Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I've already said while reviewing the first book in the series that Susan Illene had a very good potential. She writes pure urban fantasy and is obviously a huge fan of this genre herself.

All the action in this series is happening in Alaska. I don't know about you, but I know very little about this region, and to me the location is refreshing. This time Melena, a kick-butt sensor and former military interrogator is forced to go against demonic infestation in Juneau.

She is sassy and tough, and she doesn't bend to supernatural wills trying to boss her around. Whatever happens she tries to negotiate the best conditions for herself and her adopted daughter.

The book is really fast and like book #1 feels shorter than I would have liked to see. Maybe it's just me? I've enjoyed seeing more of delicious Lucas, and the problems associated with him in Melena's life definitely piqued my curiosity. Overall, this was a very engaging read which I'd recommend for the fans of Kate Daniels. Short and sweet.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Such a shame I didn't see the other low review on this by FantasyWriter. I wouldn't have bought the book. I don't mind the graphic nature of the sex scenes I do however dislike the manipulative abusive nature of them.

This female charactor isn't strong or emotionally balenced, with a manipulative leading man who rips her away from all she knows leaving her with no friends or suport. Then emotionally abuses her and coerces her in to sex. Leaving her isolated and unable to stand up for herself.

I don't believe any woman who had managed six years in a very male dominated environment such as the army especially the intelligence section would be so overwhelmed by a male chest or even be so naive.

I couldn't finish the last third of the book it left me feeling with such a strong dislike. (I did keep trying, as I really wanted her to stop simpering over how 'wet' he made her and how 'manly' his chest was, and grow a spine)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I'm glad that I went ahead and bought Book 2 in the Sensor Series as for me it was a vast improvement on Book 1. I still have issues with the way Ms Illene ends her stories, it's just too abrupt for my liking but as with all praise and criticism, that's a personal thing.
I liked the progression of the main characters and am hoping I get to see more of their growth but am a little miffed with the ease with which potentially interesting supernatural beings are getting bumped off.
This book was stark and gritty in places and the author definitely doesn't shy away from the darker aspects of life in her writing. The sexy scenes were a bit lack lustre for my tastes but I guess anymore would have been over the top.

If, after reading Book 1 you were in a quandary as to whether you should read Darkness Taunts I'd say do yourself a favour and go for it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
I read and reviewed the first book in this series, giving it three stars and saying it showed some promise. Melena is back and is taken on a mission by the sociopathic Nephilim Lucus to hunt some demons. On the positive side, this author has managed to round out her characters and make them feel much more three-dimensional, as well as their being improvements in structure and narrative flow but this author has essentially made the error so many are making (heck, everyone's buying it, so maybe its not an error) sacrificing plot (the ending is a bit deus ex machina, I didn't like it), with sex scenes of graphic and coercive nature. The male lead in this story does nothing for me - I think he's a jerk. A three-dimensional jerk, yet a jerk none the less. Personally, while not averse to a strong male lead or some romantic interest, I do not think jerks make good leading men. Lucas has nearly no redeeming features, is emotionally and physically abusive, and he coerces the heroine into having sex with him. Lovely.

Essentially, if you loved what Laura K Hamilton did with the Anita Blake story arch, and were thrilled, not gutted, to see gritty paranormal noir turned into housewife porn, you will love this book. I'm giving it three stars because this is the market Illene is aiming for and as such these books will probably please readers in this market enormously.

The second book shows the direction this series is taking, and so for me, I won't be reading further.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
I brought the first as it's a genre I love . Wow what an excellent read, love the fact that there is such a good story. It has all the necessary supernaturals and a love story that's so different. I have now downloaded all in this series and will be looking forward to finding out more about all the new sups Susan Illene can introduce. Also hoping Melena and Lucas get a happy ending . If you want a good read I highly recommend this series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Full of action and suspense, not to mention romance. Not the mushy hearts and flowers stuff either this is gritty and sometimes painful but that just makes it feel all the more real. I love this series and it just keeps getting better. I can't wait for the next book. I just hope that I don't have too long to wait. I can't recommend this series enough it's an absolute must read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
This book is even better than the first. All the characters are well rounded and the pace moves smoothly. This is urban fantasy the way I like it. Lots of action, strong but subtly done romantic development and characters I can relate To. Well, except I don't have supernatural powers! The only thing I don't like is having to wait for the next book in the series to come out.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I loved this book even more than the second if that was possible. The chemistry between Melena and Lucas was sizzling and all the new characters were fun. Life has moved on a bit for Melena and she has matured fast, especially being in a position of caring for a young teenager, Emily. There were plenty of times that had me gripping the edge of my seat wondering what on earth life could through at Melena next, it was certainly non stop action. The world feels a little bit more fleshed out and I am still very much intrigued by the mythology, I hope we get to learn a lot more nephilim and sensors in future books as well. This book has everything good urban fantasy should have plus that little extra something, characters you grow to love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
A great paranormal fantasy read in a different setting. Thoroughly enjoyed it and waiting patiently (or not) for the next book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Loved the story line but the "blood cures all" premis was getting a bit tired by this book. I'd like to see more of Melena as a stand alone character without the Lucas love/sex interludes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.