Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling historical drama
We've just watched this Channel Four docudrama, and found it completely enthralling. Set in early Victorian times it depicts the very start of the industrial revolution, and while the Gregg family, the main characters AND the Quarry Bank Mill are all real, the fact that direction, acting and that it was filmed in the mill itself all contribute to a powerful story of...
Published 11 months ago by Dic Penderyn

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Faulty disc
The first disc started to stick half way through episode 2 then jumped ahead so I missed approx. 15 minutes of the show. I did not return the DVD as disc 2 was fine so I did get to watch most of the series.
Published 9 months ago by lynn wagner


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling historical drama, 22 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
We've just watched this Channel Four docudrama, and found it completely enthralling. Set in early Victorian times it depicts the very start of the industrial revolution, and while the Gregg family, the main characters AND the Quarry Bank Mill are all real, the fact that direction, acting and that it was filmed in the mill itself all contribute to a powerful story of misery.
The misery was depicted by the poorest of the children at that time, those who are our ancestors, great, great grandparents and such, that made it all the more real.
Overall a gripping, moving and very educational programme, bottom line is that we would do well to remember what Esther and docherty went through to secure the present that we're able to enjoy today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mill, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Tm Gould "Tom" (Berkeley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliantly compelling. I have been watching this from the first episode and have been completely hooked on it from day one. I particularly like the way that it is very well acted and the way that it shows the harsh and unflinching realities of the Industrial revolution. These people seem to have been treated a little better than slaves and this is a shocking reflection of the fact that for a nation that became so affluent in the nineteenth century that the reality of this wealth was rather different and built on the backs of countless numbers of poor people and those who aspired to improve the lives of those who were worse off than them especially children. It portrays the cruel contradictions of this philanthropy with such finesse that it is definitely worthy of a second series. Although the pace slows a little at times, it still remains something that I immediately want to see again and that I believe is what makes a brilliant drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the mill dvd, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
Great story based on true accounts and very Immersive as a period drama.Recommended for any period drama fans.Highly recommended,well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great drama, fabulous music, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the programme and "the behind the scenes" was excellent. One of the best things about it was the atmospheric music. It was fabulous, shame that the makers of the dvd never mention to was behind it. They deserved to be listed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mill, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best TV series I have ever seen. It adds to the authenticity that it was shot at the real Quarry Bank Mill. Gripping from start to finish. Also good extras with the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tghe mill, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
this is a realy great movie that I truly enjoyed and realy love having it in my collection thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Roots, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this series when it was on TV but was delighted to find it on DVD and watched it all in one day .... feet up and snacks close by ........ a very relaxing (lazy) day spent. loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent., 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
I very much enjoyed this dvd, highly recommend it. :-) a deep insight into life in those times. A must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
Yes. I loved this series. Had watched it on the television but missed a couple of episodes, so this was a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depressingly excellent, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mill [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true story, well shot and rather depressing. I enjoyed it immensely, which gives me a slightly uneasy feeling. Is it right to enjoy something so cruel? I will tell myself that the acting was good, the camerawork of the highest quality, the dialogue and the direction very good indeed; that way I need not always remember that this was so accurate with respect to the misery of the mill workers. But it was a good story and well worth watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mill [DVD]
The Mill [DVD] by Jamie Draven (DVD - 2013)
12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews