Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's still Jason...
A grittier and more serious outing for Mr Statham who shows that he can seriously act. The film is not void of the typical fight scenes which are well choreographed, numerous and graphic. Cinematography is spot on as is picture quality on DVD and it's great seeing it based in London.
Agata Buzek gives a well rounded performance, complimenting and perhaps enhancing...
Published 7 months ago by PF Cope

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU WANT TO BE A GOOD MAN, BE A GOOD MAN
Joey (Jason Statham) is a vet with severe PTSD. He lives as a street urchin and knows the nun Cristina (Agata Buzek) from the soup kitchen. After getting beat up pretty bad, he stumbles upon some "luck." He cleans up his act and gets a job at a Chinese kitchen, where the owner discovers Joey can hurt people (never mind the two broken ribs he is nursing). Joey...
Published 21 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's still Jason..., 4 Aug. 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A grittier and more serious outing for Mr Statham who shows that he can seriously act. The film is not void of the typical fight scenes which are well choreographed, numerous and graphic. Cinematography is spot on as is picture quality on DVD and it's great seeing it based in London.
Agata Buzek gives a well rounded performance, complimenting and perhaps enhancing that of Jason's and this pair do go well together in the context of the moving storyline.
The end result, in my opinion, is a well deserved five stars for a film which will stand a repeat performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed., 5 July 2013
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
There seems to be a lot of prejudice against "action films" among film critics and regular cinema-goers alike. I am studying film at university, and I regularly sit in a room full of people from around the world who I know for a fact would laugh in my face if I told them I'd just bought a Jason Statham film on DVD. For example, I said to several people this week: "Have you seen Hummingbird, the new Jason Statham film?", to which the reply was, basically every time, something like "I'm not really an action movie person". It's understandable where people get the idea from that 'the new Jason Statham film' will be more in the same vain as some of his previous action outings such as The Transporter or Crank - he's got that kind of following, I suppose. However, as I find with many films, if you are prepared to set aside any preconceptions and give it a chance, Hummingbird will not disappoint.

Before I'd even seen the film, I saw a 2 star review on a website. Frankly, I think whoever is writing these 2 star reviews needs to pull their head out of their arse. I'm sure they would instantly change it to a 4 or star 5 review if the lead role was played by a more fashionable actor, rather than that guy from The Expendables.

The story is rich, without being over complicated. It fits together perfectly. It filled me with love, hate, hope and despair. It will break your heart, but in such a poetic way that you want it to keep going. Whether you like it or not Jason Statham is perfect for the job. Hummingbird is a Jason Statham film, but that doesn't mean it's a pedal to the metal, blood splattered explosion.

Agata Buzek who plays Cristina had previously flown under my radar, but having seen Hummingbird, I will certainly be investigating her previous and looking forward to her future work. Her character, a Catholic nun, is the perfect partner to Statham's Joey Jones, as unlikely as it seems. A small but perfectly performed role from Vicky McClure (best known as Lol from This Is England) adds another piece to the story, and another tear to your eye.

If the reason you might buy this film is because you like other films that Jason Statham has been in - buy it - you won't be disappointed. My DVD collection contains everything from Lock Stock to Death Race. Personally, though I really enjoy watching him in the more action packed, stunt based films, I really liked seeing Statham in a film that was based around and driven by a more complex character. In my opinion, he absolutely nails the performance, is perfect for the role and there is nobody who could have done it better.

If the reason you might buy this film is not because you're a Jason Statham fan, but maybe enjoyed previous films written by Steven Knight (Dirty Pretty things, Eastern Promises) - buy it - you won't be disappointed either. The feeling I had as I sat watching the credits of this film in the cinema was the same feeling you get when you've just finished a long book with the perfect ending. It is a truly brilliant story.

If the reason you might buy this film is because you saw the trailer and it looks beautiful, intriguing and you want to know what happens - buy it - you will certainly not be disappointed. Whatever kind of films you enjoy, you would have to be pretty thick skinned not to appreciate Hummingbird and the performances in it. I go to the cinema around once a week, and this was without a doubt my favourite cinema experience of the last 12 months, and the only film I went back to see for a second time.

In short, I very, very highly reccommend Hummingbird. On every level. To everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU WANT TO BE A GOOD MAN, BE A GOOD MAN, 8 July 2013
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Joey (Jason Statham) is a vet with severe PTSD. He lives as a street urchin and knows the nun Cristina (Agata Buzek) from the soup kitchen. After getting beat up pretty bad, he stumbles upon some "luck." He cleans up his act and gets a job at a Chinese kitchen, where the owner discovers Joey can hurt people (never mind the two broken ribs he is nursing). Joey becomes their muscle. His character is a confused mess of being altruistic, vigilante, and bad man.

He feels he must avenge the death of another street urchin, although her character and their relationship had about zero development. The action scenes are quick while there are long scenes of him having conversation with a nun, which seriously is not Statham's long suit. If you want to just watch the beat 'em up Statham, you can fast forward through 95% of the film.

I am not sure why Statham decided to take on such a complex character, he doesn't pull it off too well. 3 stars is a stretch.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief audio sex and nude pictures of men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Statham is down and out and angry on the streets of London., 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A fine film with Jason Statham in the role of Joey the Afghan war veteran suffering from PTSD on the run and wanted by the establishment. Statham's Joey has been reduced to a street living underdog hiding and trying to forget his past. He is joined by Agata Buzek as Christina the nun who bumps into Joey while running a soup kitchen.

Joey eventually picks himself out of the gutter and tries to put himself right but fate intervenes. Alcohol on Joey has a calming effect. When he is sober and fit he tends to solve problems directly the only way a trained soldier can do - with plenty of violence - before hitting the bottle again.

A film that is deeper than your average Statham movie and has some subtle performences from the actors. The film has many generous and well filmed views of central London which adds to the atmosphere of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Stath' at his best, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was immersed in this story straight away and felt fully involved all the way through. You might question some of the actions of the Nun but hey I don't have any experience of the underbelly of London, nor the pressures of keeping a faith - and wouldn't want to! Glad the final act was fulfilling and just deserts we're delivered! I'm not sure this film has been given the credit it deserves, it shows that Jason can deliver both action and pathos in one believable story, including pretending to be gay - for plot reasons!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrills galore, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very different from the start and quite unexpected so gather up and read, He is a bum a useless person until he gets pushed to the limit so now he has got to tidy up his act and become a gentleman just to take revenge. He takes someone else's home and wont take no for an answer so don't upset him, The upper class isn't his style but things are only for the taking anyway. The things he does and the ideas keep coming thick and fast so put on your running shoes to keep up with this show. First class acting with a story line like this you have got it made. Now not to much more as over doing it by telling all spoils it, so I rated this an A grade plus for the holding of my interest from beginning to end, with so much fantastic ideas that will have you glued to the chair with so much excitement you won't know where you are. Gather up the popcorn grab the movie, well try to relax with your feet up and watch a fabulous movie, now get ready for a great night of entertainment and watch out for the oops, sorry no more enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Masterpiece, Bold, Brilliant and Utterly Unforgettable!, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Jason Statham is usually in all out action movies that are very brilliant indeed. Statham is in a lot of good films eg. "The Mechanic", "Killer Elite", "Blitz", "The Expendables" etc. But this is different from any other film he has done. It's a powerhouse thriller that is going to be on your mind for ages after you watch. It really is a powerful film with an absolutely brilliant performance by Statham.

Statham plays the role of Joey Jones an ex-special forces officer on the run. He is homeless and lost in a deadly haze of drugs and drink. He attempts to piece his life back together with the help of Sister Christina, a nun helping the poor. Joey gets employed as a collector by the local mob boss. He soon learns the identity of a friends murderer and bent on revenge he finds himself sinking deeper into a dark world of violence and brutality.

The film has positive reviews about it which list this film as the performance of Statham's career. You can see why. It's definitely one of the best films he has ever done. It is a thriller so if you are expecting all out action then this film is not for you. However if your a proper film fan or your into more of a complex variety of films then this is definitely worth a watch. The film has everything, a great story, great acting, great characters & dialogue. It's an AMAZING journey.

In my opinion I think it is an absolute masterpiece that I have already watched multiple times after buying it from Amazon the day of it's release and am going to watch many more times. This is truly one those great films that raises the bar as a landmark in film making. There really are no words that sum up the brilliant performance by Statham. Absolutely outstanding film. Loved every bit of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I love Jason Statham in all his films but he excelled himself in this one. Keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STATHAM STUNS! SHADES OF BOGART AND BERGMAN!, 7 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Redemption [US Import] [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region A] (Blu-ray)
I've never really thought of Jason Statham as a great actor, but he certainly delivers in 'Redemption' (aka: Mockingbird). The film is a top notch thriller and a great social commentary too.

Joey (Jason Statham) is wracked with guilt from all the killing he did in Afghanistan, but what can trained killers do, when they return home from wars? Keep on killing? Or drink themselves insensible so that they are no longer a danger to anyone? Joey chooses the latter, but fate drags him back to sobriety and more killing. The relationship between Joey and Sister Christina is like the melding of two damaged souls, it is seriously so well handled it is hard to imagine even Bogart and Bergman playing it better.

A country mile from the more formulaic of his films, but his fans will still find plenty to enjoy. Some realistic fight scenes that don't disappoint. Watching even the toughest looking baddie vs Joey is like watching a mouse vs a mouse trap. Definitely one of the very best films Jason Statham has been involved in. Definitely not your average JS movie, but quite possibly his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason does it again, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Good story Jason once again keeps you stuck to your seat

Action as expected but an softer second thread
This was a very watchable film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Redemption   [US Import] [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region A]
Redemption [US Import] [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region A] by Jason Statham (Blu-ray - 2013)
£4.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews