Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid horror
I was pleasantly surprised by this film. It makes a good play on urban horror using common fears of the hoodies lurking on the streets. It's a bleak film taking place in a condemned housing estate. It's quite claustraphobic and the lead does a good job of playing the fearful character and the transformation he undergoes. For me it's only real weakness was the ending, it's...
Published 4 months ago by M. Brookes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FERAL BOYS IN THE HOODIES
Tommy (Aneurin Barnard) is helpless as his pregnant wife (Amy Shiels) is attacked by a gang of hoodlums. This isn't any ordinary gang, but one that apparently kidnaps children and can smell fear, but "can't see you." He believes they are after his child and is forced to face his fears and the killer children in the "Citadel" an abandoned apartment high rise. He is aided...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FERAL BOYS IN THE HOODIES, 1 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tommy (Aneurin Barnard) is helpless as his pregnant wife (Amy Shiels) is attacked by a gang of hoodlums. This isn't any ordinary gang, but one that apparently kidnaps children and can smell fear, but "can't see you." He believes they are after his child and is forced to face his fears and the killer children in the "Citadel" an abandoned apartment high rise. He is aided by a priest (James Cosmo) and a blind boy named Danny (Jake Wilson).

At some point in time I had to question if the creatures were real or Tommy's imagination. In one scene they break out a car window, then as they drive to another location, it is fixed. So I had to question if this was a plot point meaning the children were imaginary or just a sloppy production.

The film is all about Tommy's fear and did little to frighten me. It is a film you can take a nap in the middle of it, wake up and know what is going on. The actors did a fine job, I just found the film rather slow.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid horror, 22 Jun 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Citadel (DVD)
I was pleasantly surprised by this film. It makes a good play on urban horror using common fears of the hoodies lurking on the streets. It's a bleak film taking place in a condemned housing estate. It's quite claustraphobic and the lead does a good job of playing the fearful character and the transformation he undergoes. For me it's only real weakness was the ending, it's all a bit obvious, which is a shame. All the same it's a decent horror and worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citadel [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant performance by Anuerin Barnard as Tommy, you can truly feel his pain.
Had me jumping out of my seat at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gloomily Creepy, 9 May 2014
This review is from: Citadel (DVD)
Surprisingly good, filled with plenty of sneaky, "gotcha" scary moments, brilliantly acted by the Lead and being set in such a bleak and eyrie backdrop, makes you think it's just a surreal Nightmare for a long time. It's no big Budget, Hollywood Blockbuster but its (very) low Budget feel adds a lot to its creepy, gloomy, nightmarish authenticity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange but mostly satisfying, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Citadel [DVD] (DVD)
This is a strange little addition to the current hoodie sub genre. In the opening scene we see our main protagonist, Tommy, witness his young pregnant wife being assaulted and left in a coma by a group of "hoodies". The film picks up the aftermath as Tommy attempts to care for his newborn daughter on his own whilst battling the effects of agoraphobia. To make matters worse he is still being plagued by the rogue gang of children. The question is who are they really? Are they even children at all?

The film is short on jump out of your seat moments but is more concerned with creating an atmosphere of creeping dread and doom. More of a psychological thriller than a boogie man horror id say.

It's all well put together and the portrayal of Tommys crippling agoraphobia is especially well done. This is worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting with hidden depth and perspective, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citadel [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say I did not expect to fully enjoy this film. But I was wrong. The setting are enough for anyone to suffer agrophobia. The acting is excellent and the depth and insight very good. The characters are both likeable and believable. The settings are grim, dark and foreboding - personally I would hate the even think of living in those sort of conditions. A very watchable film with alot more depth then maybe at first sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding performance by Aneurin Barnard, 14 Oct 2014
By 
Vicki Moore (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Citadel [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent movie for this particular genre. Aneurin Barnard is mesmerising in his portrayal of an agoraphobic. I wouldn't normally watch movies like this more than once, but purely on the strength of Aneurin Barnard's outstanding performance, I'll be watching this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great interpretation of A, 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: Citadel [DVD] (DVD)
Great interpretation of A. Barnard. To scary movie because some to similar situations of the outskirts of big cities. However a master piece of our days absolutely and for the future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Trunk Review: The many hoods of horror., 1 Mar 2013
Citadel is not as violent and shocking as its predecessors. Through the choice of a small cast, and limited sets, it offers a narrative focused on personalizing the story. The Lead actor creates life and fear into the character of Tommy, taking us on an intimate journey of survival. This sub-genre presents a grounded fear in audiences, exploring the known evil on our streets. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bad kids getting worse., 3 Mar 2013
By 
B. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Citadel [DVD] (DVD)
dark.edgy,and atmospheric british horror movie set on a dilapidated housing estate where a terrified young father lives in fear of a group of demonic children.scared of going out he finds himself menaced as the kids break in and torment him in his own house.a strong cast makes this film gripping and shattering viewing of an urban nightmare.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Citadel [DVD]
Citadel [DVD] by Ciaran Foy (DVD - 2013)
£3.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews