Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant phone
If you spend £500 on a mobile phone you must be mad! This phone is nearly a quarter of the price and is brilliant. Have bought both of my teenage daughters this phone and they love it. The camera is of a high quality and the phone has all the features of most of the high end phones. These cubot phones from China are brilliant and just as good as any of the so called...
Published 9 months ago by Jeffers

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall, but a few "buts" you should be aware of
Note: I bought this phone, in white, from another website.

I have used the phone for 6 months now, and I must say that overall I am rather satisfied.
Screen is of very good quality and considering the money paid, it's a pretty good phone. Oh, and you get two batteries, so buy yourself a battery charger and you will virtually never run out of juice again...
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant phone, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
If you spend £500 on a mobile phone you must be mad! This phone is nearly a quarter of the price and is brilliant. Have bought both of my teenage daughters this phone and they love it. The camera is of a high quality and the phone has all the features of most of the high end phones. These cubot phones from China are brilliant and just as good as any of the so called 'brands' that we have on the high street. Don't waste your money and buy one of these...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall, but a few "buts" you should be aware of, 19 Aug 2014
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
Note: I bought this phone, in white, from another website.

I have used the phone for 6 months now, and I must say that overall I am rather satisfied.
Screen is of very good quality and considering the money paid, it's a pretty good phone. Oh, and you get two batteries, so buy yourself a battery charger and you will virtually never run out of juice again. And it looks good.

Now, as someone stated, you get what you pay for. The "build quality" is not as good as with mainstream (more expensive phones). I dropped mine a couple of times from a relatively low height onto a soft surface and the phone has now developed a very annoying fault: the screen switches itself off randomly and only removing the battery solves the issue. By comparison, my girlfriend has done worst to her iPhone and the thing is going like on its first day!

Also (and independently from the drop), the wifi signal sometimes drops and the notification light has never worked. In terms of software, the phone seems to "reset itself" from time to time - not a full factory reset, but 3rd party keyboard and customised ringtones need to be reset regularly. Camera is alright but the autofocus is not great, so the resulting photos are not the best.

The worst - part 1: putting the niggling problems above mentioned, there is no official upgrade planned. I have rooted my phone so I need to figure out now how and if I can upgrade it to Kitkat. Since Cubot is not a mainstream brand, it is hard to find help on the Internet.

The worst - part 2: the internal memory. There's a claimed 8GB of internal memory. But the way it's been divided, there's only 1GB available to install apps. Yes you can extend the overall memory with SD cards but apps will always leave a footprint on this internal space, and it fills up quickly.

The best - part 1: how fast it is. Right now I have 4 games running and there's barely any lag. Really impressed by the phone's multitasking abilities.

The best - part 2: chances are you had Samsung or Sony or HTC before. So this will be new to you: as far as I could see, there's absolutely no bloatware on this phone. The only Cubot-created annoying thing is the little jingle when you start the phone; root your phone and it takes 2 minutes to remove the cr@p mp3 file.

Would I buy a non mainstream phone again? Not in the near future, but it's nothing to do with the problems mentioned in this review. This Cubot is my first "big" phone and I hate it. I normally carry my phone in my pocket and this juggernaut (13cm in length) does not fit well. Walking would get the screen activated and my friends have countless voicemails from me with only pocket noise. I now have a screenlock, but the phone now ends up on the emergency dialer. Oops.

I need to go back to a 4inch screen phone, and most of, if not all, non mainstream phones are at least 4.5 inches. To be fair to them, choices are pretty limited in the world of mainstream phones anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality release from Cubot, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Vinay (Eastleigh, Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
The Cubot One is one of Cubot's top end phones and is designed to look like the HTC One, although there are a few differences in appearance and the spec. It comes in Black, Silver, White, Red variants, and the red version, which was rare now seems to be available. Having already bought a Cubot GT99 - 4.5 Inch IPS HD screen (1280x720px) Android 4.2 Quad Core 1.2GHz Smartphone dual SIM 1GB RAM 12.0MP Camera GPS (Red,Black,white) I was pleased when a friend who was leary of ordering from China asked me if I would order the Cubot One for him. "Sure" I said - "as long I get to play with it for a week or two".

The unit was purchased from Pandawill and the first surprise was that the language was set to Russian(!). Also the Go Launcher EX had been installed - this changes the appearance of the screens completely from what you see in the Amazon stock images. I believe these are customisations from this particular retailer, other sellers of the One all seem to show the standard images. The phone came with 2 2200mAH batteries, plastic back protector, a screen protector (already fitted), EU plug AC adapter, USB cable and earphones.

There is a power button at the top and a volume button on the left. The headphone socket is also at the top, and the USB/power connector is bottom left - as is the microphone hole. The Antutu score using Antutu 3.4 is ~13500. Despite this high score, playing a game like Temple Run 2 seemed a little jerky, which was very surprising given the high processor spec. Other less intensive games seemed to be OK.

Comparision with GT99
The phone is 5mm taller than the GT99 and 2mm wider, and hence is almost exactly the same size as the Samsung S3. The back cover is a matt black finish and it does feel like a premium phone although I heard a couple of squeaks when I squeezed the phone, so the back is not completely rigid. The screen size is 4.7 inches vs 4.5 for the GT99 and when watching an identical video on both, the colours seem slightly richer on the One compared to the GT99. The big improvement was GPS performance with the One being able to get a lock on several satellites within 10-15 seconds - the GT99 did not lock within 5 minutes. The specs of the internals are similar, but the One has 8GB ROM vs 4GB for the GT99. This can be expanded with a microSD card. Both phones support 2 SIMs - the GT99 takes 2 mini SIMs, the One takes 1 mini SIM and 1 micro SIM. When charging the One does not have a notification light, which seems a strange omission.

So is the phone worth the extra $30 / £20 over the Cubot GT99? If you need a working GPS, I would say yes. Otherwise The GT99 probably offers better value for money. If the Temple Run 2 experience had been smoother perhaps I'd be giving this a higher recommendation. Cubot have a very basic website and forum requests asking to release Android 4.3 (or to publish the 4.2 source) appear to be falling on deaf ears. So just like with the GT99 (or any Chinese phone), don't count on any future Android updates - just make sure the phone as supplied satisfies your needs. Anyway if you own this, I am sure you'll be happy with it because overall it's an impressive unit.

Update (02 Nov)
Several Chinese sites are now selling the red model, and some of these state that it has a faster 1.5GHz processor. After checking various websites, it seems there is currently a mixture of 1.2GHz (MTK6859) and 1.5GHz (MTK6859T) product out there - and both speeds seem available in all colours, so take care buying. Anyway, if you can get the turbo version, given that the speaker phone works poorly on the GT99, I'd now rate this phone above the GT99 - the One also comes with 2 batteries, compared to 1 for the GT99.

Update (13 Dec)
A friend got the Red MTK6859T variant and it is faster than the 1200MHz model. Looks pretty neat, the red is a metallic red sheen. Came with the Go Launcher Ex installed. Interestingly only one battery was included with the phone. I've seen people mention that tougher airmail restrictions on Li-Ion batteries are causing some Chinese sellers to ship reduced # of batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Phone for cost, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
I have a Galaxy S4 and needed a second phone , have to say i cannot notice any difference in performance between the two , ok the camera is inferior to the s4 more like a s2 camera but it is very fast , once i had rooted it and installed nobloat then removed the dodgy launcher that it came with underneath is stock android which works perfectly , installed new start-up animations and removed the dodgy music now looks and performs like a Google edition htc one , the volume is on the left hand side so i trimmed a htc one case to fit and now its perfect , seriously recommend this phone.Also came with a spare battery , charger usb cable and relatively decent earphones , it also takes 2 sims which is handy.
Pretty amazing that Shanzhai phones are now catching up to big manufacturers !!
PS the one i received was metallic red which looks good but you need to specify the colour from the seller if red is not your thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great as expected, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
When it comes to the product you cant be mistaked by this smartphone. It offers every Android Experience you would expect and with a great price.

I got the black version... i believe the silver would be more close to HTC One copy... but it is as good as it gets. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - with some reservations, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Cambridge Ian (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
Had this for a month and used it everyday as my work and personal phone (love dual sim), irts a near copy of an HTC one but the volume buttons are on the opposite side and the camera flash isn't in the same place, these minor changes stop you using many HTC one cases.

I found that the proporta gecko case is perfect though: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Proporta-Gecko-Leather-Smartphone-Universal/dp/B00DIKGJQS

Overall:

The plus side:

Value - how can this be available at this price?

Screen - perfect, no dead pixels

Battery - you get 2 and the phone will run all day on one, in standby it will last for 3 + days with ease.

Dual sim - works well with Orange, T mobile and Tesco (the only 3 I have access to) - one is mini the other is micro, 3g mode can be swapped from sim to sim at will and each sim can be assigned a name and a colour, texts can be sent from either sim card quickly and easily.

Call quality - good

Package - quality apple like box and supplied with ear buds, micro usb lead, 2 batteries, 2 screen protectors and a case (covers back and sides)

The Bad (or not so good)

OS - no obvious way to upgrade andriod - so expect to stay on 4.2 (not a big deal really)

OS - some widgets do not install and the launcher isn't the best - but you can learn to live with it.

And that is about it - for £130 delivered this is an amazing piece of kit, with sim only plans starting at £7.50 a month this handset will save many people lots of cash.

I got this to try out the usefulness of dual sim phones and I'm now a convert, I wasn't expecting much of this handset but its a quality phone at a bargain price.

To think I paid £400+ for a samsung S3 not so long ago.... never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value going for now, 26 Feb 2014
By 
uspnet (chelmsford, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
UPDATE: Vodafone users may find the Google play and apps are inaccessible using vodafone 3g data. At first this happened v. rarely, now it all the time - and stops things like maps from working. Vodafone claim this is not their problem, but plainly it is since everything works just fine using WiFi - so not all IP packets are created equal in the world of Vodafone, it seems. There is some suggestion that perhaps certain cellular operators are specifically blocking these "value" devices on their networks, as they rather undermines their effort to ream the punter for £400 a similar spec handset.

It does what it says. According to Airdroid's summary, it appears to be made by Alps - which is a good thing, and explains why it is a quality piece of kit. The USB drivers for W7 are a complete PITA (as usual with W7) but may not be the Cubot's fault. Works painlessly on a less loaded W8 box. Get one.

Very nice to avoid getting rogered by Vodafone et al, and not conned into 30 month contract.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good! Highly recommend., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
I use the phone as a satnav, watching films, learning languages, text and phonecalls. I am not a games player.
Volume and clarity of sound - excellent.
Screen is good, but has got marked too easily. Need screen protectors.
Photographs with the 12MP camera have been very good to see on the screen, which is just large enough to enjoy zoom in. It also has a 5MP on side camera.
One thing, I have not yet needed to upload my pictures to Facebook or Youtube, so cannot say more than its own screen displays photos and videos very well.
Installed a 2GB micro-SD card, no problems at all, believe it can it much larger memory cards than just this.
I have to pay for things on a budget- but I want quality. This suits me.
Seriously stable so I think it is a copy of an HTV or Samsung- because it is quite brilliantly engineered.
Both SIMS work fine. Can receive texts ok while calling on other SIM, etc, Large soft keyboard display and easy to follow instructions through Google's Android operating system.
Massive 5.5GB in phone memory, but I save most of my things on SD card,
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Very Well, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cubot one, 4.7 Inch HD IPS Screen Quad Core Android 4.2 Smart phone Dual Camera 1GB RAM 8GB GPS 12MP (Unlocked Phone)
Does what is it advertised to do!
It is a good smartphone.
Well recommended.
Two batteries makes it best phone I've ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cubot one, 6 Dec 2013
This phone is very impressive for the price . Battery packed up after a month but it comes with a spare anyway . Camera can be a bit dodgy sometimes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews