Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent set but could have had much more included
Now there are points of view from both sides on this set, indeed even before they were released there were negative reviews put up about it and then positive reviews put up to counter those. The following is my take on this set that I received this past week. As always this review is based on my own point of view and I encourage you to make up your own minds and if you...
Published 13 months ago by Ken Murphy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends on what you collect
This is a bit of an overpriced 50th anniversary gimic for many. And is likely to not hold its original value and keep going down until all stocks are gone, then it may start to see a rise in a few years.

If I was a DVD collector I would drop at least 1-start down on my review. The copy of Zygons is OK, but the main release is better and then that will at least...
Published 5 months ago by Stoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent set but could have had much more included, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Ken Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
Now there are points of view from both sides on this set, indeed even before they were released there were negative reviews put up about it and then positive reviews put up to counter those. The following is my take on this set that I received this past week. As always this review is based on my own point of view and I encourage you to make up your own minds and if you disagree with it then that's fine. As long as you don't insult others for not conforming to your viewpoint then vive la différence :-D (apologies for the length)

Now the intro/disclamer is out of the way I'll look at what the set includes point by point and mention the good and bad on each point:

* Time Capsule case - this is a good, sturdy container that seals via a magnetic strip. It holds its contents in foam molding that is stuck into the case firmly. Looks very well, perhaps a bit large and bulky to fit easy on a shelf but otherwise top marks for presentation.

* 2 DVDs and 1 CD - Terror of the Zygons (vanilla release), Interview With The Timelord (30 minute interview with Tom Baker)and Genesis of the Daleks on CD. Again Terror will be released with all the extras later in the year but it is nice to be able to view it on DVD at last. The interview with Tom is also good, however I feel there was a missed opportunity to add more. Perhaps they could have included The Tom Baker Years (only available as a double VHS set up to now)as it was an interesting look at him viewing clips from each episode he was in, then seeing his reactions and hearing stories he recalled from on set. As it is, 30 minutes is not enough for fans wanting to know more and at the price of this set extra interview footage would have been much appreciated. Genesis on CD is good to have of course but again I wish they would have added the Terror of the Zygons album containing the score by Geoffrey Burgon along with his work for The Seeds of Doom.

*Tomb of Valdemar - original BBC novel by Simon Messingham set during the Key To Time season. Before Who returned to TV with the 9th Doctor books like these featuring each incarnation of the Doctor were all we had along with the Big Finish audio-plays and comic strips to give us new stories. I have not read this just yet but look forward to doing so. The new cover resembles the walls of the Lord Presidents quarters on Gallifrey that the fourth Doctor took over during The Invasion of Time.

*Photo of the Fourth Doctor and portrait cards of all the Fourths companions - An excellent photo of Tom and very nicely produced cards of his companions. Not much else to say on it really.

*Regenerated Fourth Doctor in Third Doctors clothes - from Planet of the Spiders/Robot. Not sure on the particular vitriol on this, it seems to have had some minor re-sculpting of the Third Doctors torso at least where the frills on the shirt are (though I may be mistaken)and I think that the Fourths headsculpt is fine even if it was used on a previous release. Some call this lazy and shoddy I call it part of the business in reusing molds to save money. They made an effort at least, in my mind, to bring out a regenerated figure and often the home attempts are not always better by any means. So thumbs up for the figure.

*Sonic Screwdriver - The Fourth Doctors sonic screwdriver model, previously released by Character Options. A fine toy of the sonic. Yes it uses the ninth/tenth Doctors sonic soundchip but this was always the case for this toy and not a new problem for this set.

*Red lense - used to decipher the text on the DVD & CD cases.

*Reprinted letter from Tom, double sided - a nice touch of a letter Tom has written the purchasers of this set back in April. Very cool to have in my opinion, just a shame they couldn't have had him actually sign a random 50 or 100 so that some buyers would get something extra.

All in all I feel this is a nice set (not a DVD release as such)and am happy to have gotten it though I do feel it is somewhat overpriced. I have mentioned above what I feel could have been added to make it worth the price so I shall not repeat that here. At the end of it if you don't want to buy it then I can see why and if you do want to buy it I can see why as well. Don't let anyone make your mind up for you but yourself. As well as that do not let other reviews make you feel stupid for wanting/not wanting this set. Do as you will and more power to you :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends on what you collect, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
This is a bit of an overpriced 50th anniversary gimic for many. And is likely to not hold its original value and keep going down until all stocks are gone, then it may start to see a rise in a few years.

If I was a DVD collector I would drop at least 1-start down on my review. The copy of Zygons is OK, but the main release is better and then that will at least sit alongside your DVD collection. Same would apply for book or audio collectors

If you are a toy collector (as I am) then 3-stars reflects the exclusive Regeneration doctor which is a lovely little figure. Not quite work the original 60+ RRP - but completists like myself would need this figure and it comes with all the other bumf which can be sold or become part of the collection.

You also get the sonic toy - it's no replica but looks nice in a case.

I do love the box, the artwork and the letter from Tom - would look nice all framed up appropriately.

60 no, I paid 35 and was happy - possible future price is never clear, but 10 years from now who knows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who and the Time Capsule of Tat!!!, 31 July 2013
By 
E. RUSH - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
It really isn't worth the money and here's why...

The figure - This is simply a mash up of 2 previously released figures. They took the body from a 3rd Doctor figure and the head from a 4th Doctor figure.

Also, the figure is totally incongruous with the DVD. The figure is from the 3rd Doctor Story's 'Planet of the Spiders' and briefly 'Robot' - the 4th Doctor.

If they had re-tooled a totally unique figure for this set perhaps the Scottish beret outfit Tom baker wore in the included DVD 'Terror Of The Zygons', THEN it would have been good value.

The DVD - No special features, SF have become standard on most Doctor Who DVD releases now. This is just a clever ploy to not try and grab sales from the standard DVD which is being released in September.

The Sonic Screwdriver - While this may look the part it has one major flaw...the sound chip is completely wrong. They used the sound of the new series sonic screwdriver and not a sample of the classic 4th Doctor screwdriver. That's like having a talking Tom baker figure with a David Tennant voice. Very poor.

The rest of the contents - while it's nice to have them they are not really worth the current price tag.

Vote with your wallets and demand more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
At first i was quiet reluctant to buy this item because of the price, however when it went on black friday deals i quickly snapped the item up. I don't regret the purchase at all as its a great item for any fan of the 4th doctor, i especially love the personalised letter and the interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain Product during the Christmas period, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
Although this product is quite expensive (at the regular price), I was lucky enough to get it at a discount during the Christmas period. I would say this product would not be of interest to the casual fan, but for the hardcore fan I say, snap it up! Brilliant 30 minute interview with Tom Baker, the action figure and sonic screwdriver are both Character Option products and the box itself looks great on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collector's item, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
Those whinging about Zygons should be ignored. This is not a DVD set. It's a multi-merch set with Zygons thrown in for good measure. It's got one story on DVD, one exclusive figure, one CD, art cards and more. Definitely a neat gift set for a Tom Baker fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jellybaby in the rough., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good set, lovingly put together that will have a good place in a die hard doctor who fans collection. Not for the casual viewer though I don't think. Also a few of the things in the set are a bit half hearted but the story, the figure, the screwdriver and post cards are really good. The interview with tom baker should have been longer for the price of the set but it is very enjoyable. Recommended with caveats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...exceeds all expectations ... quality product, creativity of content and WHO themed design...", 25 July 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
Today, eyeofhorus.org.uk was given access to a sneak preview of the forthcoming THE FOURTH DOCTOR TIME CAPSULE, the limited edition (5000 unit worldwide and numbered on the reverse of the wraparound slip-cover) celebrating Tom Baker's contribution to the drama series.

Encapsulated within a substantial & solid "Gallifreyan casket" [probably 8" by 12" by 2.5" in size] (devoid of text or extraneous images bar a Regulatory BBFC Certificate logo), the contents are stored with die-cut padding for safe-keeping over the coming years.

We've been given assurance that the Tom Baker 5" highly detailed action figure (PLANET OF THE SPIDERS/ROBOT styled) will not be issued by CHARACTER OPTION separately.

The three discs (see below for details) are exquisitely designed with the Gallifreyan Rassilon logo, whilst the novel's cover features a 'time cogs' design (from INVASION OF TIME).

Furthermore, Tom Baker's 'letter to Fandom' is a double-sided tome that echoes his "...Fans created me...Their confidence gave me my confidence... I wanted to be wanted..." comments from the charming honest & candid on-camera AN INTERVIEW WITH THE TIME LORD. If you thought you knew the actor, this interview will change your mind. It is as close to a 'Confessional' you will get from him.

Tom Baker: "...Fan love is stronger than normal love..."

The vanilla copy of DOCTOR WHO - TERROR OF THE ZYGONS is a wonderful addition to the DOCTOR WHO DVD collection but, sadly, without the 'value added material' Extras some fans may wish to by this separately on the 30th September. However, I do query of the 'restoration process' as it could have been more thorough as the number of vertical scratches detract (in one scene, it looked as if Sarah-Jane was crying as the white scratches emulated tears. Ideally, this, due to the extensive location work captured on 35MM film, would have been an exceptional choice for Blu-ray release.

However, there a few questions to be asked or options considered (1) Why release the Extra'd version of TERROR OF THE ZYGONS so quickly after this product? Or include the Extra'd version in this product and set a 24-month moratorium for its singular release? (2) The letter from Tom Baker may have been better if the actor could have personally signed (at least) 1000 copies as part of a "Gold Edition" of the THE FOURTH DOCTOR TIME CAPSULE, embossed with a Seal of Authencity. (3) And why release this set now? Better pre-Christmas or at the beginning of 2014 or, to celebrate the 40th. anniversary of the Third/Fourth Doctor regeneration, on 8 June 2014?

Overall, from our sneak preview, THE FOURTH DOCTOR TIME CAPSULE exceeds all expectations in its level of production quality, creativity of content and DOCTOR WHO themed design, making it an ideal gift for any CLASSIC SERIES fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reccomended for fans!, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, for starters, ignore most of the people saying it's too pricey or it's capitalising or whatever, that's mainly from those who DON'T actually own it, only look at images of it.

Okay, so I'll keep it brief, definitely worth buying, the price seems discouraging but if you look on online stores (BBC Shop was where i bought mine) the price will be lower than the extortionate 89.99 it was being sold for in HMV in Manchester.

The set should be seen as a celebration for fans, both of Tom Baker's longest-serving Doctor and of the 50th Anniversary up and coming this year.

It's mainly a 'Oooh, look at this' showy kind of item, all arty and stuff, which is befitting considering it's limited to 5000 ever.

The price, bearing this in mind, will seem much more justified, if people would take it as more of a fancy centrepiece of a fan's doctor who collection, rather than just a means of forcing people to buy Terror Of The Zygons (which is great, by the way, 8/10).

In short, good, collectors item, with nice details and a lovely letter from Mr Baker, a book to read, if you're slow enough, until the 50th, nice art cards of characters, nice touches with a figure of his first appearance, and his most trusty tool (discounting K-9, of course), and finally, a lovely interview, story and audio disc.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my nephew who is doctor who mad and he is over the moon with it.
am satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The 4th Doctor Time Capsule [DVD]
49.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews