Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fabulous
Do you know how old the rock strata is that you house sits on?

Do you know how many different rock types are in your vicinity and how they are?

Do you know what the hill you're walking on is mad of?

This brilliant app tells you all this for all on the UK. If you have any interest in geology, this will answer a lot of your questions.
Published 8 months ago by A. Butler

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for its purpose
I am not able to put in a Grid Reference as it consistently reverts to AN
I do not think that it is fit for purpose
Published 1 month ago by Traveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fabulous, 11 Feb 2014
By 
A. Butler "tanj666" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
Do you know how old the rock strata is that you house sits on?

Do you know how many different rock types are in your vicinity and how they are?

Do you know what the hill you're walking on is mad of?

This brilliant app tells you all this for all on the UK. If you have any interest in geology, this will answer a lot of your questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super App., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
So easy to navigate and handle to inform of the geology of any given place, both surface and underlying structure. The app is an almost ideal entertainment for both adults and younger people on journeys, trying to spot the evidence in the scenery by knowing over what we are travelling. Yes, you really can do this, there is much you can easily identify visually. It is a considerable help to amuse during those almost inevitable hold ups we all experience on so many journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
At the click of a button tjhis app will inform you of the age and bedrock type in any given area, interesting and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This rocks!, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
Sorry about the pun, but what an excellent app. Thank you BGS for putting this out for free. A super map with options detailing the rock types around the UK. An excellent educational tool and fun for geology fans. And proof, if you needed it, that the UK has the most diverse and interesting structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Geology App, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
The concept is great and it's free so 5 stars, an improvement would be the ability to cache maps. Other than that love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant app, interesting and useful., 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
Interesting and actually possibly useful in the real world for all sorts of reasons.

Brilliant that its free...a truly wonderful resource, the type of app and free info that makes the internet one of the 'best things ever'.

Its well laid out, works smoothly and is easy as pie to use The information, from historical boreholes etc (from the 1800s onwards, you can access all the survey data going back to when they started recording it)), is very quickly accessed without problems, as long as your internet is running at a good speed...I found it a little slow to load when on mobile data...but then there is sometimes quite a lot to DL when its map layers and things like the ACTUAL borehole report in a scanned document from when the geologist was in the field....any issue with slow mobile internet, (or no data allowance lol) is actually SOLVED bya feature on the APP, in that the last area (not sure how much, but the instructions are in the app readme..I havent used it because I havent been anywhere without a data signal)) viewed are saved on your phone/tablet..so if you know where you are going, just save it before you leave...cool!

I cant fault it really...a must have for Geologists (naturally), surveryors....hell, even Fossil Hunters will find this VERY sueful, given they can identify any areas near them (or where they are going) that are perhaps fossil bearing rocks...

Just great, and THANKS for releasing this amazing info for free to us!

All we need now is a GLOBAL iGeology...once other countries survey their lands to as much detail as the UK has (and Im sure they have but dont release the data so freely perhaps)...we will have it Im sure : D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all beneath your feet - go and look at it!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
This is one of the best and most useful computer-based apps I've ever seen: the range of information is amazing. One can look up the geology of any part of Britain very quickly and get outline information on every rock formation in the country. Well done to BGS for making this available - and even more for making it free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GORGEOUS GEOLOGY APP THAT ROCKS!, 8 April 2014
By 
Steve - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
This app is an absolute steal to be able to get it for free. The map of our geological landscape is stunning and when you look at the other info provided about our geology plus the work of this venerable gov't dept you get a complete picture of all that is solid beneath our feet. This app is priceless for students, geologists and people who have only a fleeting interest in geology, indeed it should be used by all of us as we all own a stake in it through our taxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
This is a version of the Geology of Britain Viewer which is adapted for tablets. It works fine on my Kindle Fire. An excellent app and free. This is useful for those of us who wish to avoid giving money to tax avoiders and are thus restricted to free apps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My name is Terry and I'm a map nerd. ..., 17 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iGeology (App)
My name is Terry and I'm a map nerd. I'm also a bit of a geology geek. Put the two together and this app is procrastination heaven. Damn you BGS: so many maps, so little time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

iGeology
iGeology by British Geological Survey
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews