Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice rat detector
Bought this to listen to my rats and mice, which I'm doing as I type, it's fascinating! Nice size and very nice price. Unfortunately the first one sent to me didn't work, but to Amazon's credit I sent it back at no cost to me (other than a bit of time and petrol) and it was replaced. Looking forward to detecting some bats in the summer.
Published 18 months ago by Ms. S. A. Osgood

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something different & fun for the kids
Bought this for my 6yr old nephew, who enjoyed listing to hair rustle, scratching of clothing & various things around the house. You can only do that for so long before we all became bored. I had put batteries in beforehand, because it doesn't come with any. You have to adjust the frequency & volume to hear different things, which he found a bit tricky to work out. No...
Published 15 months ago by Teal


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice rat detector, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Ms. S. A. Osgood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
Bought this to listen to my rats and mice, which I'm doing as I type, it's fascinating! Nice size and very nice price. Unfortunately the first one sent to me didn't work, but to Amazon's credit I sent it back at no cost to me (other than a bit of time and petrol) and it was replaced. Looking forward to detecting some bats in the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended!, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
It looks like a toy, but it's a powerful ultrasonic detector, to "listen" bats, but also keys, coins etc. Easy to use, really funny for children, fascinating for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something different & fun for the kids, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
Bought this for my 6yr old nephew, who enjoyed listing to hair rustle, scratching of clothing & various things around the house. You can only do that for so long before we all became bored. I had put batteries in beforehand, because it doesn't come with any. You have to adjust the frequency & volume to hear different things, which he found a bit tricky to work out. No complaints with the actual product, it does what it should, just don't think its something that will be used more than a few times, so more of a novelty item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We were recommended this detector by our local bat group and it's ..., 9 Jan. 2015
By 
S. Richardson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
This is a first class bat detector. We were recommended this detector by our local bat group and it's a bargain (or at least it is at the £10 we paid for this rather than via resellers). My dad is very into wildlife, and the two of us went out bat detecting, him with his £100 professional model and me with this. My dad is notoriously difficult to impress, but he loved this. We picked up as many bats with this device as we did with his at a tenth of the cost. Other than missing a few high end features like led lights so you can read this at night this is a top quality piece of kit.

My dad has since purchased two of these and on demonstrating this at his local wildlife society was pleased to report back that one of the members, whose day job is as a bat scientist, purchased a further two, in order to bring along on bat walks she hosts.

In addition to the first class bat detecting abilities of this device, it also comes with a handy leaflet letting you know a number of other fun activities you can use this for. Try looking for rodents, listening to keys jangle, or the sound of fabric rubbing together. All fascinating.

A really good investment and an interesting and unusual present for any budding wildlife detectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my pet Rats, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
I bought this to hear the ultrasonic sounds that my pet rats make, and it works great! Its awesome to be able to hear them, and I cant wait to let my other friends with rats use it and hear their babies as well. It took awhile to ship to the United States, but it was definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
Bought for an adult as birthday present. He was very impressed and, as he is a bit of a gadget man, that is praise indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cheap bat detector, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
AdamT (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
Brilliant little device for the money. Bought this for my son to explore his grandparents woodland garden and look for bats around dusk. Worked a charm! We detected 5 or 6 bats. The detection was clear on the 40khz setting and the range of the device was good enough to track the chirps the device picks up from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 10 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Timothy Gibbons (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
Yet to try it for Bats as still too early in year but my daughter loves it, tested using keys etc. She is itching to try it for Bat detecting and listening to grasshopper and crickets too. Very good value but educational too. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great educational toy, 17 Sept. 2013
By 
J. Anson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
Does exactly what it says on the box, picking up a range of ultrasonic noises. We played around with the settings, and found it best to start with it adjusted to about 40 KHz, which allowed us to listen to pins dropping, keys jangling etc. It's surprising just how much ultrasonic noise is out there. We have bats in our garden, so we'll be listening out for those next. Good for kids and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for adults too, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector (Toy)
I bought this as a cheap way of listening to my pet rats - bat detectors are normally much more expensive, so I was very happy with the price of this product. It has been brilliant to listen to my rats' (usually) inaudible squeaks. The microphone is sensitive enough, the volume is definitely load enough. It is a bit chunky, but that is hardly an issue for the price. Very happy, it has been perfect for my uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discovery Channel Ultrasonic Detector
£24.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews