Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Candy Candy Bubblegum pop?
This compilation is actually the third three disc set that follows on from Honey Honey and Sugar Sugar. Both of those previous compilations celebrated bubblegum pop and I feel that they did just that very well with classic bubble gum type tracks from the sixties and seventies when the term Bubble gum pop was best known, I really liked those albums but didn't write a...
Published 11 months ago by Miss M. Potter

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oldy Pop
Only a handful of songs that I actually like and, unfortunately, they seem to be on different discs. I guess it was worth the money just to get Dead or Alive's song!
Published 10 months ago by Mrs C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Candy Candy Bubblegum pop?, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
This compilation is actually the third three disc set that follows on from Honey Honey and Sugar Sugar. Both of those previous compilations celebrated bubblegum pop and I feel that they did just that very well with classic bubble gum type tracks from the sixties and seventies when the term Bubble gum pop was best known, I really liked those albums but didn't write a review since there were already other great reviews by other reviewers.
Here on this new compilation I have to say that as a compilation of pop music it is really good and if you like music from the 1980s then this is excellent since most of the tracks come from that decade. I cannot fault the variety of tracks,
However there is an issue for me. This compilation is a bit of stretch of the imagination to call it bubble gum pop. With tracks like Respectable by Mel and Kim, Heartache by pepsi and Shirley I would not think of them as bubble gum pop,
However having said that it is a brave attempt to push the third compilation into a new area by picking tracks dominantly from the 1980s that have some similarity to bubble gum tracks of the earlier editions.
Clever choices, at least by title are Candy Girl by New Edition (not the single version) and I want candy by Bow wow wow. But other tracks like You spin me round like a record by Dead or Alive are more like dance pop records.
There are some tracks, although not many, from the seventies such as Fox and S s single bed that help to give it a atmosphere of the previous compilations.
The original compilation was Sugar Sugar and had begun with the song Sugar Sugar by the Archers. The second compilation borrowed the words Honey Honey from the same song and now this compilation uses the Candy word also from the same song. The album uses the same style of artwork as the previous two and also uses a proclamation The "Heyday of Bubble gum Pop" which is similar to the previous compilations that said " The Birth of Bubble gum pop" and "the sound of bubble gum pop" I am not convinced about it being the Heyday but it is a good compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
This CD brings back so many great memories of growing up. Takes you back in time for sure. Will probably be buying the other CD's in this range it's so good. Speedy delivery. Couldn't ask for more. Thank you very much. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great 80s memories brought back to life., 22 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Candy Candy (MP3 Download)
Ordered this after seeing it advertised on TV.
Being an 80's teenager this really appealed to me.

Apart from the odd song that made me wonder 'why this one?' I am really pleased with the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many memories, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
Cheesy throughout but so many memories and I like it, Have made a copy for the car and the auto rip is a perfect, always on in the background
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars woop woop, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
i seem to have no money when these were my 'songs' so its great to get them all together. already on walkman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
great procuct
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Papageno "Limpet" (Devon,South West, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
Feel good factor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
brings back memories good cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lots of brilliant tunes, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Joyner "Sally" (shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
I loved this cd, 3 discs of brilliant tunes which I haven't heard for ages. I played it over and over in the car while travelling to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It must be good!., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy Candy (Audio CD)
I got this copy for a friend who heard my cd and nagged me to get her a cd.like myself she is an elvis Presley nut and don't normally listen to anything else.she played this disc and enjoyed the varied sounds of the various artists on this compilation as it's unlike many of the other so called 70's compilations CDs .there is quite a few big hits that are not found on other compilation CDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Candy Candy
Candy Candy by Various (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews