Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the modern Dreamweaver
Firstly I concur with the 2-star review, there are some annoying errors in the book - although I didn't find as many as he has listed. Still, for a technical reference book there shouldn't be and that is annoying. There's also one big issue that he doesn't mention, the exercises in the chapter on writing code are tricky to do on a modern Mac. That's because the suggested...
Published 23 days ago by S. D. Spicer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some good lessons spoilt by annoying errors and omissions
I had better explain that I am new to Dreamweaver so that people converting from DW CS6 to this new CC version should probably skip this review. Having used the obsolete Adobe GoLive CS2 until recently I am fairly knowledgeable as far as HTML5 and CSS3 are concerned, but completely new to Dreamweaver. In the past I have relied on and enjoyed a number of the Classroom in a...
Published 9 months ago by Geoff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some good lessons spoilt by annoying errors and omissions, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had better explain that I am new to Dreamweaver so that people converting from DW CS6 to this new CC version should probably skip this review. Having used the obsolete Adobe GoLive CS2 until recently I am fairly knowledgeable as far as HTML5 and CSS3 are concerned, but completely new to Dreamweaver. In the past I have relied on and enjoyed a number of the Classroom in a Book (CIB) series and a month ago gave a 5 star review to Adobe Lightroom 5 CIB.

First, the bad points. It is disappointing to me that I can only give this CIB 2 stars; it would have been three or four but for some really irritating errors, too many quite inexcusable omissions from the lesson files (which you download from the Peachpit web site) and things like the wrong picture being used in the text - all of these should have been picked up by the authors and editors. Where timings are given for each lesson, beginners should probably double or triple these. By the time you have searched for a required file that is not where you are told to look, or looked in vain for an unfamiliar icon or panel somewhere on the screen (but you are not usually told where to look), you will have spent a lot of extra time and got annoyed in the process! If you are a novice like me, you may find a number of the explanations quite ambiguous. Despite following the instructions carefully it is sometimes possible to end up with a result that is not the same as in the book. I doubt if anyone converting from CS6 to CC would have this problem, as they should have the overall knowledge and confidence to fill in any gaps in the explanations in the CIB.

Peachpit has not done its job properly, as these sorts of errors should have been picked up during the editing/checking process. Charging a premium price for a book that has not been checked properly leads one to question the quality of other current publications from Peachpit Press. Here are some statistics: during the past 5 weeks I have sent 6 emails to Peachpit listing 54 errata in Lessons 3 to 11 inclusive. Peachpit has always replied promptly and politely, and I see that the Lesson09.zip file was updated yesterday (17 Oct 2013), so things should improve.

Now for the good points. The content is fairly extensive and where the lessons are error free they are both enjoyable and instructive. I did sometimes find that they did not go far enough and cover some of the more advanced points; for that, another book or Adobe's online material will be required. Remember that this is NOT a reference book so the Index at the back only covers what is in the lessons. In fact, as a quick reference, I have also purchased and benefitted from Dreamweaver CC For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) which is designed so that you can dip into it when you need details of something specific that you have forgotten.

In conclusion, were it not for rather too many errors, this would have been an excellent way of learning the basics of Dreamweaver CC. For those converting from DW CS6 to CC, it should be useful although it does not go out of its way to identify features that are new in DW CC. For newcomers to Dreamweaver who purchase this, allow extra time for the lessons and don't always assume that it is your fault when things go wrong. If/when the second edition is published it will hopefully be up to the usual standard of the CIB series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the modern Dreamweaver, 30 Jun 2014
By 
S. D. Spicer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I concur with the 2-star review, there are some annoying errors in the book - although I didn't find as many as he has listed. Still, for a technical reference book there shouldn't be and that is annoying. There's also one big issue that he doesn't mention, the exercises in the chapter on writing code are tricky to do on a modern Mac. That's because the suggested application, Textedit, doesn't emit plain text html under Mavericks.

Having given it the thumbs down then why four stars? To be truthful I considered three, but at the end of the day this is still one of the better introductions to what is now a heavyweight - and in my opinion - no longer an entry level web authoring piece of software. If you just want to make a website visually, Adobe Muse, the sister product is the better bet.

On the other hand if you do want a through grounding in 'proper' web design and are prepared to work through this book then you will get there. On the way you will learn things that not only you will use in webpages, but also in ePub, iBooks and other things that use modern web technologies as a foundation.

Don't expect instant results. This is not something you will learn in a weekend, and you will have to constantly re-skill. But you will emerge with a strong knowledge of web technologies and be able to really understand how these things work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classroom in a Book, 1 Jan 2014
The classroom in a book series always prove to be a good media to learn a subject. This book continues to prove that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making CCS and web-building easier, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Dreamweaver CC Classroom in a Book (Kindle Edition)
Dreamweaver is a great tool for building and publishing web content. As a noob in this field I have found the classroom in a book series to be fantastic for making the most out of addobe creative cloud. Currently I am steaming my way through Flash animator & ilustrator. Once I have completed these tutorials I will get stuck into dreamweaver.

For those (like me) that purchased dreamweaver classroom in a book for CS6 and then updated to cc - there have been a lot of changes to the dreamweaver tools layout and functionality. This makes following the examples in the book very hard and I would strongly advise biting the bullet and laying out for this updated version. Really looking forward to starting this as I know from adobe.tv that there are tons of new cool features for across platform web content design that the previous version (CS6) did not have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Dreamweaver CC Classroom in a Book
19.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews