Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot Better than I Feared
I was one of EA’s biggest critics when they brought this game out last year with ‘small’ cities, the constant online requirement and the necessity to co-operate with others online annoyed me. I recently started re-playing simcity 4 but it kept crashing on windows 8.1. Then someone recommended Anno 2070, which is fine if you like water and a linear plot...
Published 2 months ago by sirmascot

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a while
It's initially good fun to play, but the fact that cities are so small and limited in size, and wit no terrain editor to create your own maps it become a little boring quite quickly. After a week I was bored of it having built some nice cities.

It's also seems to be not as in depth as previous version. Still waiting for ta offline mode to keep me amused when on...
Published 2 months ago by JP Morrissey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot Better than I Feared, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I was one of EA’s biggest critics when they brought this game out last year with ‘small’ cities, the constant online requirement and the necessity to co-operate with others online annoyed me. I recently started re-playing simcity 4 but it kept crashing on windows 8.1. Then someone recommended Anno 2070, which is fine if you like water and a linear plot line, but it didn’t fill the craving. So I decided to take the plunge and purchase the basic game of SimCity 5. Best decision I ever made, yes EA are greedy (just look at Dungeon Keeper mobile for further proof), but they know how to make a good game that sucks you in and is very atmospheric. Here is what I found:
1. You can play solo, you just make your region private and build all the cities yourself. Or just invite your friends.
2. No server issues now, I was able to play whenever I wanted for as long as I wanted.
3. You will enjoy the cooperation between cities, and like me will probably want to coop after a bit.
4. Yes the cities aren’t huge, but then you specialise in one city and build another for different things. For instance you can have a university in one city that serves the region and mining in another city to serve the region. You can even have one large police station or fire service to serve the entire region, this frees up space in other cities.
5. There are regions where everyone has to cooperate to build a massive project, like a space station or international airport. This will take resources from all the cities so a lot of solo effort or team work required.
6. You can follow every sim and ask them for opinions. Responding to their requests appeals to the god like responsibility of being the mayor (in a God game).

I have now upgraded to the deluxe version, then I panicked when my city was attacked by a giant red Barney/Godzilla monster, only to laugh with relief when it devoured all my garbage before expiring. This game has some minor issues but they are overshadowed by the sheer quality, ingenuity and enjoyment of the game. If you liked the original series, or you’re a fan of building empires, this game is for you.
PC wise my pc is pretty new, with an average graphics card, 16GB RAM and running windows 8.1. Not sure how it will run on an older pc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a while, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It's initially good fun to play, but the fact that cities are so small and limited in size, and wit no terrain editor to create your own maps it become a little boring quite quickly. After a week I was bored of it having built some nice cities.

It's also seems to be not as in depth as previous version. Still waiting for ta offline mode to keep me amused when on the train.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars does not work, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
wont load or even attempt to open, seriously the ea help line are useful as chocolate teapots.....how do i get refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
the map sizes are too small and theres only 1 road in or out the city is why I give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Shuggy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It works with Windows 8.1, the gameplay is okay but the area you can build on for your city really needs to be at least 3 times the size. Once you work out where your resources are and build the required buildings to extract the Oil, Coal or Water from these reserves then it doesn't leave much room for building your city. The one thing I don't like is you can't pump water from the sea to make sure you have an endless supply of water. You pop a pumping station down on a good reserve of water in your water table and its not long before you begin to "run dry" beneath that station, so you have to build more in other areas...eventually the water runs out and you will have to buy from your neighbours...even if you have the sea right there in your area. In Sim City 4 you could pump water from the sea but you can't do it in this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make sure your computer is up to the task, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The game play is great, having people coming from other cities to spend and make money in yours is cool, and with so many ways to specialise. The only down side is my laptop graphics card isn't fast enough so I've had to lower the graphics! But they are still impressive! Definitely a worthwhile purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic reborn, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The classic city simulator with a modern online play element to it. Great game and now I've finally upgraded my graphics card I can finally play it smoothly :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Mar 2014
By 
J. Eames - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
So disappointing, waited this long till after launch to review incase it got better, I feel so sad EA killed my favorite game series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but repetitive, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It is a good game don't get me wrong but once you play it for a few hours/days it can get slightly boring. A problem I found is with the city boundaries, some of them are too small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good game Love it, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SimCity [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Recommend For any one who love sim city strategy game (City-Building Simulation), The game is considered to be a reboot of the SimCity series Unlike previous games in the series, the game has non-orthogonal and curved roads and zoning areas that can conform to different road types.Types of zones will include residential, commercial and industrial.The density is driven by the types of roads built around these zones,Cities in a region are connected to each other via predefined regional networks such as highways, railways, and waterways. Elements such as traffic and air pollution are visible flowing between cities.Cities can trade resources or share public services with their neighbors like garbage collection or health care. Cities can also pool their collective wealth and resources to build a "great work" to provide benefits for the entire region like a massive solar power plant or an international airport. The larger the region, the higher is the number of cities and great works that can be built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa55c2c0c)

This product

SimCity  [Online Game Code]
SimCity [Online Game Code] by Electronic Arts
25.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews