and a ton of charisma...one listen & you'll be hooked like everyone else! Addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic - pure quality, 17 Sep 2013
Wow. Blues, rock, grooves and melodies: exceptional songs played with the same uncontrived excellence as their live performances. No fillers here - every song stand out on its own merit. Outstanding and addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temperance movement, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
Great, bluesy tracks. Great if you enjoy Black Stone Cherry. Good for a good old knees up with some soulful tracks to sing along to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ace debut, 1 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
Heard final track Serenity cranked up over the sound system in HMV two months ago and it made the hairs on the back of the neck stand up on end. Bought the album on the spot and the rest of it didn't disappoint. Comparison to a reconditioned Black Crowes, by the way, is lazy criticism for what is a stunning debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crash bang wallop music, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
I like loud music when I'm driving and this fits the bill so I will look out for their next release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Fine!, 12 Oct 2013
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
Brash, bluesy southern rock from a British band? Well it's been done before with great success by Humble Pie, The Faces, Bad Company and others. Phil Campbell's strong vocal performances plus the tight playing of the rest of The Temperance Movement make this a strong and enjoyable debut. The two openers 'Only Friend' and 'Ain't No Telling' set the pace for the harder stuff, but then we have 'Pride' a decent rock ballad with delicate vocals and guitar to show this band also has a softer side. There is some lovely slide guitar on 'Chinese Lanterns' and 'Serenity' and lots of other treats on this fine album. I expect these guys to be an impressive live act on the strength of what I've heard here. If you like country or southern rock, then you'll love this. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get into this band QUICK, 1 Oct 2013
By 
FiggyB (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temperance Movement (Audio CD)
This is a well put together and well constructed album from a very new and exciting upcoming bluesy rock band. I was delighted to hear that it debuted at no. 12 in the official chart on release.

I have been lucky enough to chat to some of the band members after a couple of their gigs, and honestly wish them all success for the future. If they go half as far as is being predicted then they will do very well indeed, and it's very gratifying to see how far they've come mainly just on word of mouth alone. Hats off to them for being awesome. I strongly advise you go to see them while the gigs are still small enough for the live version of Chinese Lanterns to work well as it is a beautiful moment. It's worth the ticket price alone.

The only minor negative I have, and the reason I only give 4 stars instead of 5 is that I was a little more disappointed than I expected to be that the album contains all five songs off the EP. That coupled with the live session the band did for Amazon means I didn't actually get many new tracks for my money. Fair play to the band for making the effort to release the live session for free, but maybe it would have been prudent to release some different songs rather than just dumping the whole EP on it. If, however, you don't own the EP then this is totally irellevant and you should GO AND BUY THE ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Temperance Movement
The Temperance Movement by The Temperance Movement (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews